Ghastly (FIN)
Death Velour


3.5
great

Review

by Robert Garland CONTRIBUTOR (297 Reviews)
November 18th, 2018 | 18 replies


Release Date: 04/20/2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: “One good thing about music, when it hits you, you feel no pain.” -Bob Marley

Bob Marley was an undeniable visionary of style and sound, but I’ve always found this particular quote wanting. If music makes you “feel” happy, joyous, or even gives you a sense of accomplishment… the yin and yang of all things tell us we should be able to feel sadness, despair, anguish and failure by the same means. It’s probably a little weird bringing up a man so far unrelated to Finland’s Ghastly, but the connection between Death Velour and oppressive tinged anguish leaves me completely dissatisfied with Mr. Marley’s thoughts on music.

It’s pretty easy to make assumptions about the primal and somewhat voiding feeling that emanates off Ghastly’s music. With happy song titles like “Death By Meditation”, “Violence For the Hell Of It” and “The Magic Of Severed Limbs”, Death Velour lives and breathes in the murk. It’s as if Ghastly’s music personified the caverns from whence it came. The somewhat claustrophobic, uncertain production values give life to a contracting atmosphere further adding to the album’s old-school vibes in creating straight forward death metal.

Despite all sense of lucidity, the objective opposites to all levels of happiness readdress my thoughts on Marley’s overreaching, sweeping statement. Sure, you may not be able to “feel” the music in a physical sense as this man describes, but the implications on our mind run much much deeper. Death Velour hits you, and it’s not happy. One thing is certain, the pain is real wherever you feel it.



Recent reviews by this author
Alcest Spiritual InstinctUneven Structure Paragon
In Mourning Garden of StormsOpeth In Cauda Venenum
Blut Aus Nord HallucinogenAs I Lay Dying Shaped by Fire
user ratings (48)
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
November 18th 2018


10589 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Tried for something deliberately shorter and incredibly vague.



Tell Dewi I did another one

necropig
November 18th 2018


5795 Comments


Aye this was pretty good

Digging: Unaussprechlichen Kulten - Teufelsbcher

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
November 18th 2018


10589 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Aye agreed m/

necropig
November 18th 2018


5795 Comments


Listened on release, will give another go

RippingCorpse1986
November 19th 2018


3226 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

FUCKING FINALLY, this album finally got a review. Good job man.



Definitely among my favorite discoveries I've had so far this year, for sure. 'Whispers Through the Aether' and 'Violence for the Hell of It' are my favorites here.

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
November 19th 2018


10589 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The solo on “Whispers...” is fire

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
November 19th 2018


16946 Comments


Only you could have dragged Bob Marley into a death metal review, you crazy bastard.

Digging the short format too, added to the already crowded cramming list!

Digging: Deerhoof - Deerhoof vs. Evil

Bloon
Contributing Reviewer
November 19th 2018


3029 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

good review friend

Digging: Jeff Rosenstock - Thanks, Sorry!

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
November 19th 2018


10589 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Only you could have dragged Bob Marley into a death metal review, you crazy bastard.




Define crazay?



Yeah just wanted to do something a bit diff.



You should see my catch up list.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
November 19th 2018


16946 Comments


We do one review, 10 albums come out, and so on... and so on...

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
November 19th 2018


10589 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You might do one review ; ] you shoulda seen me in my prime kid : ] but yeah and then you visit the wrong list and see just how much of the year you’ve missed

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
November 19th 2018


16946 Comments


Haha I never tried to do one than more a day, I think i would run out of synonyms pretty quickly.

And yeah when AOTY lists start to pop up it's gonna be madness.

Hawks
November 19th 2018


73729 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nice review bud. Album is dece.

Digging: Cradle of Filth - Cruelty and the Beast - Re-Mistressed

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
November 19th 2018


10589 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks Hawksie/Bloon-sta

RippingCorpse1986
May 17th 2019


3226 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Having revisited this album after being away for quite a while, this has held up pretty well. Hopefully they move into more bizarre and amazing realms with their sound as time goes on, band definitely has potential.



Those guitars in the intro to Death by Meditation still give me chills.

RippingCorpse1986
May 20th 2019


3226 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

So damn underrated...

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
May 20th 2019


10589 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Definitely appeals to a certain deathly appeal

Deathconscious
August 24th 2019


23007 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this does have a certain murderous quality.

Digging: Sanguisugabogg - Pornographic Seizures



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy