Cryptopsy
The Book of Suffering - Tome II


3.5
great

Review

by Zach USER (90 Reviews)
December 8th, 2018 | 29 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Goddamn electric.

Book of Suffering- Tome II is a punishing continuation of it's Tome I comrade. It barrels in with the lowest of gutturals and gurgles and the highest of shrieks to harpoon you right in your ear canal. The guitarwork is a near incomprehensible flurry of notes marked by constant bends and dissonance, and the drumming is a hyper speed flash of lightning (seriously, Flo must be slammin red bulls left and right).

Really, there isn't a lot that can be said. It ticks all the marks of modern day tech-death Cryptopsy. Ugly" Check. Technical" Check. ***ing schizo vocals and drum patterns devised by what can only (logically) be a lab developed drum abhorrence most likely with a multitude of legs and arms" Of course. It's simple in it's vision and technical in execution, carving Cryptopsy just a bit deeper into their slightly niche brand whirlwind brutal dm.



Recent reviews by this author
Sargeist UnboundBlack Tongue Born Hanged
Black Tongue NadirWhitney Light Upon the Lake
Yugen Blakrok Return of the Astro​-​GothYhdarl Loss
user ratings (64)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
Mason Pearmain (3.5)
While too brutal to be sweet, the phrase "short and sweet" describes this EP well....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Dedes
December 8th 2018


6031 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I swear my reviews keep getting shorter.

Papa Universe
December 8th 2018


19220 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

some will say it is a soundoff. i say it is cryptPOSy

yay for this perfectly okay albumee

Digging: Two People - First Body

Papa Universe
December 8th 2018


19220 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

also, use ?

Hawks
December 8th 2018


66824 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice.

Digging: Jute Gyte - Verstiegenheit

Bloon
Contributing Reviewer
December 8th 2018


2312 Comments


i still think you've got something with the more informal approach to writing but, idk, this one lacks enough detail to let me, the reader, know much about the ep. you say that "... there isn't a lot that can be said," but, pardon me for sounding harsh, that's a bit of a cop-out. i have no idea what to expect from this record besides it being crazed, technical bdm. i still do think your voice is good and leads to some humorous descriptions (voice is a very, very important thing to develop so kudos :3) but i think there's a lot more you could have done with this

Digging: The Prodigy - The Fat of the Land

Dedes
December 8th 2018


6031 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@bloon

I did myself kinda question "is this brevity or just lacking?" and while I admit that there sincerely was not much more I could have said, it would've been worthwhilee to at least try to dissect things a bit further.

I do want to get back into this whole reviewing thing a bit more seriously after all.

Papa Universe
December 8th 2018


19220 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

not everyone can be Mort.

Bloon
Contributing Reviewer
December 8th 2018


2312 Comments


that's fair dede, sorry if i came off too harsh, i look forwards to see what you do with your reviews in the future :]

Dedes
December 8th 2018


6031 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oh stop worrying about my feelings you fucking dingus

Just check this ep it shreds

Bloon
Contributing Reviewer
December 8th 2018


2312 Comments


i havent heard either book of suffering but i have my doubts on their quality..............

AgentDeathbat
December 8th 2018


5817 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I was waiting for BigPleb to review this so I could finally put my take on this album out and not worry about what Dewi would say, lol.

Digging: Deftones - Diamond Eyes

AgentDeathbat
December 8th 2018


5817 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Whatever, I'll probably drop that in like a week.

Dedes
December 8th 2018


6031 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@bloon

Stop being such a baby back BITCH they own

AgentDeathbat
December 8th 2018


5817 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

They don't compare to None So Vile in terms of how iconic they are, but they're still great. I personally find these Tomes easier to get through, but that's just me. They're both four tracks, and less than 20 minutes each, so I can spend that time on this and then return to something less aggressive.

Bloon
Contributing Reviewer
December 8th 2018


2312 Comments


I mean cryptopsy used to own

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
December 8th 2018


9204 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

They’re sorta coming back

Dedes
December 8th 2018


6031 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It seems like people are wayyyy too hung up on None So Vile imo

AgentDeathbat
December 8th 2018


5817 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah

honestly that album needs time to grow on me, currently I have that at a 4, it's clearly iconic and has its place but a lot of it feels just...the same.

Dewinged
December 8th 2018


13754 Comments


Yep Agent, Dedes played us all lol

Digging: Two People - First Body

MotokoKusanagi
December 8th 2018


1673 Comments


i thought this was pretty good

Digging: Marquette - Waxing/Waning EP



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy