Guild Of Lore
Winterstead


3.7
great

Review

by manosg STAFF
January 6th, 2019 | 35 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The portal to a magical realm

Winterstead’s biggest accomplishment is that it travels you to a place where winter reigns supreme and is without end; a place where magic is real and strong. It feels like a journey to a mountain covered with snow and ancient trees. The ascension to the mountain is challenging and full of adventurous twists and turns, as you never know what the next corner hides. When you finally reach your destination, you are greeted by firelights gloaming from the townspeople’s huts. Just before you visit the lodge, filled with all types of characters from hunters to tradesmen, you take a deep breath and look around you; the snow-capped mountain peaks dwarf the giant sequoia trees towering above you. The feeling of mystique is so palpable and there is a sense of darkness in the air. However, everything is so enchanting that you can’t wait to step into that lodge, sit in front of the fireplace and listen to tales about what roams the uncharted lands before you.

Guild of Lore’s debut is an amazing companion, if you are willing to immerse yourself in a magical world; an evocative experience that transports the listener to a medieval setting. The music is varied and contains a number of different sounds, as GM Ingsmith never dwells on an idea for too long. As a result, the album flows easily and feels more like the soundtrack of an Elder Scrolls game rather than that of an early ‘90s RPG (‘90s RPGs rule btw). In addition, there is a great sense of melody, while the use of certain sound effects gives the LP a feeling of coziness. An atmospheric offering, it has some dark elements but this is not what prevails here; the emphasis is on creating lush, but not over the top, arrangements that emit a sense of grandeur. As such, it feels less dungeon-y than traditional DS.

The result of the above, is that Winterstead is not only a very enjoyable experience but also a good starting point for those who are not very familiar with dungeon synth as a whole. The feeling of progression makes this one an undemanding, yet rewarding listen. So, pour yourself a glass of brandy, sit comfortably by the fire, and enjoy the winter.




Recent reviews by this author
Heir Apparent The View from BelowSacral Rage Beyond Celestial Echoes
Slash Living the DreamFriendship (NO) Ain't No Shame
Paradise Lost HostSurvivor Vital Signs
user ratings (14)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
manosg
Staff Reviewer
January 6th 2019


11387 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7 | Sound Off

Great winter soundtrack. Give it a chance if you're into dungeon synth.

Digging: Cauldron Born - Born of the Cauldron

garas
January 6th 2019


131 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Another dungeon synth review! Nice!

It was a very pleasant surprise when it was released in December.



I'm very curious about Guild Of Lore's next work - hopefully I can hear it in the third Shadowlore DS Compilation.

Digging: Mysticum - Piss Off

manosg
Staff Reviewer
January 6th 2019


11387 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7 | Sound Off

Thanks! A pleasant surprise for sure. Checked it by luck and was immediately hooked. Definitely one of my fave 2018 DS along with Elffor, Dame Silu de Mordomoire and Sequestered Keep.

Papa Universe
January 6th 2019


19137 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

so this is what they call dungeon synth? melikes

Digging: De Staat - Bubble Gum

garas
January 6th 2019


131 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I found it while browsing the "winter synth" category on bandcamp, I was hooked immediately as well. Sequestered Keep is also brilliant! But I'd expect that from the person who's behind Fief too (rumors say) - which was my favourite from 2018.

garas
January 6th 2019


131 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Well, dungeon synth is, I'd say, a small subgenre in ambient music which branched out from black metal (I speak about the small intros and ambient tracks, not really about metal). It started around the very early 90's when Mortiis (Havard Ellefsen) left Emperor and started his own project. Also the Burzum prison albums are considered the start of dungeon synth music. Today this genre stands by its own and has different styles, but one thing is common: it's synth music.



Papa Universe
January 6th 2019


19137 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

okay

manosg
Staff Reviewer
January 6th 2019


11387 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7 | Sound Off

"But I'd expect that from the person who's behind Fief too (rumors say) - which was my favourite from 2018."



Oh yeah, Fief is great indeed! Also read somewhere that the man behind Sequestered Keep is also responsible for Thangorodrim, which is crazy considering that Taur​-​nu​-​Fuin is amazing.



Glad you enjoy the album, Papa. Feel free to check the other artists mentioned here. You'll probably enjoy their stuff.

Pho3nix
January 6th 2019


569 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thank you for the review, will check this!

lyzakthellama
January 7th 2019


2104 Comments


This review made it to their bandcamp page

Dewinged
January 7th 2019


13699 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Skyrim synth? I'm in.

Digging: Two People - First Body

Hawks
January 7th 2019


66752 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah I need this asap.

Digging: Polaris (AUS) - The Mortal Coil

manosg
Staff Reviewer
January 7th 2019


11387 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7 | Sound Off

Really nice of him to upload the review on his bandcamp page.



Hope you enjoy, guys. Feel free to leave a comment when you check the album.

Pho3nix
January 7th 2019


569 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, this was great. Probably going to up this a .5 on further re-listens!



Highlight: 'Winter Riders'

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
January 7th 2019


24617 Comments


ope the dude the does fief is behind this? need to check for sure

DungeonBoy
January 7th 2019


5221 Comments


Every word of this review makes me want to check this out. Good job dude!

Digging: Outre-Tombe - Ncrovortex

DungeonBoy
January 7th 2019


5221 Comments


@Spirit, sounds very Fiefy, certainly plausible

0xME
January 7th 2019


308 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Shit, this is fief? Already had it downloaded, but that makes it a priority for me to check out

0xME
January 7th 2019


308 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

also, great review as usual!

manosg
Staff Reviewer
January 7th 2019


11387 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7 | Sound Off

Thanks for the kind words guys, appreciate it!



I think what garas said was that the Sequestered Keep guy is behind Fief as well, not this one. But I'll let him clarify that.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy