Matt Skiba and the Sekrets
Kuts


3.5
great

Review

by QuinnObropta USER (20 Reviews)
December 7th, 2018 | 14 replies


Release Date: 05/01/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: “I’ll return to you one day, but, for now, I just can’t stay.”

Matt Skiba has been very busy since he formed with Glenn Porter and Rob Doran to create Alkaline Trio in 1997. He has made countless albums with this group alongside a split with Kevin Seconds, an album with bands the Heavens and the Hell, scattered solo songs here and there, and, most recently, one with blink-182. With all of these groups out there in the music world, one might miss out on some of Skiba’s best work with how scattered it is throughout his catalog; one might miss out on Matt Skiba and the Sekrets.

Kuts is a mixed bag, but not in the sense that there is a wide and inconsistent range of quality, but that Skiba explores so many different ideas. From pop-punk-fused tracks “Lonely and Kold” and “She Said” to laid-back grooves “Krazy” and “Hemophiliak,” and from emotional highlights “Way Bakk When” and “Never Believe” to the experimental “Krashing” and “I Just Killed To Say I Love You,” this album is incredibly diverse. This is what makes and breaks Kuts.

The highlights are all in the form of individual moments. The winding bass in “Never Believe” is lovely behind the piano, the riffs punching over the other instruments in “Lonely and Kold” are strong and catchy, and the wonder of a chorus in “She-Wolf” is one of the best on the entire record. There’s no song without its flaws, but every single song has something unique to bring to the table.

Despite the variety, some things are consistent, specifically the production. I will not sugarcoat this, the record sounds bad. While not unlistenable, specific parts sound like they were recorded inside of a cardboard box. Another consistency is the lyrics, which remain mostly above-average throughout Kuts, and Skiba’s vocals sound pretty good.

After what I have laid out (and the rating), it must be pretty obvious that Kuts is not the peak of Skiba’s career. It has several failures across its short tracklist and there is not a single song I am completely in love with, but that is not what I enjoy about Kuts. Kuts is Skiba’s best work because of how it perfectly showcases his personality; it’s sometimes dark, sometimes twisted, sometimes lighthearted, sometimes sad, and sometimes melancholy, and while overall, to the average listener, this record might come off as yet another average rock album, for people searching for Matt Skiba, it’s perfect.

Song after song plays and the thought that never leaves my mind is how this is essentially the Everclear of Matt Skiba - 97% Skiba, 3% other. It may not be flawless, hell, it isn’t even close, but it doesn’t need to be. Matt Skiba has crafted an album that only he could, and at the end, when the last notes of “Vienna” fade away, the only thing left is to do is to spin it again.



Recent reviews by this author
First of October Ten Hoursflatsound four songs for losing you
Yellowcard Deep CutsI'm Glad It's You The Things I Never Say
Slaughter Beach, Dog Motorcycle.jpgKittyhawk Hello, Again
user ratings (23)
Chart.
3.3
great
related reviews

Babylon
recommended by reviewer
Matt Skiba and the Sekrets Babylon

Comments:Add a Comment 
QuinnObropta
December 7th 2018


91 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I blast the Sekrets every year around Christmastime, so I felt a review would be fitting. Feedback is always appreciated, as I'm trying to mix up my reviews a little bit.

onionbubs
December 7th 2018


10525 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

good album. lonely and kold, krazy and i just killed to say i love you are tight and the last two songs are pretty pleasant. not an amazing album but man do i love the sound of skibs voice. babylon has better highs but waaaaay worse lows

Digging: letlive. - Fake History

Crawl
December 7th 2018


2552 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

A very solid album, Lonely and Kold is a better song than anything Trio put out between Crimson and their latest. Also a huge step-up over the uninspired b-side fest that is Babylon.

onionbubs
December 7th 2018


10525 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

babylon has a handful of really good songs (id have loved if voices luciferian blues and end of joy made it onto this addiction instead of literally every matt song in the back half) but after like track 6 there is nothing worth listening to



kinda funny how like the worst songs on the demos album where the ones that ended up reworked to be on babylon instead of like you didnt feel a thing special or razorblade blues or somethin those totally shouldve been elaborated on instead

QuinnObropta
December 8th 2018


91 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Bubs, I'm curious as to which ones on Babylon you didnt like

onionbubs
December 8th 2018


10525 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

everything after you (and the bridge is the only thing i like in that song)



falling like rain literally has the exact same chorus as eating me alive, and angel of deaf is soooooooooooo boring

QuinnObropta
December 8th 2018


91 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I agree with those last two but Olivia and How The Hell Did We Get Here I enjoy quite a bit

Crawl
December 8th 2018


2552 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Voices is really the only memorable moment from Babylon for me.

onionbubs
December 9th 2018


10525 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i’m big on luciferian blues and the end of joy too but yea voices is the clear highlight

Crawl
December 9th 2018


2552 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Whereas this doesn't have any filler apart from maybe She Said.

butcherboy
Contributing Reviewer
December 9th 2018


9372 Comments


-1 for stealing the cheeky 'K' shtick from Sonic Youth..
-1 for having a last name that sounds like a disease you get from dirty ice cubes


Digging: Julius Eastman - Unjust Malaise

onionbubs
December 9th 2018


10525 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

she said is whatever yea. dont really care for way bakk when or krashing either

QuinnObropta
December 9th 2018


91 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

She Said is dumb fun for me, but the guitar solo sound really bad due to the production / mixing. Way Bakk When has been a favorite ever since little freshman me heard it for the first time

onionbubs
December 9th 2018


10525 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

never believe has a really nice chorus



im gonna revisit this and babylon soon its been a while



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy