Daughters
You Won't Get What You Want


4.6
superb

Review

by Xenophanes STAFF
October 25th, 2018 | 2121 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Everything that you want.

I have this old yellow Daughters shirt that I wear all of the time. Big block letters and a bat with a vagina for a face adorns the front. It's really fun because Daughters are really fun. You Won't Get What You Want, on the other hand, is not fun. It’s dark and weird, teasing anything remotely beautiful only in its last moments. After eight years of silence, Daughters have returned with an album that ironically gives you what you want, but maybe not what you expect.

You Won't Get What You Want is nontraditional in its atmospheric and plodding delivery. Whereas the band's 2010 self-titled record flew out of the gates like a vagina-bat out of hell with "The Virgin", "City Song" acts as a much more rhythmic and understated stage setter. Longer form exercises in mood such as "Satan in the Wait" and "Less Sex" fuel this bewitching aesthetic narrative by emphasizing the backdrop of Daughters' sound, rather than the embellishments that they have become known for. The dissonant and uneasy feeling which lay under the surface is now at the forefront. You Won't Get What You Want is still chaotic in its own unsettling way; peculiar guitar tones and ritualistic percussion saturates even the most subdued songs which feel very much "on brand." That Daughters-era flair is still present with quick hits like "The Flammable Man" and "The Lords Song," but even those in their own way are comparatively weird.

Daughters are back, but not as they were before. They’re still impossible to define, with “noise rock” being a pretty good catch all for their odd brand of industrial, post-punk and mathcore brew. But whatever voodoo made their unapproachable sound so damn fun and cathartic is completely gone. In its place is a something altogether darker and uglier, but ultimately more brilliant and enrapturing than ever before. You Won't Get What You Want is Daughters finest moment and everything I’ve wanted.



Recent reviews by this author
Krallice WolfChapel of Disease ...and as We Have Seen the Storm, We Have Embraced
Sigh Heir to DespairURSA Abyss Between the Stars
Cult Leader A Patient ManCoheed and Cambria The Unheavenly Creatures
user ratings (768)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
Taxt (4.5)
Is something burning here or is it me?...

skriverier (4.5)
Damn....

Kazooicide (4.5)
A distinct cacophony....


Comments:Add a Comment 
THVRTVVN
October 24th 2018


459 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

no way this is above a 1.5 yea

GhostB1rd
October 24th 2018


2368 Comments


AND TO THINK THAT YOU'RE SOMEBODY'S DAUGHTER

Ashtiel
October 24th 2018


250 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

LET ME IN

LET ME IN

Digging: Oh Sees - Floating Coffin

Prancer
October 24th 2018


921 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

this is the most October-sounding album of all time

guitarded_chuck
October 24th 2018


16841 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

good music

brainmelter
October 24th 2018


6175 Comments


nice, I remember liking hell songs

Digging: Oes Galliath - Ad Galliam Et Mortem

DarkSideOfLucca
October 24th 2018


14367 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Shit





Guess I should check this band out or something

Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
October 24th 2018


18313 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

yeah

Digging: Pet Shop Boys - Behaviour

SandwichBubble
October 24th 2018


8920 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I feel bad for not liking this more

Digging: Submission Hold - The Buzz of a Buzzless Situation

Dettlaff
October 24th 2018


193 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Bookends are 2 of the best songs I've heard all year

IcelandRevel
October 24th 2018


920 Comments


But it's not even out yet.

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Emeritus
October 24th 2018


6677 Comments


staff access 👯‍♀️

Ashtiel
October 24th 2018


250 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

it leaked and it's pretty easy to find at this point, as well.

butcherboy
Contributing Reviewer
October 24th 2018


9358 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

it’s fine..

Digging: Julius Eastman - Unjust Malaise

Taxt
October 24th 2018


1247 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great review. This absolutely rips

Lucman
October 24th 2018


1701 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Sweet review. Awesome record.

Digging: Brian Fallon - Sleepwalkers

Dylan620
October 24th 2018


4494 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Based on the singles, whoever made the decision to drop this album the weekend before Halloween is a marketing genius



If ever there is a zombie apocalypse, they will march to the rhythm of "The Reason They Hate Me," I'm sure of it

Digging: City of Caterpillar - City of Caterpillar

calmrose
October 24th 2018


4344 Comments


Aoty [2]

sweet review also

Digging: The Chariot - Long Live

DarkSideOfLucca
October 24th 2018


14367 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Fuck I can't wait for work tomorrow to listen to this ahhhh

FreddieDelaney31
October 24th 2018


5134 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I'll never stop raving about Guest House. I mean my god that song

Digging: The Twilight Sad - It Won/t Be Like This All the Time



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy