Uada
Cult of a Dying Sun


4.5
superb

Review

by Hawks USER (110 Reviews)
December 11th, 2018 | 74 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Icy tremz of death!!!

There’s always certain bands that bring back the sounds of classic periods of music. Doesn’t matter the genre. Metal, hip-hop, pop, all of these genres have modern artists who pay homage to their peers that came before them. Uada is a melodic black metal band hailing from the frozen wastelands of....Portland, Oregon. Yes that’s right, this band isn’t from Sweden or Norway or anywhere else in Europe, but by the sound of them you wouldn’t know that.

Cult of a Dying Sun is the second album by these guys and it wastes no time getting to the point. You would think you just entered a ***ing Dissection album when these riffs hit you in the face. Uada lets the listener know from the opening track that they mean business. The main difference between an album like this and something like The Somberlain is the production. Everything on this album is crystal clear. Nothing is muffled or buried in the mix. The vocals are menacing. Not quite the normal black metal shriek. More of a wail of pain and suffering with some occasional death growls thrown in for good measure.

When you really break it down, the key to a successful melodic black metal album is simple. If you can achieve the perfect balance between catchy melodies and riffs while still maintaining the ferocity and hatred that really is the essence of black metal, then you’ll be successful. Uada do that and they do it exceptionally well. So if you like to headbang to some catchy tunes, get your head bashed in by some ice cold trems and listen to the turmoil of other humans via music, Cult of a Dying Sun should definitely be on your check list.



Recent reviews by this author
Fallujah Undying LightImperialist Cipher
Illyria The Carpathian SummitVehemence (FRA) Par le sang versé
Cara Neir Part III / Part IVGrouper Cover the Windows and the Walls
user ratings (112)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hawks
December 11th 2018


70607 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Been meaning to write this one forever. You’re welcome Dewi. ;]

Digging: Flamen - Furor Lunae

Coast
December 11th 2018


886 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This clicked big time when I came back to it. Great melodic bm.

Hawks
December 11th 2018


70607 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yep easily one of my favs this year.

osmark86
December 11th 2018


8939 Comments


this was pretty cool if I recall correctly

Digging: Polynation - Igneous

Hawks
December 11th 2018


70607 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Their first album is cool too but this one is way better. Both worth jamming though. m/

Papa Universe
December 11th 2018


20979 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

*act of appreciation for the review*

cult of a dying POS

Digging: Yes We Mystic - Ten Seated Figures

Hawks
December 11th 2018


70607 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hahahaha thanks bro. m/

osmark86
December 11th 2018


8939 Comments


pos w/o reading. xahrdcorex

Hawks
December 11th 2018


70607 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Lmao thanks my man.

osmark86
December 11th 2018


8939 Comments


you're welcome habibti

Hawks
December 11th 2018


70607 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

m/ m/ m/ m/ m/

osmark86
December 11th 2018


8939 Comments


hawks, I must refer you to the The Ocean - Stones & Shit album thread (page 46). please head over there immediately.

Thalassic
December 11th 2018


2527 Comments


Cool review. Album's solid stuff. Have a pos.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
December 11th 2018


15752 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You motherfucking madman, you did it! I'm honored you saved your 100th review for my request. Ahrd pos m/m/m/

Digging: ???? (Ohashi) - ?????? (Nami no Hajimari)

TheWonderSoFar
December 11th 2018


3972 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Artwork on this is stellar. Just checked the opener and it rips for sure. Will be checking this in full!

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
December 11th 2018


15291 Comments


Grats on your 100th review!

Azog
December 11th 2018


156 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great album. Nothing more, nothing less.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
December 11th 2018


765 Comments


didn't like this as much as devoid of light, but still a great record

Hawks
December 11th 2018


70607 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Much appreciated brothers. Yeah I mean used to have like 159 reviews but had a bunch deleted so it’s not as special but still cool lol.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
December 11th 2018


15752 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The opener for this is probably one of my favorite BM tracks of the year.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy