Born Of Osiris
The Simulation


4.0
excellent

Review

by Brendan Schroer USER (132 Reviews)
January 13th, 2019 | 94 replies


Release Date: 01/11/2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The Rediscovery

Back in 2011, Born of Osiris performed an admirable feat: they brought a heightened sense of futurism and adventure to a then-stagnant genre. The Discovery was an incredibly welcome breath of fresh air that, unfortunately, will always cast a shadow over the band’s subsequent work because of its ambition. Still, they certainly keep trying and trying to recapture the spark that The Discovery gave off and Tomorrow We Die Alive regrettably lost. After all, the concept of taking deathcore into more experimental and adventurous avenues is something that I’ll always be behind. By all means, let’s take the genre somewhere that forces it outside of its comfort zone! And besides, many of these substantially “djentier” deathcore and modern metalcore bands have usually been the ones who continue to push the boundaries, stemming from artists such as After the Burial and Veil of Maya. Well, luckily, Born of Osiris’ new effort The Simulation sees them back in action with their best album since The Discovery. Granted, there’s really no more death metal in there. For that matter, many of the songs ride a low groove that sees them moving even further into djent territory than before. So why does The Simulation work so well?

Because it has a runtime of only 25 minutes, which means it has less time to pack in all of its exciting riffs and experimentations before quickly getting the fuck out. As such, you’re greeted by enough twists and turns to make your head spin. There are a few quiet moments of atmosphere throughout, such as the frantic little symphonic intro of “Disconnectome” or the entirely of interlude “Recursion,” but for the most part, these moments of space and contemplation are constantly butting heads with the meaty riffs underneath. By far, the best section to feature this conflict comes from the outro of “Silence of the Echo,” whose melodic solo lends the heavy chugs and power chords with a beautifully spacy counterpoint. It actually reminds me of The Faceless’ Planetary Duality days, and that’s not the only moment that made me think of that album. Every time “Disconnectome” breaks into a melodic solo or goes through a hyper-fast blastbeat section, it really does sound reminiscent of the sci-fi tech-death from that era of The Faceless.

Thankfully, Born of Osiris don’t forget their roots on The Simulation, paying plenty of homage to what made them a household name in deathcore while still continuing to experiment with their formula. If I had to pick out the best change this time around, it’s that the guitar leads are more fluid than ever. “Analogs in a Cell,” “Silence the Echo,” “Disconnectome,” and “Cycles of Tragedy” are all imbued with fantastic soloing that both technically impresses and constantly shifts between neo-classical and jazz fusion stylings. Also, the variety in the drumming is really impressive from time to time; “Disconnectome” in particular (yes, I know I’m bringing up this song a lot) features a ridiculous amount of tempo shifts, and they’re all surprisingly tasteful and natural despite how abrupt they are. The Simulation isn’t a perfect album - the slower tempos can become pretty one-note, and the short runtime obviously means some people will want a bit more meat - but it’s definitely the most solid album the band have put out since their initial heyday. It’s a really fun little adventure that - much like Reign in Blood - is very easy to replay again and again because of its lean length and addictive riffing.



Recent reviews by this author
Sigrid Sucker PunchParamore Brand New Eyes
Kehlani While We WaitKaleikr Heart of Lead
Avril Lavigne Head Above WaterAriana Grande Thank U, Next
user ratings (201)
3.1
good
other reviews of this album
Gameofmetal EMERITUS (2.5)
Born of Osiris by the numbers, packaged for those with better things to do....


Comments:Add a Comment 
DivergentThinking
January 13th 2019


6226 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's Saturday, my dudes



Also, I understand this review may be a bit short. However, the album is only 25 minutes long, so there's not an insanely huge amount of stuff to talk about

Ninjahague
January 13th 2019


1472 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

just fyi these guys are under the Sumerian Record label and just like how they did with BTBAM Automata, this will for sure end up a double album.

But otherwise this a great review and it's at a perfect length to explain the albums smaller run time. Best word for sure to describe the album is "fluid"



also fuck tha haters, Tommorow we die Alive BOPS

TundraL5Z
January 13th 2019


3155 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

BoO is like two different bands tbh, there's The New Reign BoO, and The Discovery BoO, with the past two albums they tried to merge these two BoO forms together (yup BoO polymerization go!), but it did not work out how they wanted, this album is The New Reign BoO, they have yet to recapture The Discovery BoO, but I'll take this one nonetheless



Baconandgrease for worst user

botb
January 13th 2019


13240 Comments


I watched that video for the single and it was literally just open note chug patterns with leads over it the entire song. How do people think this is progressive

TundraL5Z
January 13th 2019


3155 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I can immediately tell you only listened to 'The Accursed', listen to any other song on the album as that song is by far the most simplistic

botb
January 13th 2019


13240 Comments


I’ll give em a shot but I’ve always thought this band was kind of meh save a couple songs

Hawks
January 13th 2019


73605 Comments


Band blowz yeah.

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
January 13th 2019


10220 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

I cannot get behind this score at all

Toondude10
January 13th 2019


14051 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

it's just another Born of Osiris album to me

trilo
January 13th 2019


2742 Comments


yea my impression as well

it's better than TWDA at least?

Digging: Mizmor - Cairn

artiswar
January 13th 2019


9268 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Definitely better than Soul Sphere but I think I actually prefer TWDA to this despite how hokey that one is at times.

JeetJeet
January 13th 2019


6997 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Goddammit he didnt mention One Without The Other in the review. It's the most standout track imo. Great review tho.

Digging: Lucki - Freewave 3

bloc
January 13th 2019


57626 Comments


SS was good, but this def exceed expectations. Glad they're back on track.

Digging: Tatsuro Yamashita - For You

Get Low
January 13th 2019


6365 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Album slaps. A huge step up from that Welcome to the Jungle shit they were doing on their last album.

DivergentThinking
January 13th 2019


6226 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks for the pos's, I appreciate it. Yeah, this was definitely my fave since The Discovery... that first song was a lot more typical of the band's modern style, but the album's other stuff was more technical and progressive, and it represented how far the band had come :]

SteakByrnes
January 13th 2019


15736 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

One Without The Other could've fit onto A Higher Place, shit has the same vibe

Digging: Speech Patterns - Without a Sound

DivergentThinking
January 13th 2019


6226 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I love the spaciness

Beardog
January 13th 2019


3054 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The keyboards sound really cool on the first couple of tracks.

DivergentThinking
January 13th 2019


6226 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

indeed they do

JeetJeet
January 13th 2019


6997 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I just found out they're gonna release part 2 of this later this year. I'm pretty pumped to hear the rest of this.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy