Dream On Dreamer
It Comes and Goes


2.0
poor

Review

by Robert Garland CONTRIBUTOR (346 Reviews)
October 29th, 2018 | 25 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Tell me why you broke our love…

It’s been three years since we last heard from the Dream On Dreamer camp. Tales of breakups and life changing cancer has spread through this Australian based force of angst. The band’s latest, It Comes and Goes is an emotional roller coaster, providing healing for its members and endearing listen for long time fans. It’s these concepts, so personal to the group’s members that Dream On Dreamer’s newest album centres. It Comes and Goes defines itself as a passing affair, rather than capitalising on the quality it hints at.

The group’s newest offering is a single led affair, bulked out by any number of filler. “Let It In” is confrontational, yet sickly sweet. The usual nuances that carries the ...Dreamer sounds have been dialed to eleven on the back of an emotionally charged writing process. It leaves fans a virulent swirling melody that swells the contextual basis of any casual listening mood. The trepidation found within the present day Dream On Dreamer camp sounds as honest as it will ever be. Despite this, It Comes and Goes is thirty nine minute exercise in tiring cliche. Dealing with one’s mortality and potential death may find itself incredibly relatable to an audience waiting to be spoon fed their share of overly processed, tissue saturating angst… but it’s not exactly new from the Dream On Dreamer camp (or the genre to which the band belongs).

The brooding essence of “Stay”, “Same Old War”, “Shine” or “Paper Thin” only add to the album’s ‘drag along’ feel. At any given time, Dream On Dreamer launch into a bombastic chorus, dripping with an overblown emotive force, before slipping into a world of smooth electronic sections. The recipe works, so it’s present throughout It Comes and Goes. The standouts are few and far between. Thankfully, there are a few decent moments of note, saving this display of self healing from the ...Dreamer camp. “Tell Me Why” is the stand alone saviour of the new album. Vocalist Marcel Gadacz can be an emotional singer, but it’s the album’s final moments that showcases a real, undeniable raw vocal talent. There’s no belt it out moments, no vocal flourish - instead he allows the mood and atmosphere to run a natural course. Of all of Dream On Dreamer’s songs, it’s “Tell Me Why” that continues to draw in listeners.

With such a specific, emotional contextual lyricism it’s easy to see why Dream On Dreamer’s newest record will be overrated. Save for a few tracks, It Comes and Goes simply does what it says on the cover. Once the listener sees past all the anthem-like self help, they see just how self-indulgent Dream On Dreamer really are. Sure, it’s a great feeling to look forward and overcome, but that doesn’t define quality music. It Comes and Goes is not a complete write off, just passable.



Recent reviews by this author
DevilDriver Dealing With Demons IThe Ocean Phanerozoic II: Mesozoic | Cenozoic
Steve Von Till No Wilderness Deep EnoughDefeated Sanity The Sanguinary Impetus
Gaerea LimboPyrrhon Abscess Time
user ratings (38)
3.4
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
October 29th 2018


12932 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This one came out in May, thought someone would’ve had a review up already.

bloc
October 29th 2018


63567 Comments


Steak will be pissed

Digging: Phoxjaw - Royal Swan

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
October 29th 2018


12932 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

If it makes him feel better I wanna 2.2 this

SteakByrnes
October 30th 2018


21148 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I'm just mad that you didn't bring up Zach at all

Digging: Motives - Death Throes

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
October 30th 2018


12932 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I'm just mad that you didn't bring up Zach at all




I actually try to avoid name dropping altogether

SteakByrnes
October 30th 2018


21148 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Fair enough, it's just that he's the better of the two vocalists so it's weird to leave out any talk of him. The review is good as per usual from ya :]

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
October 30th 2018


21909 Comments


Yeah man, great review. The fact that you recommended This is the Warning makes me wanna check this but it somehow feels like I'm not gonna dig it, oh well, guess I'll give it a quick shot.

Digging: Crippled Black Phoenix - Ellengaest

Toondude10
October 30th 2018


14290 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

idk I thought this was decent, more or less a replacement album for anyone who didn't like the new HLH for the most part (even though I liked HLH more than this)

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
October 30th 2018


12932 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I had this 3’d to begin with but it’s detrimental to itself

NorwichScene
October 30th 2018


3120 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

This will be on my AOTY list, so obvs I disagree

Defmytones
November 3rd 2018


40 Comments


This totally fell under my radar, loved their first release. Listening now.

Toondude10
November 16th 2018


14290 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I love the atmosphere on this, they really nail that aspect more than most bands of their ilk.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
November 16th 2018


21909 Comments


Just checked that first track to see that Dead Letter Circus comparison, and yeah it reminds me a bit of their debut so will check in full soon.

Toondude10
November 16th 2018


14290 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

it's not as technical as DLC, it's more on the atmosphere a production

NorwichScene
February 10th 2020


3120 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Just read their statement, damn

SteakByrnes
February 10th 2020


21148 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Aw fuck man, I never got to see them live. I hope Zach keeps doing Young Lions at least, I need to hear his voice

Krpa
February 10th 2020


184 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Too bad, they had a good sound, although a bit cliched but mostly it worked. Best of luck to all of them. Young Lions is the superior band though.

DreamAgain
April 9th 2020


1509 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

This album is good.



Also, the new album isn't as disappointing as I expected. The two singles were probably the worst songs on the album.

SteakByrnes
April 9th 2020


21148 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Gonna miss these dudes so much

DreamAgain
April 10th 2020


1509 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I don't know who's doing what vocals on here sometimes. Like on Runaway who's singing the chorus? The screamer dude? Because he can sing like hell too.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy