Oso Oso
The Yunahon Mixtape


4.5
superb

Review

by stasar USER (13 Reviews)
November 14th, 2018 | 11 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: And, I mean if you want, we can just stay here. Wrap me in your claws. I can be your reindeer.

I can shuffle to any song, and The Yunahon Mixtape brings back all the right memories.

The record is like time spent at the beach. It’s puppy love and teenaged romance. It’s having sex at the moments I shouldn’t have, the moments when I wanted her nails raked down my back hard enough to draw blood. It’s confused, needless angst and the worst bastardizations of existentialism. It’s the last time you spend time together.

But it’s smiles, too. It’s talking all night, switching between texts and Skype and phone calls. It’s childhood games of hide and seek. It’s making love for the first time, the car filled with laughter. It’s the snow that falls outside her cabin. It’s discovering my sexuality. It’s the friendships I cherish, and the ones I torpedoed. It’s strength and hiding and development.

It all makes me want to cry and smile. It’s a tear-streaked grin.

Unlike everyone around me, Oso Oso doesn’t ask for my stammered explanations. I’ll be the first to admit I’ve become a better person in the progress of growing up. I’ve moved on from my mistakes, and so has everyone else. The track order doesn’t really matter. Each one draws out the same remnants of the feelings that I thought I huffed out years ago.

The album’s lyrics make me laugh and, two minutes later, blink my watery eyes. As Jade Lilitri switches between whispers and yelps, it follows me through the biting cold and melting snow and summer sweat. It simultaneously represents my relationships and only me, alone, no one else. While the guitars blare, I feel warm and relaxed, even in the middle of a chilly, downpouring rain.

In shoes (the sneaker song), he perfectly sums up how I feel about the album. "Yeah, when I'm high with you, I'm high enough to touch the stars. And when we sing our song, the words never need to rhyme."



Recent reviews by this author
State Lines For the BoatsMicrowave Stovall
Transit JoyrideThe Weakerthans Reunion Tour
Stand Atlantic Skinny DippingSpanish Love Songs Schmaltz
user ratings (46)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
November 14th 2018


56423 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

ehh

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
November 14th 2018


15071 Comments


I like your writing. Pos.

Digging: Deafkids - Metaprogramao

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
November 14th 2018


2802 Comments


Review falls apart a little toward the end, especially in the last paragraph, which feels unnecessary, but the first few are absolutely lovely -- nice job.

Digging: Angel Du$t - Pretty Buff

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
November 14th 2018


24351 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah u had it man!! the last paragraph seems so unsure of itself and as a reader idc about what u listen to, especially not as a conclusion. I love the first few tho as Blush said as this album resonates with me in mostly the same way.

either way, glad there's a review for this now. i love how summery and lovey dovey this sounds it's like 3eb's first album but a bit more emo. the plant mouth is one of their best songs

stasar
November 14th 2018


49 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I changed the concluding sentences. Not sure how I like it, but it does accurately sum up the review, and it's probably a bit better. Thanks for all the feedback!

Snake.
November 14th 2018


21502 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

one of my friends played drums for these guys when they toured with twy



jolly good show

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
November 14th 2018


24351 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

def a bit better man!

id urge for u to keep this tone but employ a bit more analysis and depth to ur review next time! like you describe the feelings this album envokes rly well but rarely touch on how the album sounds and how that relates to those feelings/lyrics. def a harder thing to do but i see potential

stasar
November 14th 2018


49 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Will do, Con! This one was meant to be a quicker one that I could fit in before working on my homework, as I found it more personal than some other albums. Maybe, a new album will catch my attention.



I meant to include some descriptions of the lyrics, but I like basically every song, so it would've turned into a long rant. :p

QuinnObropta
January 5th 2019


128 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

This is one of my favorite emo revival albums and I hated this at first. Huge grower, can't wait to see these dudes live one day

Slex
January 5th 2019


6208 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Reindeer Games is one of my favorite songs ever

Digging: Shin Guard - 2020

QuinnObropta
February 14th 2019


128 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

anyone else rolling up to their Flemington show tonight?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy