Evoken
Hypnagogia


4.5
superb

Review

by Hawks USER (113 Reviews)
November 28th, 2018 | 119 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Is that the sun? Probably not....

Evoken is a name all fans of funeral doom should know. One of the most consistent bands in the genre for the past 25 years, Evoken is still a force to be reckoned with. These guys have always been kind of different from other funeral doom bands in my opinion. Where other bands take you directly into the eye of a deep and dark abyss almost immediately, Evoken has always had a twinkle to them. What I mean by that is there are times where they will almost sound positive, like everything will be alright before crushing your hopes and dreams with the distinct darkness that only funeral doom can. This is Hypnagogia.

If you know nothing about this genre, it is based on very long and very slow and drawn out riffs backed with hellish vocals that sound like Satan himself. Think of a traditional doom sound that is on prescription pills for severe depression and that might give you an idea of what you’re getting into. This album in particular has a different sound than Evoken has had in the past. Their last album Atra Mors was pretty much devoid of light with no hope for escape. A black hole that is impossible to break free from no matter how hard you try. That’s not the case with Hypnagogia. Evoken would rather reel you in with the thought of a happy ending to this adventure. Some of the riffs here are, dare I say, pretty while still retaining the inevitable sense of dread and despair.

Don’t be fooled by the positivity though friends, they’re going to rip out your heart just as you start to feel comfortable. Claustrophobia might set in, but that’s okay, you’ll get used to the feeling eventually. As you figure out and descend into the eye of the storm that is Hypnagogia, and really Evoken’s discography in general, you’ll come to peace with the fact that you’re about to meet the sweet release of death. And that is exactly how funeral doom is supposed to make you feel.



Recent reviews by this author
AngelMaker AngelMakerMisthyrming Algleymi
Sterbend Dwelling LifelessFallujah Undying Light
Imperialist CipherIllyria The Carpathian Summit
user ratings (49)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hawks
November 28th 2018


71825 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Let me know if any errors, typed this on my phone lol.



Highlight tracks for me are Ceremony of Bleeding and The Weald of Perished Men just in case anyone wants to sample the album. m/

Digging: State Faults - Clairvoyant

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
November 28th 2018


16168 Comments


Pretty good for a phone review brother m/

You repeat "escape" in the second para and a double .. there too, but apart from that, solid!

Now where's my Uada review??

necropig
November 28th 2018


5457 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Phone reviews are like 240p youtube videos. Kvlt

Digging: Kommodus - An Imperial Sun Rises

Hawks
November 28th 2018


71825 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Will edit when I get to work. And I still plan on doing it Dewi!!

necropig
November 28th 2018


5457 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Here I am eating cereal before bed and you're going to work :3

TheNotrap
November 28th 2018


11150 Comments


This is probably not my thing, but I might check it out

Have a pos bro

Digging: Panzerfaust - The Suns of Perdition - Chapter I: War, Horrid War

bigguytoo9
November 28th 2018


571 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Loving this record.

Hawks
November 28th 2018


71825 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yep I work overnight shift lol. Thanks Notrap!!



And yeah this is amazing. Average here is way too low.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
November 28th 2018


16168 Comments


lol I just arrived to work too, but it's 9 am here.

Hawks
November 28th 2018


71825 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

7pm here lol. Where you at Dewi??

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
November 28th 2018


16168 Comments


Osaka town.

Hawks
November 28th 2018


71825 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Damnnnnnn we ain’t even remotely close lol.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
November 28th 2018


16168 Comments


hahah we are in spirit brah m/

Hawks
November 28th 2018


71825 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hell yesssss. m/ m/ m/



Edited those errors too.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
November 28th 2018


16168 Comments


You the man.

necropig
November 28th 2018


5457 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

oh fuck that's right, you the osaka bruh

Hawks
November 28th 2018


71825 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah I never realized that tbh unless you told me before and I was too stoned to remember idk that’s very possible.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
November 28th 2018


16168 Comments


That's very possible indeed haha

Sup Necro!

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
November 28th 2018


9615 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Holy shit a Hawks review

Digging: Gnaw Their Tongues - An Eternity Of Suffering, An Eternity Of Pain

Hawks
November 28th 2018


71825 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeahhhhhh son. m/ m/ m/



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy