Mid-Air Thief
Crumbling


4.0
excellent

Review

by USER (27 Reviews)
November 29th, 2018 | 92 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A comforting escape into a fragile world.

It’s 2018 and there isn’t much new terrain to explore within the timbres of music. Of all the genres, electronic has had the privilege of extending that exploration the furthest due to its limitations being defined by any sound a computer can make. What better to mix an aesthetically focused genre like dream pop with, to give it a unique edge, than electronic? Okay, electronic music fused with dream pop isn’t a new idea at all, but what if a folky guitar is thrown into the mix? Electronic dream folk… with both a male and female vocalist! So, it’s like Blonde Redhead’s Misery Is a Butterfly?That’s not original, now is it?Wait no, it’s far slower, and entirely in Korean, and very different sounding, I swear! Misery’s electronic is more trip hop and Crumbling is not!

Okay, now that I’m done arguing with myself: Crumbling by Mid-Air Thief is a gorgeously textured album that is fairly homogeneous throughout. Each song is twinkly, folky, and filled with gentle vocals. Despite mainly subdued elements, the album is incredibly engaging. In no way are any of the songs minimalist -as each track competes with the next to see which can be filled with the highest amount of pretty and relaxing sounds. “Gameun Duet” probably wins that competition as both vocals (male and female) work together to sing perfectly in harmony. Even the epic sounding strings in “Protector” are incredibly relaxing despite coming after a buildup. A more playful approach to dreaminess causes "Why?" to stick out like a sore thumb flow wise, but on its own, it’s still fantastic.

In general, Crumbling is the aural equivalent to being covered in many decorative quilts in a cold room. Lucky for you guys: it’s almost December, so if you like dream pop, this could be your winter soundtrack.

Album Highlights: “Ahhhh, These Chains”, “Gameun Duet”, “Protector”



Recent reviews by this author
Bruce Haack HaackulaGal Costa Gal Costa
Doprah WastingBrainiac Bonsai Superstar
Talking Heads Fear of MusicThe Mothers of Invention Freak Out!
user ratings (118)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
ArsMoriendi
November 29th 2018


26509 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This deserved a contributor or staff review.



Oh well.

Digging: They Might Be Giants - Flood

ZombieToyDuck
November 29th 2018


7076 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Hell yeah dude! Glad discussion can now unfold for this bad boy. Also have a pos!

brainmelter
November 29th 2018


6422 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nice dude pos’d

Digging: Fire! Orchestra - Arrival

ArsMoriendi
November 29th 2018


26509 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Dammit, all 5 of my question marks turned into quotation marks



Why does sputnik do that in reviews?



Also, thanks guys

ZombieToyDuck
November 29th 2018


7076 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

There's a way to fix it bud!



copy and paste that, it's not a question mark. Sowing came up with this fix it's a symbol.

ArsMoriendi
November 29th 2018


26509 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yay it worked!

ZombieToyDuck
November 29th 2018


7076 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I love how this album switches from just these illustrative instrumental passages and then it it will just break into moments that focus on one instrument or melody... like that guitar melody at like 0:20 seconds in on Curve and Light is gorgeous.

ramon.
Contributing Reviewer
November 29th 2018


3062 Comments


nice

blastOFFitsPARTYtime
November 29th 2018


1765 Comments


Nice one, need to to spin this again, I remember digging it quite a bit.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
November 29th 2018


16075 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I've seen a lot of about this album, but haven't checked it yet. Glad to see it covered though.



Electronic dream folk sounds like smth Loma could be tagged and I love that album. Gotta have to check this asap.

Digging: Fire! Orchestra - Arrival

theBoneyKing
November 29th 2018


16844 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ars loves a 2018 album by an artist who wasn’t around before this decade???

Jk though, glad to see this get a review, it’s great stuff.

Digging: The National - I Am Easy to Find

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
November 29th 2018


16075 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ok didn't know these guys were Korean. And yes, I read the review after jamming it lol. Quite enjoyable.

theBoneyKing
November 29th 2018


16844 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah the review prompted me to spin this again for the first time in a couple months and it holds up, some of the more beautiful moments of the year here.

Drubbi
November 29th 2018


298 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hard yes.

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
November 30th 2018


15941 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

excited to jam soon!

DoofDoof
November 30th 2018


3915 Comments


'Quite enjoyable'

[2]



hogan900
December 1st 2018


2953 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

about fuckin time this thing got a review, good work pal

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
December 4th 2018


24756 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

first track hooked me p instantly, those synths are gorgeous...love the psych influences

ZombieToyDuck
December 4th 2018


7076 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

YES CON! Dude this rules hard...

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
December 5th 2018


24756 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

oh man on my second listen and this will def sneak into my AOTY list easy



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy