Can't Swim
This Too Won't Pass


5.0
classic

Review

by Josh USER (15 Reviews)
November 17th, 2018 | 19 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A relatively short experience though incredibly cohesive.

Can't Swim has never really been a band that I was ever interested in; their debut album, "Fail You Again", and while different for the scene it was popular with, did not interest me that much and I let it sink back into the back of my mind for a while. But then, unexpectedly, this record showed up on Spotify and I thought "Well, why not"" I don't think I've been so pleasantly surprised in a while.

This Too Won't Pass is a record with a heavy, somber but self-aware tone present throughout each and every song. The lead singer's vocals range from being almost haunting to being so desperate it's heartbreaking (primarily in songs like "My Queen" and "Amnesia 666"). His voice is certainly unique and while this was present on their debut record they never really hit full force and reach deep when put together with his improved lyricism about loneliness and a failed relationship.

The instrumentation goes right along with his voice. It goes from setting a mood only fit for this season with slow drums and a steady guitar in the background, some being more fast paced and hard hitting with screamed vocals and sped up bass ("Not the Way It Was"). The album never comes off as jarring when a new song begins, it all definitely feels as if Can't Swim have mastered their own sound.

While most of the songs on this record fit with each other, they can certainly stand on their own and it never feels as if it falls into complacency. The short length of the record is more of a disappointing "aw, there isn't more..." than a con, because it all fits very tightly into one package.

It all shares the same tones when the album first begins with "What Have We Done"" and carries itself through the motions of the songwriter's mind while he speaks of the trials he's experienced in his recent years.

Can't Swim have definitely put out a massive improvement over "Fail You Again" which shows off mature song-writing in both lyricism and instrumentation, never once falling to basic lyrical cliches aside from a line or two. "This Too Won't Pass" is truly worth of being called a magnum opus.

Recommended tracks:
What Have We Done
My Queen
Hell in a Handbasket
Amnesia 666
Winter of Cicada



Recent reviews by this author
Emarosa Peach ClubValleyheart Everyone I've Ever Loved
CrazyEightyEight Burning AliveThe Threats Saboteur
Makari HyperrealRav Beneath The Toxic Jungle
user ratings (49)
Chart.
3.7
great
related reviews

Fail You Again

Comments:Add a Comment 
JoshGray672
November 17th 2018


36 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Criticism appreciated. Haven't really wrote something in a while.

Calc
Contributing Reviewer
November 17th 2018


16067 Comments


i actually just listened to a song from this and it was uber boring. so you're saying the rest of it is not huh?

Groundking
November 17th 2018


1050 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The album is fantastic.

Digging: Ithaca - The Language of Injury

Sinternet
November 17th 2018


18579 Comments


disappointed theyre not continuing with the cute girl on cover theme

JoshGray672
November 17th 2018


36 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i really think this set tone worked a lot better for them. they were never "bad" or really par for the course, but it seems like they really did digest their earlier work and decided to push it forward like ten steps. probably my album of the year. sorry elder brother

Divaman
November 17th 2018


3308 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Curses! I keep thinking I'm finally done with 2018 albums, and you guys keep finding ones I missed that I still need to check. Give a man a break here!

Digging: Joe Jackson - Fool

Dewinged
November 17th 2018


14436 Comments


Oh nice. Didn't know about this one!

Digging: Motorpsycho - The Crucible

stasar
November 17th 2018


40 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Not a fan lol.

joshieboy
November 18th 2018


6344 Comments


If this is the same as the first one, l will probably get bored of this quick

Digging: Polaris (AUS) - The Mortal Coil

dmp3131
November 18th 2018


1324 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'd say this is stronger than the debut by quite a bit. The heavy moments are the best here I think besides the hooks

woxdy
November 19th 2018


2 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Pretty solid album. Definitely a good follow up to their first.

zeitgeistaddendum
November 19th 2018


31 Comments


A 5? Why?

Digging: Hold Close - Time

maximomckinnon
November 20th 2018


27 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

big agree chief

Feather
November 20th 2018


5083 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

woah 5 seems a bit bold, but super excited to already have some new material from these guys. Seems on par with their recent outings

Atari
Staff Reviewer
November 21st 2018


24226 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

really dig the opening track

Digging: Millencolin - SOS

Ebola
December 8th 2018


3476 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Absolutely slaps. Bumps. Destroys. Fucks.

Feather
December 8th 2018


5083 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Band ripppped live last night ... wish they would get some more love. The art direction is awesome as well.

CuddlyCaucasian
December 10th 2018


110 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Really loved Death Deserves a Name, but all the vocal melodies on this and Fail You Again just sound dull and uninspired

outliers
January 3rd 2019


420 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Death Deserves a Name is the only thing from these guys that hasn't bored me to tears



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy