Outre
Hollow Earth


4.0
excellent

Review

by Dewinged CONTRIBUTOR (57 Reviews)
October 30th, 2018 | 91 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Man is just a ragdoll in the hands of blackened death.

The Polish black metal scene has been boiling for years with a constant influx of new bands carrying the torch of the Norwegian second wave further to uncharted corners. Spearheaded by bands like Behemoth or Mgla, the boundaries of the genre have been stretched out both in substance and execution. The path has been paved for exciting new formulas like Batushka, known for introducing innovative elements like Gregorian chants or, in this case, bands like Outre who, mixing it up with other forms of extreme metal, have become an example of how effectively the genre is evolving in those parts.

In this Hollow Earth, Outre's sophomore album and first work for French label Debemur Mortir, the quintet from Kraków shows how much they have improved in only a few years. This is partly a result of solidifying their line-up, now fronted by the monstrous growls of new vocalist Mateusz Zborowski. If 2015's Ghost Chants had already positioned Outre as a stunning newcomer, Hollow Earth is the knockout punch.

The existential themes present in Outre's work continue to unravel in their latest release. The album pivots around the idea of "spiritual solitude", turning every song into a horrendous depiction of the unavoidable demise of our existence as human beings. The overwhelming impotence of being confronted with the very reasons of our existence is fleshed out viscerally in the wall of sound that plagues Outre's latest release, from the very beginning to the very end.

Setting the tone with a short but fitting introduction called "Spheres Within", Outre blasts the door wide open with "The Order of Abhorrence". The first track already shows a brighter and sharper sound in comparison with their previous effort, although the band seems to preserve their love for destructive riffs and sludgy sections. The intense and meticulously chaotic drumming of Maciej Pelczar is one of the elements that soon stand out in Hollow Earth. His impressive blasts furiously lash out relentlessly in tracks like "Aberrations", while menacingly building up and exploding in "Combustion", one of the album’s many highlights. In doing so, the rest of the band remains free to weave the withered strings that form the body of Outre's latest release. The result is a wide array of ghostly passages and an inexorable sense of dread and misery. Zborowski's vocals continue the grave, guttural legacy of his predecessors, but his approach seems to be less jutting, blending better with the overall storm that is happening around him. In little more than half an hour, Outre manage to display the horrors of a lifetime, leaving it to the lengthy title track to consume the last remnants of putrid flesh of the album's corpse before vanishing and spitting out the carcass.

Hollow Earth might not be the messiah that black metal needs, mostly because the genre doesn't need one. As it stands, it is a blazing affair, one that Outre can be proud of having conceived, and one that significantly positions them as a band to have under watch in years to come.



Recent reviews by this author
Fire! Orchestra ArrivalFull of Hell Weeping Choir
オオハシ (Ohashi) 波のはじまり (Nami no Hajimari)Secret Chiefs 3 Book M
Ioanna Gika ThalassaHellripper Black Arts and Alchemy
user ratings (63)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
mthilliard (4.5)
Hell is here and we're in it...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
October 30th 2018


16506 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Shitty review but great album.



Jam it in full here: https://outremetal.bandcamp.com/album/hollow-earth



Thanks to NocteDominum for kicking me in the head to get back into the (review) fray.

Digging: Tropical Fuck Storm - Braindrops

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
October 30th 2018


9958 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The Polish Black Metal scene




No need to capitalise genres’ tags.



French label Debemum Mortir,




You got the spelling right on that bad boy?



out in [i]Hollow Earth[/i},




Fix your Bb, babe.

————————————————



And fuck yeah for reviewing this, seems you beat me, like you said you would! ( Still stuck in drafting on my album as per the deal)

I’m almost getting some Erdve vibes from this too, but the Mgla reference is on point I think.



Hawks
October 30th 2018


73126 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

If this band is anything like Mgla I will love them. m/

Digging: Erang - Kingdom Of Erang

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
October 30th 2018


9958 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I already told you to get on this Hawksie!!!

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
October 30th 2018


16506 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

All fixed, thanks Nocte! Indeed, I can sense some Vaitojima vibes on this thing, the album is a beast.



Hawks you gonna love this BB.

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
October 30th 2018


9958 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

And look at that! You hit number 30.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
October 30th 2018


16506 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Still a long way to go to your 200+ but yay!

Papa Universe
October 30th 2018


22403 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah okay, hollow POS

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
October 30th 2018


9958 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I’m sure you’ll catch up, and nobody is quite as prolific as the linguist.

Hawks
October 30th 2018


73126 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I somehow still have 96 reviews lol. Wish I would’ve kept my others too, would’ve had at least 150 lol.

Jacquibim
Staff Reviewer
October 30th 2018


3462 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Gud album, gud 'view. I'd suggest breaking down some of your bigger sentences, which would let you flesh out and communicate your thoughts a little better, eg:-



The Polish black metal scene has been boiling for years, with an influx of new bands carrying the torch of the Norwegian second wave into further uncharted corners. Spearheading the movement are bands like Behemoth and Mgla, having laid out the sound for newcomers to build upon. Whether it be Batushka's innovative use of Gregorian chants or, in this case, Outre's blending of other extreme metal genres, Polish black metal has been pushing boundaries in both substance and execution.



Same sentiment, one more sentence but still in fewer words. If you ever feel like you're putting so many thoughts into a sentence that grammar is failing you, put a full-stop in and move onto the next one.



Otherwise, review reads nicely, pos.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
October 30th 2018


16506 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks a lot Jacq, that's a sweet looking paragraph, shows I still a got a long way to go. Not gonna copy paste it up there cause that'd be straight out plagiarism (lol!) but all noted man, appreciate the feedback.

DungeonBoy
October 30th 2018


6436 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cool review dude, Pos! Polish black metal? Debemur Mortir? Sold. Checking today

Digging: Guild Of Lore - Storm Haven

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
October 30th 2018


16506 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Credit goes to Noct who pointed me in their direction. Tx Dungeon, hope you enjoy it.

zaruyache
October 30th 2018


21225 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

r u l e s



bloc
October 30th 2018


57086 Comments


Never seen that kind of dinosaur on the cover before

Digging: Ultravox - Vienna

Azog
October 30th 2018


226 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I like it.

brainmelter
October 30th 2018


6587 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

not bad, but I expected better this time around tbh

Digging: nabosoposkle - s/t

DungeonBoy
October 30th 2018


6436 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Solid.



Logo by... Ihasan?

bgillesp
October 30th 2018


7049 Comments


Gosh darn it people stop making me want to check things!!!!! Also good job ily Dewi.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy