Murder by Death
The Other Shore


4.5
superb

Review

by Site HevyDevy Specialist USER (6 Reviews)
December 10th, 2018 | 20 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: On your front porch dreaming on a cold, dark, and starry desert-mountain night.....

Imagine for a moment that you're living on Earth's last leg for life; a barren wasteland surrounds you. Imagine you have the means to leave, to escape somewhere, to outer space. Imagine that something, perhaps someone, is holding you here by the heart but your head says "go". What would you do" Now imagine that you don't need to imagine this scenario or read this inadequate review because this story has been already more beautifully told through the gothic-folk narrative that is The Other Shore.

For those of you still reading instead of actually listening to the album I guess I ought to go into some more detail. Murder by Death, for those unfamiliar, are a band mostly known for their storytelling. In the case of The Other Shore, this manifests as a concept that spans the entire album. The band excel in achieving their storytelling not solely based on lyrics, but also matching the tone of the story to their musical composition. Opener "Alas" is just one excellent example where the grandiose yet somber folk tones paint the picture of the narrator's difficult decision.

Through the rest of the album, the styles are varied, again connecting key points in the story, but also effectively keeping every song change interesting. As "True Dark" thunders in, we are treated to a more driving rocker, while "Travelin' Far" rolls out a more soulful tone to complement the narrator's introspection following his departure. The aptly titled "Space" again goes on to represent expansiveness and introspection, this time bringing back more of the folk sound.

I could go on like this for each and every song. There is no way to describe these properties more accurately without spoiling the story for you before you get the chance to be amazed for yourself. The only real foreseeable drawback to this album is its immediacy. It is an album that requires a bit of investment in order to figure it out, but it also pays out quite well. For those who like a good space western or maybe a wilderness-heavy post-apocalypse vibe, this album should be right up your alley. Even if you don't, not many concept albums out there achieve this level of cohesion between music and lyrics, so there should still be something for everyone.



Recent reviews by this author
Flunk For Sleepyheads OnlyRainbow Kitten Surprise How to: Friend, Love, Freefall
Linda Perhacs ParallelogramsTyphoon (USA-OR) Offerings
Avatar Avatar
user ratings (49)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
bgillesp
December 10th 2018


6435 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Big thanks to Dewinged for some editing. Don't blame him if you think it sucks though..... Check the album too.

Digging: Trampled By Turtles - Palomino

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
December 10th 2018


474 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

great album, so much better than big dark love

Papa Universe
December 10th 2018


19225 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

murder by POS

Digging: Two People - First Body

dbizzles
December 10th 2018


12728 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Good review. This was a bit of a disappointment for me tbh. It feels like it’s missing something. I don’t have any specific gripes about any songs, but something feels off. Pretty good, but not very memorable for me, sadly.

Digging: La torture des tenebres - Civilization Is the Tomb of Our Noble Gods

Dewinged
December 10th 2018


13754 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice to see this up! I haven't checked the album yet but I'm gonna give it a spin today. Pos by death! (Papa style)

Digging: Two People - First Body

deathschool
December 10th 2018


23043 Comments


Yeah this album is bad ass. Definitely a step up from the disappointment that was Big Dark Love

bgillesp
December 10th 2018


6435 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks y'all! Hope you enjoy it Dewi!

Dewinged
December 10th 2018


13754 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Before you reviewed it, when I saw the name and the cover I thought this was some walmart metalcore or smth. Boy, was I wrong lol. This is neat.

bgillesp
December 10th 2018


6435 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hahaha, nice

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
December 10th 2018


474 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

those who like this should definitely check out their other albums. one of the most unique and interesting rock bands active right now

bgillesp
December 10th 2018


6435 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, I definitely need to as well

deathschool
December 10th 2018


23043 Comments


Who Will Survive... still gets a lot of play from me. Bitter Drink Bitter Moon is probably the one I’ve listened to the most outside of that.

EyesWideShut
December 10th 2018


4873 Comments


Man this band is so hit or miss for me.. Ill always check out their albums since Good Morning, Magpie is one of my fav albums, but they have joints that also do nothing for me.

deathschool
December 10th 2018


23043 Comments


Their discography is unfortunately all over the place in terms of quality, but I think this album is one of the good ones.

Hawks
December 10th 2018


66825 Comments


Who Will Survive is the only one I’ve heard so far and it rules. Guess I’ll have to check this.

Digging: Jute Gyte - Verstiegenheit

Dewinged
December 10th 2018


13754 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It will take me a few spins to get used to the voice but the instrumentation and production are tops.

EyesWideShut
December 10th 2018


4873 Comments


dude's voice sounds completely different on the early albums, I prefer this style.

CugnoBrasso
December 11th 2018


436 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Y'all need to check out bitter drink bitter moon aswell

Veldin
December 11th 2018


3743 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

awesome album and good review, mate. pos'd! Need to keep listening to this on my down time, really chillin

neekafat
January 14th 2019


13950 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Space" wouldn't be out of place on a QotSA album, it's so desert-y



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy