Los Unidades
Global Citizen EP 1


3.0
good

Review

by neekafat USER (50 Reviews)
December 6th, 2018 | 80 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: globalist gentro-pop

Hidden in this bizarre release would be a great riddle if Coldplay were even remotely trying to remain anonymous. Fronting this charity-release under a shameless new moniker “Los Unidades,” Chris Martin and co. have blended their sound with that of a more “world” appeal, appropriately appropriating latin music as well as that of African, Arab, and otherwise to give credence to their renewed worldwide focus. The whole release is similar to what artists like Sting and Peter Gabriel have tried to pull in the past, extending their signature pop appeal to more unknown and exotic artists for both charitable and artistic reasons—well, at least in Coldplay’s case that latter cause might be refutable.

The music itself is enjoyable for sure, especially on lead single “E-Lo,” which uncoincidentally is the most Coldplay sounding thing on the whole release. Based around dumb but infectiously warm-hearted sounds, the song leans on it’s global influences pretty explicitly, both in it’s talented background singers and in Martin’s admirable but hilarious attempts to weave a hispanic accent in with his British one. Later tracks “Timbuktu” and “Voodoo” unfortunately find the band delivering generic choruses against mismatched rap verses and latin beats in a far less convincing light. Neither of these tracks are particularly bad, just awkward and assembled instead of truly flowing from one sound to the next.

The main highlight for the album is the one that strays the farthest from Coldplay’s signature sound. This just plain strange opener “Rise Up” features the vocals of Nelson Mandela manipulated against a thumping beat and jaunty horns to create a full, fun, and surprisingly effective anthem. Is it weird hearing the world-renowned hero’s voice alongside pleasant guitar picking and poppy “ooh-oohs”" Yes. But that doesn’t make the tune any less of an unexpected banger.

But even considering this tune, the weirdest thing about the release is the method of the release itself. A name change seems like a cool way to reinvent yourself, but I’m definitely not convinced that Coldplay have given up “Coldplay” for good. It seems to be an elaboration for the difference of sound, but right after their consistent switching from sound to sound over their decades-long career, I doubt anyone would be that taken aback. Even still, if the primary reason for this EP is indeed charity, and the goal is to get as much money in the fight to “end global poverty” (a battle even Coldplay can't win) as possible, wouldn’t this sudden rebranding hurt the sales of what a charity “Coldplay” release could achieve" It’s not hard to see the entire project as some kind of band-wide mid-life-crisis rather than being for purely selfless reasons. Certainly no one could really say they're exploiting the latin and world influences they find here, but at the same time there’s no doubt that some of these other voices have been sanded down purely for white pop accessibility.

But at the end of the day this is all purely conjecture, and what we do have here is a solid pop EP. It’s got a couple good tracks and a couple not-so-good tracks. And despite everything I, and the world, will surely be tuning in for Global Citizen EP 2 when it inevitably comes around, no matter what was going through the band’s head when they decided to become Los Unidades.



Recent reviews by this author
Tierra Whack Whack WorldLucy Dacus Historian
Blood Orange Negro SwanBig Red Machine Big Red Machine
Courtney Marie Andrews May Your Kindness RemainCourtney Barnett Tell Me How You Really Feel
user ratings (16)
Chart.
1.4
very poor

Comments:Add a Comment 
neekafat
December 6th 2018


13328 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This was a weirdy but I'm surprised it hadn't been added to the database yet

Dewinged
December 6th 2018


13000 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

lol we posted reviews at exactly the same time my man. I didn't remember this happened until I read it, Coldplay going latino, ayayay, smth tells me I am not gonna like this.



Good review otherwise dude, pos'd.

Digging: Kaelan Mikla - Not Eftir Not

neekafat
December 6th 2018


13328 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Lmao yeah something tells me the site would eviscerate this, imo it's their weakest release, thanks dude!

And nice man I'll read yours shortly!

Dewinged
December 6th 2018


13000 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

My god the first track is atrocious



):

Dewinged
December 6th 2018


13000 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Sorry neek, I tried, but when he started singing in Spanish was more than I could handle.

dfevil085
December 6th 2018


1301 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

While I like the idea of artists exploring and incorporating more dynamic and different styles of music from other cultures, I just get a really weird feeling from this EP. I appreciate some of the features on here but it seems that Coldplay are more treating this like a gimmick than an opportunity to understand these different styles and cultures. Also it seems to me that using Mandela voice overs to create a song like this kinda dilutes what Mandela represented.

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
December 6th 2018


24233 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

this is Coldplay right?

Dewinged
December 6th 2018


13000 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

In theory yes.

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
December 6th 2018


24233 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

checking out of dumb curiosity

Dewinged
December 6th 2018


13000 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Brace yourself

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
December 6th 2018


24233 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

idk how I feel about the (feat. Nelson Mandela)

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
December 6th 2018


24233 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

what the hell is trying to do on E-Lo? I feel like this is borderline racism

Dewinged
December 6th 2018


13000 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

The last track man...

dfevil085
December 6th 2018


1301 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

"I feel like this is borderline racism "



I know right? There are so many things about this that make me uncomfortable.

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
December 6th 2018


24233 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

This release is very problematic, the first song is alright although I echo dfevil's sentiments about it possibly diminishing what Nelson Mandela stood for (maybe glorifying him a bit too much, I've done extensive research on him and he wasn't all ~amazing~ definitely killed some people in some bombings but I digress). The main issue I have is how it's obviously advertising itself as "world music" which is already a blatantly racist term imo but it's one thing to sample / learn from other culture's musical styles but it's another thing to attempt to IMITATE them vocally...like I really am uncomfortable with this and although it really happens on 1-2 of these songs it's kinda just...idk...

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
December 6th 2018


24233 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

but maybe I'm just cynical, this is for charity after all...

Dewinged
December 6th 2018


13000 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

A Coldplay album would have helped the cause way more than this abomination imo.

MrSirLordGentleman
December 6th 2018


12052 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Srsly Chris Martin, if you want to give the project a name in spanish you should at least use the correct translation, it should be Las Unidades, it ain't that hard



Anyway, the album sucks regardless of the "band's" name

onionbubs
December 6th 2018


10178 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

“Los Unidades are Coldplay pretending they're not white af”



lmao

Digging: Alkaline Trio - Is This Thing Cursed?

Papa Universe
December 6th 2018


18518 Comments


negging the album, but for neeka: POS unidades

Digging: The Ocean - Phanerozoic I: Palaeozoic



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy