Exit North
Book of Romance and Dust


5.0
classic

Review

by tomanic USER (1 Reviews)
October 29th, 2018 | 68 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: There is something exciting and new about the music on this record, something that goes far beyond the 'Opiates'. It is the impression of a perfect band playing together in a musical realm that is as close to perfect beauty as it could be.

Really didn't think this would happen again ... I mean to discover an album that leaves you grateful for living long enough to do so. Last time this was 1991 with Talk Talks unearthly brilliant 'Laughing Stock'. I somehow I kind of accepted this was it. Such density yet airiness such space and the importance of any single tone you will come to hear. When even the creak of Mark Hollis' chair seems to have its role in the music.

Then I saw the trailer for the Exit North album "Book of Romance and Dust" a few weeks ago - and I knew something great was going to come. The trailer is already a piece of art on itself. Just perfect. Ok, but only a trailer cut together from a whole album. So I couldn't wait to get my copy this record and find out if the whole record is that great.

And now its here. And I'm lost. These nine pieces of music just left me speechless and I'm still struggling when I try to explain the grandeur of the music.
In 2008 Thomas Feiner put a milestone into the desert of music industry. The 'Opiates' was nothing less but the explicit claim to define deep romantic music anew. A jewel that withstood time. And many enchanted fans around the globe deeply hoped for more all these years. Feiner released a few songs on his bandcamp-page from collaborations with Steve Jansen (David Sylvians brother and Japan companion) or Fyfe Dangerfield - all fantastic and like a dessert after the 'Opiates'.

But it makes sense that ten years later we hear Feiner's voice on an complete album again - only that the record is not labeled a Thomas Feiner record. There is something exciting and new about the music on this record, something that goes far beyond the 'Opiates'. It is the impression of a perfect band playing together in a musical realm that is as close to perfect beauty as it could be.
The collaborateus on Exit North (Steve Jansen, Thomas Feiner, Charles Storm, Ulf Jansson) seem to agree perfectly on which tone is needed and which is not. There is never too much of something and on the other hand: Every yearning is met first-grade. Especially the very subtle entanglement of electronic sounds and acoustic instruments (Guitar, trumpet cello etc.) is admirable. Steve Jansen is doing a fantastic job when it comes to subtle drums and percussions.

Grab your headphones, take your time, spend an evening with this record and: be ready to cry.


user ratings (39)
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
SowingSeason STAFF (4.5)
Beauty awakens from deep within the Earth....



Comments:Add a Comment 
AnimalsAsSummit
October 29th 2018


5342 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

sounds awesome. the song i heard from this sounds so much like david sylvian. beautiful music indeed.

Digging: Dave Koz - Saxophonic

DoofDoof
October 29th 2018


8513 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Massive pos from me - definitely in my top three albums of the year, it's immense

Papa Universe
October 29th 2018


22505 Comments


well, this better be good
book of POS and dust

Sniff
October 29th 2018


6887 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Perfect album

Digging: Nasvikensmaffian - It's Hamre Time

Sniff
October 29th 2018


6887 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

4.0

DoofDoof
October 29th 2018


8513 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

4 is a high rating from you Sniff - you only have about a hundred and fiddy combined 4.5 and 5 ratings out of 7000 or something close to that

TwigTW
October 29th 2018


3830 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This really is wonderful, nearly perfect. I wouldn't be surprised if it grew into a 5 for me.

zakalwe
October 29th 2018


32793 Comments


‘The focus is on songcraft that seamlessly combines genres and lyrical perspectives that shift between shadows and light‘

Yeah? Why does the opener sound like my gut after a dodgy pint then?

zakalwe
October 29th 2018


32793 Comments


A really dodgy pint taking into account the sounds on the second half of the second song

DoofDoof
October 29th 2018


8513 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thomas will always be too much of a diva for some



Think the rhythms and the 'creakiness' is supposed to reflect the sunken boat on the cover aesthetic and all that cobblers



Not for everyone I guess but this is a stunner for me

Lucman
October 29th 2018


5116 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

4.5s from both Doof and Twig? Need to check this.

Digging: Sparklehorse - It's a Wonderful Life

zaruyache
October 29th 2018


23422 Comments


but what does this sound like

TwigTW
October 29th 2018


3830 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Apparently it sounds like Zakalwe's grumbling gut, but... I think a better description of the music is calm, atmospheric and slightly melancholy, with introspective lyrics and male vocals.

Sniff
October 29th 2018


6887 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

think nick cave's latest but with a sexy frontman instead of this guy https://i.pinimg.com/originals/1e/80/61/1e8061fd22954a314ddc02984672f12e.jpg

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
October 30th 2018


5314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"the song i heard from this sounds so much like david sylvian"



Exactly what I thought when I listened to the first song off the record. This is an interesting album from the first listen.

Digging: Sleaford Mods - Spare Ribs

TwigTW
October 30th 2018


3830 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

There's some Sylvian crossover here. Steve Jansen and Thomas Feiner used to be signed to his record label (not sure if they still are).

Lucman
October 31st 2018


5116 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Anyone know where I can hear this? I'm not sure I'm willing to shill out 24 dollars for a digital copy unless it's really good.

Papa Universe
October 31st 2018


22505 Comments


where did yous listen to this? just bought it?

Sniff
November 1st 2018


6887 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well it was fully available on bandcamp at the time

DoofDoof
November 1st 2018


8513 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I did buy this - he releases one album every thirty years of something like that so I divided the price by thirty and decided it was value for money.



Doof math



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy