Transit
Joyride


4.0
excellent

Review

by stasar USER (15 Reviews)
November 25th, 2018 | 60 replies


Release Date: 2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Leather gloves, meet summer sun.

As an adult, I’ve fallen in love with the last weeks of spring. Peaking green grass and snow-white slush cover my landscape with the distinct smell of something new. As a teenager, my preference sat somewhere between fall and spring, the perfect climate for baggy jeans and a snug hoodie, but now I crave that chaotic transition.

I can’t come up with a more apt metaphor to place at the forefront for this album. This album is wearing leather gloves in the summer sun, an icy crunch with every withdrawal of my boot, and a t-shirt leaving my arms exposed to the winter wind. It describes feeling out of place.

Joyride is Transit’s final album—and the only one I’ve liked. While it never popped into my life at a topical moment, it could have acted as a soundtrack for an ill-timed road trip after a rough breakup, for grabbing belongings back from my ex in a dainty coffee shop, or for spilling my worst secrets. It’s a strange concoction, to be sure: a few scoops of emo, a taste of pop, and a pinch of twang.

While the melodies serenade without grit, the lyrics pack angst into each tune. In Rest to Get Better, Joe Boynton complains to an ex-lover, “You think you get honest. You only get meaner. You think it gets better. You only break cleaner.” Though the lyrical content mostly repeats similar themes like generally feeling sorry for himself and disliking his exes, either the word choice or the new melody make it seem freshened up each time. “You cut me down, down, just like a knife,” he dissects in Fine by Me.

But the album doesn’t lean on angst like a crutch. It calls forth images of spring and summer and of discovering something new. Boynton takes time to reminisce in Fine by Me, “We can walk everywhere like when we were eight years old, when home was anywhere but home and by ourselves was not alone.” Endearingly, he quotes loving lines from, presumably, his ex, reveling in her words that make up the chorus in Pins and Needles, “I want the stars, bursting inferno. Cover my heart, twilight to shadow. Dancing on love, pins, and needles, I’m dancing on love, pins, and needles.”

For an album where the lead sounds a bit like Bo Burnham’s impression of a stadium country star, a startling amount of diversity entrenches itself in the track list. Some pop punk angst takes hold in Saturday, Sunday, Rest to Get Better, Sweet Resistance, and Loneliness Burns. Nostalgia and regret take center stage in Fine by Me. And unabashed love dominates the listener’s attention in Summer Dust and Pins and Needles.

Give the album a spin and fall in love with the seasons changing, again. I do every time I listen to Summer Dust, and Joe Boynton chants, “Let it go: a wave out the window! So far, so good, it’s all over, so let it go!”



Recent reviews by this author
Motion City Soundtrack My Dinosaur LifeThe Wonder Years No Closer to Heaven
State Lines For the BoatsMicrowave Stovall
Oso Oso The Yunahon MixtapeThe Weakerthans Reunion Tour
user ratings (127)
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
AtlusP4G (4)
Joyride is the kind of album Transit should be making...


Comments:Add a Comment 
SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
November 25th 2018


11790 Comments


"last weeks of spring. Peaking green grass and snow-white slush cover my landscape with the distinct smell of something new."

Sounds like you're talking about the first weeks of spring.

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
November 25th 2018


11790 Comments


While the review is pretty well written (even though it talks about the lyrics almost exclusively and not enough about the music) the metaphor(s) in the first two paragraphs seem weirdly confused.

keza
November 25th 2018


489 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah not sure where you live if those are the LAST weeks of Spring...then again my climate experience is biased by an Australian sun.

That said this review makes me wanna give this album another go, I never enjoyed it as much as Listen & Forgive which to me positively oozes nostalgic bliss.

joshieboy
November 25th 2018


7349 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Man, l loved this band back in the day. Good reminder to go back and listen to em again.

Digging: Currents - The Place I Feel Safest

Observer
Staff Reviewer
November 25th 2018


8008 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

fun album

Digging: Magic Pie - Motions of Desire

joshieboy
November 25th 2018


7349 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Indeed. This band makes perfect road trip albums.

stasar
November 25th 2018


160 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I live...quite north. haha

Nikkolae
November 25th 2018


5473 Comments


forgot entirely of this album, such a beaut

Digging: Kinoko Teikoku - Long Goodbye

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
November 25th 2018


11790 Comments


"I live...quite north. haha"

Be that as it may, the second paragraph appears to have nothing to do with the first.

Hawks
November 25th 2018


73730 Comments


Yea, my final legacy to this piece-of-shit site. This was one of my favourite sites of all time. I had a lot of different friends that shared the same music as I liked, but more and more assholes joined the site and my friends got banned or the simply quit visiting the site Feel free to create multiple user-accounts to flame me and this review. I don't fucking care anymore. I'm done with this site. God-like thanks to South_Of-Heaven_11, Shadows, Cravinov_13, Silent_Echo, BallsToTheWalls, Rattlehead and a few others. I hope that you will have a good life ahead of you, but this is my final farewell... Thank you Sputnik music for giving me the opportunity to discover new music and friends... metal will always stand tall m/ m/

Nikkolae
November 25th 2018


5473 Comments


ok

Minushuman24
November 25th 2018


2958 Comments


Album rules, agreed.

Digging: Mischief Brew - Songs From Under the Sink

2453
November 26th 2018


24 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

If you liked this one, go give Young New England another listen! That one honestly sounds like they just goofed off in the studio while in the back of their minds trying to melt campfire melancholy into stadion-sized rock anthems without having any idea of doing the former or latter. I think it's a treat to listen to in spit of some awkward choices and underwritten songs.

Nikkolae
November 26th 2018


5473 Comments


young new england is dope ye

Skoop
November 26th 2018


2170 Comments


Some serious memories related to this one.

butt.
November 26th 2018


7424 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

love this album. it feels so fresh, really the perfect album to listen to in the spring. it's so light and care-free

joshieboy
November 27th 2018


7349 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This and Listen & Forgive are so chill

impoppy
November 27th 2018


2230 Comments


I'm not sure I hear the Bo Burnham comparison but I love the reference.

tman1220
February 14th 2019


1 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's really quite sad this album never got as big as it should have. Not quite as good as Listen & Forgive, but it should've made them a staple indie pop/rock sound at the very least. However, my girlfriend says it sounds like a country album....I think it polarized fans a bit but I think everyone should give this album a listen. Fine By Me, The Only One, Saturday Sunday, Too Little too late, and Pins and Needles are all spring/summer jams.

butt.
February 14th 2019


7424 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

love this album. it's so lighthearted and feel-good. jam it every spring and summer.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy