Cult Leader
A Patient Man


3.6
great

Review

by Xenophanes STAFF
October 29th, 2018 | 215 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Cult Leader eschew conventions with “A Patient Man,” yielding an album of two halves and one spirit.

A Patient Man is the last opportunity to talk about Gaza--that’s it, it’s done. The shadow of Cult Leader’s former band/moniker looms over them no longer. What they have managed to do in their two-album run is create an identity that is wholly their own by producing some of the most hard-hitting and infectious heavy music out there. Gaza are officially dead. Long live Gaza.

Cult Leader’s sophomore record A Patient Man is one hell of a heavy slice of music. The metalcore/sludge/death concoction is just as effective as ever, with a near-constant barrage of the grimiest and murkiest work put to tape this year. But with “To: Achlys,” “A World of Joy,” and the title track, Cult Leader have taken risks by working with a near strictly melodic palette a la “Cruel Bloom” from Converge’s Axe to Fall. Each is haunting in its simplicity and shows a band willing to step outside its “plug-and-chug” formula. The thick and smoky atmosphere the band employes works well alongside the aural assaults of songs like “Craft of Mourning” and “Share My Pain,” especially when the two styles meet in the very effective “A World of Joy.” Typically when heavy bands turn out tunes likes those that make up half of A Patient Man, the word “maturation” gets thrown around, as if heavy music cannot be inherently mature. Cult Leader throw those sentiments out the window. Some of the album’s most revelatory moments are those found in the most oppressive sonic torrents. Cult Leader expertly give their songs depth while still making them feel unrelenting.

A Patient Man iis a heavy album recorded in God City Studios. Unfortunately that speaks volumes because its production is nigh indistinguishable from dozens upon dozens of other records. It’s clean and polished in ways few others could manage, but any sort of soul has been spread very thin. Most would never care but it’s worth noting for those who suffer from Kurt Ballou fatigue. Yet small personal issues do not detract from what is otherwise a refreshingly refined record of two halves--one earthy and melodic, the other dark and oppressive. While the jarring distinctions do not always work, when everything comes together perfectly there’s nothing else like it this year.



Recent reviews by this author
Sigh Heir to DespairURSA Abyss Between the Stars
Daughters You Won't Get What You WantCoheed and Cambria The Unheavenly Creatures
SUMAC Love In ShadowRebel Wizard Voluptuous Worship of Rapture and Response
user ratings (95)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Xenophanes
Staff Reviewer
October 29th 2018


1482 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6

I think I’m all caught up on my dibs now

Digging: Daughters - You Won't Get What You Want

BigPleb
October 29th 2018


55556 Comments


Gah, after that single I was expecting something better than your review suggests.

Still, great write-up.

hogan900
October 29th 2018


2864 Comments


damn only a 3.6 :/
and yeah great review, will still check out since their last outing was sick.

Xenophanes
Staff Reviewer
October 29th 2018


1482 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6

Tbh I predict this will get a slightly higher avg score. However a 3.6 is “great” and this album is as such.

dbizzles
October 29th 2018


12369 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

They have a hit and an absolute whiff-and-fall-on-the-ground-still-swinging with the singles, imo. Looking forward to the 'plug and chug' but, not excited for the rest.

Digging: El-Ahrairah - The Blessing

Relinquished
October 29th 2018


38410 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm down for the two sides, I dug em on the last one enough. "I Am Healed" still remains one of my top tracks this year.

BigPleb
October 29th 2018


55556 Comments


Never even jammed these guys and that song floored me.

Evreaia
October 29th 2018


5028 Comments


Did not know this band was releasing something new, quickly looked up both singles.

God damn, I nearly missed out on a beauty.

clavier
Contributing Reviewer
October 29th 2018


818 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this album was my biggest disappointment of the year, three of the slow tracks were an absolute slog for me

Digging: Milanku - Monument du non?-?tre & Mouvement du non?-?vivant

Kompys2000
October 29th 2018


1783 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Wtf is this out now I thought it wasn't out for another 2 weeks

DarkHorizontal
October 29th 2018


74 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That slow single grew on me so should be cool to hear the rest. HEAL ME

Digging: Kelly Moran - Ultraviolet

SomeGuyDude
October 29th 2018


372 Comments


Er... where are we hearing the whole thing? It's not streaming on any websites I found.

clavier
Contributing Reviewer
October 29th 2018


818 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

promo access

Xenophanes
Staff Reviewer
October 29th 2018


1482 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6

Idk how people here are always confused about promos

supremejelly
October 29th 2018


999 Comments


Lord I hope "To: Achlys" is the worst of the slow-burners. That song wasn't interesting at all

Digging: Eli Keszler - Stadium

clavier
Contributing Reviewer
October 29th 2018


818 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

@supremejelly: good news is that it is the worst of the slow-burners, bad news is that there are other slow-burners

dbizzles
October 29th 2018


12369 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I just want forest fires.

XingKing
October 29th 2018


14043 Comments


3.6? Damn, I was expecting this to be top ten of the year status. Cautiously optimistic now

supremejelly
October 29th 2018


999 Comments


Ugh.."A Patient Man" I will need to be to get through those I imagine (thanks I'll be here all week)

Xenophanes
Staff Reviewer
October 29th 2018


1482 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6

Each of the slow tracks sound alike but “A World of Joy” has a great finale



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy