Daughters
You Won't Get What You Want


4.6
superb

Review

by Xenophanes EMERITUS
October 25th, 2018 | 4084 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Everything that you want.

I have this old yellow Daughters shirt that I wear all of the time. Big block letters and a bat with a vagina for a face adorns the front. It's really fun because Daughters are really fun. You Won't Get What You Want, on the other hand, is not fun. It’s dark and weird, teasing anything remotely beautiful only in its last moments. After eight years of silence, Daughters have returned with an album that ironically gives you what you want, but maybe not what you expect.

You Won't Get What You Want is nontraditional in its atmospheric and plodding delivery. Whereas the band's 2010 self-titled record flew out of the gates like a vagina-bat out of hell with "The Virgin", "City Song" acts as a much more rhythmic and understated stage setter. Longer form exercises in mood such as "Satan in the Wait" and "Less Sex" fuel this bewitching aesthetic narrative by emphasizing the backdrop of Daughters' sound, rather than the embellishments that they have become known for. The dissonant and uneasy feeling which lay under the surface is now at the forefront. You Won't Get What You Want is still chaotic in its own unsettling way; peculiar guitar tones and ritualistic percussion saturates even the most subdued songs which feel very much "on brand." That Daughters-era flair is still present with quick hits like "The Flammable Man" and "The Lords Song," but even those in their own way are comparatively weird.

Daughters are back, but not as they were before. They’re still impossible to define, with “noise rock” being a pretty good catch all for their odd brand of industrial, post-punk and mathcore brew. But whatever voodoo made their unapproachable sound so damn fun and cathartic is completely gone. In its place is a something altogether darker and uglier, but ultimately more brilliant and enrapturing than ever before. You Won't Get What You Want is Daughters finest moment and everything I’ve wanted.



Recent reviews by this author
Cynic Ascension CodesThe World Is a Beautiful Place... Illusory Walls
Krallice Mass CathexisImperial Triumphant Alphaville
Feminazgul No Dawn for MenBlood Incantation Hidden History of the Human Race
user ratings (1267)
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of


Comments:Add a Comment 
THVRTVVN
October 25th 2018


459 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

no way this is above a 1.5 yea

GhostB1rd
October 25th 2018


7939 Comments


AND TO THINK THAT YOU'RE SOMEBODY'S DAUGHTER

Ashtiel
October 25th 2018


1351 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

LET ME IN

LET ME IN

Prancer
October 25th 2018


1385 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

this is the most October-sounding album of all time

guitarded_chuck
October 25th 2018


18068 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

good music

brainmelter
October 25th 2018


7847 Comments


nice, I remember liking hell songs

Digging: Dave Bixby - Ode To Quetzalcoatl

DarkSideOfLucca
October 25th 2018


16012 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Shit





Guess I should check this band out or something

Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
October 25th 2018


19459 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

yeah

SandwichBubble
October 25th 2018


13308 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I feel bad for not liking this more

Digging: Graves - Far From Here

Dettlaff
October 25th 2018


432 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Bookends are 2 of the best songs I've heard all year

Lavair
October 25th 2018


949 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

But it's not even out yet.

Jots
Staff Reviewer
October 25th 2018


7417 Comments


staff access 👯‍♀️

Ashtiel
October 25th 2018


1351 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

it leaked and it's pretty easy to find at this point, as well.

butcherboy
October 25th 2018


9464 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

it’s fine..

Taxt
October 25th 2018


1532 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great review. This absolutely rips

Lucman
October 25th 2018


5441 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Sweet review. Awesome record.

Digging: The Smile - A Light For Attracting Attention

Dylan620
October 25th 2018


5771 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Based on the singles, whoever made the decision to drop this album the weekend before Halloween is a marketing genius



If ever there is a zombie apocalypse, they will march to the rhythm of "The Reason They Hate Me," I'm sure of it

Digging: Ethel Cain - Preacher's Daughter

calmrose
October 25th 2018


5669 Comments


Aoty [2]

sweet review also

DarkSideOfLucca
October 25th 2018


16012 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Fuck I can't wait for work tomorrow to listen to this ahhhh

Slex
October 25th 2018


13742 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'll never stop raving about Guest House. I mean my god that song

Digging: Coheed and Cambria - Vaxis II: A Window of the Waking Mind



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy