Kali Uchis
Isolation


4.5
superb

Review

by former sputnik's home post-punk maester USER (120 Reviews)
November 14th, 2018 | 21 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: It's summer. Relax.

So what is a perfect summer, feelings-wise? You are probably by the pool, you feel the warmth, but you are not sweating all your bodily liquids out to a point of feeling disgusting, you are in a state of absolute calm and quiet, you feel young and as though everything is yet in front of you, all the meaningless worries, momentary loves and troubles like “where do I party next"” This is the feeling Kali Uchis conveys.

I am not much of a summer person; my skin is too sensitive to sun and when tanned I look silly. I am not a young person either and barely anything nowadays is capable of making me feel full of energy and hope for the future as once before (unless, of course, it is some kind of trip down the Nostalgia Lane). In those two aspects this album excels. It is a party welcoming anyone to be a mindless young romantic just for a moment.

That is indeed thanks to the lyrics, but above all thanks to the musical arrangement. In fifteen tracks you feel increasingly engulfed in all the weightlessness and carefree tranquillity. You find yourself at a pool party high on the mere enjoyment of the moment, rather than any drugs. The mixture of echoic production, occasional minimalistic synths, pulpy mellow beats, electrifying bass, cleverly masked strings and Kali’s soft and loveable vocals is what makes this album. But it never turns into commercial background music, even though it seems like it might any minute.

Even when the topic of discussion is quite serious like on “Tomorrow”, it still comes off as a celebration more than a commiseration. It is as if the album is telling you that everything you worry about is not all that important, because in a couple of years you will see it all as a bad joke worth only a smirk, because right now you should be just a happy, rad person.



Recent reviews by this author
Pedigree New FreakAnd Also The Trees Born Into The Waves
De Staat Bubble GumAuthor and Punisher Beastland
Marsh Dweller WandererArtificial Pleasure The Bitter End
user ratings (204)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Papa Universe
November 14th 2018


20043 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

fuck it, short is good too

Digging: Pedigree - New Freak

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
November 14th 2018


24349 Comments


i havent checked this for v personal reasons woooo!!!!

Papa Universe
November 14th 2018


20043 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

What personal reasons? Is she the six fingered man who killed your father?

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
November 14th 2018


14984 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Well, there it is. Site redeemed. And a pretty good review Uni, you done good old man.

Digging: Elizabeth Colour Wheel - Nocebo

Darius the Great
November 14th 2018


19893 Comments


a review of kali uchis isolation from dad is all it takes to redeem the site wow site must not have had a v high standard then

Papa Universe
November 14th 2018


20043 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah. we're currently losing to albumoftheyear.org

there were never any standards, kid

ZombieToyDuck
November 14th 2018


7070 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

about time this happened!

ZombieToyDuck
November 14th 2018


7070 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

POSolation

rabidfish
November 14th 2018


4892 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

AOTY let's you search for album name



there were never any standards [2]

Digging: Haruomi Hosono - Hochono House

Papa Universe
November 14th 2018


20043 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sput has a community like nowhere else.

1:1

Darius the Great
November 14th 2018


19893 Comments


"there were never any standards"

you right, you right

rabidfish
November 14th 2018


4892 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Everyone in AOTY is a either a cunt or a pushover

1:2

Papa Universe
November 14th 2018


20043 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

that's still a communal issue

brainmelter
November 14th 2018


6267 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ayyy

Digging: Aethyrvorous - Demo

Drifter
November 14th 2018


15319 Comments


"a review of kali uchis isolation from dad is all it takes to redeem the site wow site must not have had a v high standard then"

HEY

NO ONE CALLS HIM DAD BUT ME WHAT ARE YOU DOING

Ryus
November 14th 2018


17151 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

nice



some bangers on here

00mee
November 15th 2018


253 Comments


I wish the start of Tyrant was its own song

Papa Universe
November 15th 2018


20043 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

But this way you get two songs in one.

Divaman
November 15th 2018


3368 Comments


So is this like a "Girl From Ipanema" kind of vibe?

Digging: Zen Paradox - Illogical Organism

alamo
November 18th 2018


1092 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah there are some bossa nova vibes



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy