Thought Gang
Thought Gang


3.5
great

Review

by Simon STAFF
November 4th, 2018 | 10 replies


Release Date: 11/02/2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Bizarre and familiar.

A collaboration made in heaven for some, Thought Gang is the side-project for two of Cinema’s most enigmatic icons. With how David Lynch typically plays things, it probably comes as no surprise that Thought Gang has been sat on a dusty shelf for the better part of two and a half decades – which, bar the two tracks that featured on Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me (“The Black Dog Runs At Night” and “A Real Indication”) and three others for the series’ revival in 2017, have only now seen the light of day. Understandably, at a fleeting glance, many would assume it’s a load of cutting room floor leftovers from the Twin Peaks feature – given that it was being made during the Twin Peaks movie’s development – but the fact of the matter is that it was a bit of fun on the side; an esoteric labour of love formed by its two contributors, and a project that got nibbled away at during the course of 1992 and 1993. Why it has taken until now to see the light of day remains to be seen, but here it is. And for the Lynch/Badalamenti enthusiast, you’re going to be in for a somewhat predictable ride if you approach this expecting to hear the dynamic duo’s general style of writing from 25 years ago. Because, at the end of the day, that’s what this is. It’s the brooding acid-jazz archetype that melted the unsuspecting faces of its TV show’s adulators when the much darker in tone film initially released.

So, with that in mind, it’s not only the type of style I think works harmoniously well within Twin Peaks’ universe, but it also happens to be the most alluring sound either of these two have devised. The walking bassline found on “One Bark Dog”, with its peppery beat, snare pops and finger clicks, welcomes the duo’s signature traits with open arms. It’s the characteristics of this era that make it so enticing: the demonic bellowing of the double bass (“Frank 2000 Prelude”), the tortured horn sections (“Logic and Common Sense”) and the seductive grooves (“A Real Indicator”) make tracks a crash course in 90s Lynch/Badalamenti songwriting. However, it’s but a small portion of this record’s real intentions and is definitely not to say Thought Gang is without its surprises. On the contrary, this record takes its attributes and paints an even less user-friendly experience. The likes of which pertain to the haunted spoken word scream and groan manipulations of “Jack Paints It Red”; the lifelessly disturbed dialogue that furnishes “A Meaningless Conversation” and “Woodcutters from Fiery Ships”; or the ambient peregrinations of “Frank 2000” and the partnered “Stalin Revisited” and “Summer Night Noise” tracks that go to town on your mental well-being. But honestly, what do you expect from Lynch at this point? It’s a great album that – like his filmography – takes your patience to the limits. Obviously, it’s an LP you’ll have to be in the mood for, but if you like the darker shades of Angelo Badalamenti’s sonic visions this’ll be right up your street.

FORMAT//EDITIONS: DIGITAL/̶/̶C̶D̶/̶/̶V̶I̶N̶Y̶L̶

PACKAGING: N/A

SPECIAL EDITION: N/A

ALBUM STREAM//PURCHASE: https://www.sacredbonesrecords.com/products/sbr214-thought-gang-thought-gang



Recent reviews by this author
Korn The NothingChelsea Wolfe Birth of Violence
Daniel Licht Silent Hill: Book of MemoriesCloudkicker Unending
Equilibrium RenegadesHans Zimmer Man of Steel
user ratings (11)
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
November 5th 2018


16651 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Props for reviewing this Gonzo, not an easy task. This album is quite... mysterious for me, I enjoy it as much as being frightened and drunk in a dark room full of demons.

Digging: Kayo Dot - Blasphemy

rabidfish
November 5th 2018


5365 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

oh shit let's see how it goes

Digging: (Sandy) Alex G - House Of Sugar

rabidfish
November 5th 2018


5365 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yea this rules

DoofDoof
November 5th 2018


5192 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This held zero surprises for me sadly - sort of like the spoken word tracks from his first solo release mixed with a bit of the 'Eraserhead' soundtrack and some other jazzy stuff from other Badalamenti sountracks for Lynch.



Man's a living legend but this is him living off his legend no? I dunno, it's alright

rabidfish
November 5th 2018


5365 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i mean this was recorded in 91-93 so i give it a pass on the 'innovative sound' aspect.

also, yea, it's Lynch-Badalamenti 'by the numbers' pretty much, but it's really acomplished and tbh i feel i'd even put this above all other Lynch's musical output.

DoofDoof
November 5th 2018


5192 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

ah, was unaware this was archival



doesn't majorly make me any more interested in listening to it a load more times but I respect it a bit more



think he actually improved on the weird storytelling with creepy backing music on the slightly underrated 'Crazy Clown Time' album

rabidfish
November 5th 2018


5365 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

both CCT and TBD are solid 3/3.5's... This is a bit more busy. Lynch's too much of a blues-head, Badalamenti's jazzy vibes do much to keep this enganging.

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
November 5th 2018


15657 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I prefer the ambient tracks to the spoken word stuff here, but that shit gives me the heebie jeebies

Digging: Chelsea Wolfe - Birth of Violence

Zig
March 28th 2019


1850 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Need to listen this!

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
March 28th 2019


15657 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It’s good like



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy