The Weakerthans
Reunion Tour


4.0
excellent

Review

by stasar USER (10 Reviews)
November 5th, 2018 | 25 replies


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Warm me up, darling.

I rustle in my blankets, drowse tugging my eyes closed again. But that’s not before comprehending my surroundings, just awake enough to know I’ll remember this next morning: My hair’s damp with just a bit of sweat. Breath wisps down the back of my neck. A hand rubs the small of my back. Slotted in bed with a loved one, the world seems fuzzy and cuddly but so uncertain. Comfort and warmth keep anxiety from constricting my throat, but that won’t hold throughout the day. That’s Reunion Tour.

At a brief skim, my emotions don’t add up. Rarely do I ever leave a punk album with a sense of comfort, fluff, and comfort. In fact, usually, I like fast and catchy tunes with witty lines that throw me in for a laugh. A more analytical review would find the Weakerthans presiding over an intersection of rock, jazz, and punk, but the genre doesn’t matter. Certainly, not to me. Relatively fast guitar work mixes with a melancholic drawl to concoct music that makes the hair stand up on my arms, legs, and hips.

The songs don’t complete the narratives. They’re bits and pieces started in media res and finished somewhere else along the trail but never the end. Maybe it takes place as “as December tries to disassemble the length of their working day.” Or it could begin right at “the airport, 7AM.” It could “follow familiar streets” or in a taxi, where the driver wakes me up. I might miss someone. Perhaps, I just admire the morning light hang in from my basement window.

The words individually might not make a lot of sense, but together they construct a gifted and detailed image in my mind, an impressionist painting beaming with blurred blue and shadow gray and sunspot yellow. “But you're not coming home, again—night windows—and I won't ever get to say, night wi—remember how—but you're not—I'm sorry that—I miss the way—could we come home again—remember how—could we come home—I'm sorry that—I miss the way we get to say,” Samson stumbles out in Night Windows, nervous and defeated, talking in the dark to someone he longs for but won’t see again.

In Tournament of Hearts, he observes, “We roll right through our years. We rip right through our months. We slide through our days.” As a corollary, I use music like this to slow down, snap myself in place, just for a fleeting moment. The wonderful descriptions lock me there, and if I close my eyes, I see my long lost home, my weary car, and bruises that used to pepper my skin. “Take eight minutes and divide (sun in an empty room) by ninety million lonely miles (sun in an empty room) and watch a shadow cross the floor (sun in an empty room),” he hums, and I bet when Samson performs the song, his eyes close like mine, and he sees something, too.

Admittedly, yeah, every rotation, I skip nearly half of Reunion Tour: namely, Virtute The Cat Explains Her Departure is a terrible sequel to Plea From a Cat Named Virtute; Elegy For Gump Worsley bores me to no end, despite its poetic descriptions; and the string of three closing songs—Bigfoot, Reunion Tour, and Utilities—end without impact at all. Those criticisms don’t diminish it too much, though. Unlike a concept album, this only has to provide a few songs that make me feel something. And they hold me tight like a lover’s embrace in a cold room, like a hesitant kiss to my forehead, an unsure squeeze of my shoulder, a foot tapping against mine, a playful shove.

The weather is cold outside, and I need something to warm up my mushy, punk rock heart.



Recent reviews by this author
Oso Oso The Yunahon MixtapeStand Atlantic Skinny Dipping
Spanish Love Songs SchmaltzThe Flatliners Dead Language
PUP The Dream Is OverRise Against The Sufferer and the Witness
user ratings (186)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
204409 EMERITUS (2.5)
Reunion tours are never quite good enough....

JAD (4)
Reunion tours rarely live up to expectations, fortunately Reunion Tour does....



Comments:Add a Comment 
Snake.
November 5th 2018


21056 Comments


one per day

Digging: Daughters - You Won't Get What You Want

stasar
November 5th 2018


17 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oof, the first one was an accidental posting--wrong click ended up placing it on Reconstruction Site instead.

Dettlaff
November 5th 2018


193 Comments


"one per day" it's such a travesty, I know. Hopefully the mods can restore balance to the universe

Digging: Daughters - You Won't Get What You Want

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
November 5th 2018


214 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

namely, Virtute The Cat Explains Her Departure is a terrible sequel to Plea From a Cat Named Virtute




um excuse me

blastOFFitsPARTYtime
November 5th 2018


1689 Comments


John K all day

JS19
November 6th 2018


6929 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

bad opinions but good review cool

Digging: Rafael Anton Irisarri - A Fragile Geography

Pheromone
November 6th 2018


6438 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You shut your mouth boy the virtute sequel is the best thing here

Digging: Wussy - Funeral Dress

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
November 6th 2018


214 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Agreed about Gump Worsley tho

Pheromone
November 6th 2018


6438 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah same tbh

hogan900
November 6th 2018


2863 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

namely, Virtute The Cat Explains Her Departure is a terrible sequel to Plea From a Cat Named Virtute

wtf??????

JS19
November 6th 2018


6929 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album is a little too Canadian to resonate me at times eg Gump Worsley/Tournament of Hearts but i mean it's TW it's still godly

stasar
November 6th 2018


17 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I guess my opinion about the Virtute sequel is a bit minoritarian. I admit that I like, but do not love, the original song, so the sequel seems a bit trite. I thought the original explored the concepts enough. Maybe I don't get it because I didn't have a pet growing up?



That said, tracks will connect differently for each person. I think Night Windows pulls the most emotion out of me, personally.

hogan900
November 6th 2018


2863 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

not knocking on you man, in fact you don't really even need to have a pet to feel the absolute gut punch of the line "And I can't remember the sound, that you found for me". Experiencing any form of loving relationship that has ended, albeit a pet or even a person; there is that moment where it ends and the memories slowly begin to fade into a blur. It really is one of my favorite concluding lines in any song ever, so don't let the bias hit ya too hard, your review isnt bad and im glad this album is getting some more recognition.

Point1
November 6th 2018


350 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Upvote for Weakerthans, downvote for what the hell Virtute is the best?!?



I will always maintain that this album is hideously sequenced, and listen to it in this order instead:



1. Utilities

2. Relative Surplus Value

3. Tournament of Hearts

4. Civil Twilight

5. Sun in an Empty Room

6. Night Windows

7. Hymn of the Medical Oddity

8. Bigfoot!

9. Reunion Tour

10. Virtute the Cat Explains her Departure

Pheromone
November 6th 2018


6438 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah agreed with hogan hard, the live version of that song in particular destroys me

stasar
November 6th 2018


17 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Glad I got some dialogue going about the album, at least. :]



How do I get a copy of the live performances? Is it worth ordering a CD?

Pheromone
November 6th 2018


6438 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Check the Live At Burton Cummings Theatre recording, thing there's a full thing on youtube

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
November 6th 2018


214 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i could hardly listen to this virtute without tearing up, and then he went and released virtute at rest which is so much worse

AngryJohnny
November 6th 2018


835 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

'Virtute The Cat Explains Her Departure is a terrible sequel to Plea From a Cat Named Virtute'



As others have stated you should be dragged away in a straight jacket and kept in secure accommodation for the rest of your days for this comment

ashcrash9
November 6th 2018


3021 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Admittedly, yeah, every rotation, I skip nearly half of Reunion Tour"



the fuck is wrong with you



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy