Obscura
Diluvium


2.0
poor

Review

by Robert Garland CONTRIBUTOR (263 Reviews)
October 11th, 2018 | 31 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Soul sucking sterility.

Obscura. It’s as much as a title of status as it is a band name. While the hype train has been running full steam and full speed for the better part of twelve years the band has certainly earned its place within death metal lore. The only question is whether the band’s hype train will stop to let listeners board, or pass the platform completely… leaving fans stranded. Whether or not you’ve been convinced of Obscura’s musical majesty or not, it’s almost undeniably easy to drop a reference to Cosmogenesis or Akróasis when discussing the realms of technically adverse, progressive death metal.

From the album’s opening notes, “Clandestine Stars” feels suppressed into being. Sure, there’s the usual array of blasts and riffs, topped with any level of noodling interest. But the feeling is gone, void and all within the first minute of the record’s beginnings. With all of this in mind it’s clearly important to realise that Diluvium isn’t a complete waste of time. The record’s title track is of particular note. With so much attention being forced onto the musicianship and utmost capabilities of Obscura’s lineup, the simplicity of the album’s title track actually stands above the drivel found within the rest of the Diluvium’s duration. Vocally, Obscura’s 2018 piece is as inconsistent as the band’s discography. Here, they lack substance and power occasionally resorting to the electronically distorted and somewhat robotic modification of Steffen Kummerer’s vocal phrasing (not unlike a child speaking into the moving blades of a pedestal fan). The result leads to a weakened, artificial soundscape of unrewarding potential, leaving it dormant instead. To continue with the simile above: the train didn’t just miss the platform, it fell of the tracks…

Much of this theme bulks out what’s left of this disappointing album. That’s not to say that die-hard fans won’t find their usual levels of enjoyment here, but the self indulgent, haphazardly thrown together sections of music have sucked the life out of what should be an incredibly enjoyable record. Obscura show exactly just how a band can have all the skill at their disposal, the dexterity of an already established name and somehow achieve almost nothing within their own little world.

Regardless of what a particular listener may feel about Obscura music, there is a success story here. Unfortunately, in regard to Obscura’s latest offering in Diluvium the general listener will feel it's incredibly undeserved. Diluvium is stale, sterile and awash with tones of neutrality. What should be filled to the brim with flamboyance, life and forward thinking musicianship is replaced with instrumental masturbation and devoid vocal efforts. Akróasis seems so incredibly far away. For fifty four minutes, listeners are treated to some of the most boring, technically sound death metal 2018 has to offer.

For now it seems the Obscura train will in fact keep chugging on, but if the very geological definition of diluvium is to be believed the superficial washing away of anything worthwhile or real from the Obscura camp has occurred already leaving only a synthetic shell of what could have been.



Recent reviews by this author
Ghastly (FIN) Death VelourGorod Aethra
Moonshade Sun DethronedArchitects Holy Hell
All That Remains Victim of the New DiseaseArsis Visitant
user ratings (160)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
October 11th 2018


9126 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Doing some catching up.

Hawks
October 11th 2018


64332 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I dig this band for the most part honestly. This and Cosmogenesis in particular.



Sweet review as always bro. m/

Digging: Azelisassath - In Total Contempt of All Life

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
October 11th 2018


9126 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

I’ll gladly stand behind the efforts off Akróasis, but this is a doodle snooze.

Hawks
October 11th 2018


64332 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That’s actually the only one I don’t really like lol.

Jacquibim
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2018


3040 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Nice review but for some of your word choices.



I know what you're trying to say by "technically adverse" but the term itself kind of implies a there's a lack of proficiency here. "Unrewarding potential" also feels a bit oxymoron-y, "unfulfilled" works much better.



Agreed on your assessment tho, didn't dig this.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
October 11th 2018


9126 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Thanks for the look over Jac, will take into consideration and take another look over as a whole. I had this drafted back (closer) at the release date, probably not as fresh as it should be

TheNotrap
October 11th 2018


9422 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I agree with most of your thoughts but the rating is overly harsh, in my opinion.



That being said, it's their most uninteresting album since Retribution.

Digging: Obliteration - Cenotaph Obscure

BlackwaterPork
October 11th 2018


4382 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It’s meh

Digging: Obliteration - Cenotaph Obscure

Evok
October 11th 2018


7616 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nope

Digging: DUPLOC Records - DUPLOC Selects - Chapter One

ChaoticVortex
October 11th 2018


700 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well written review, HUUUUUGE disagreement with the rating. This quality tech death like all of their other records.

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2018


10413 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

obscura are like easy listenin' tech death and that's kinda why i enjoy them. This one is a little less impressive than their other work tho

jesterhead92
October 11th 2018


5593 Comments


If this is worse than the normal output than I probs won’t dig it

Hopefully the new Beyond Creation will fill the tech death niche in my soul

mindleviticus
October 11th 2018


9572 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

gotta agree parts of this were so shoehorned in it's not even funny. still fun though for the most part

CygnusX1
October 11th 2018


443 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album is on par with Cosmogenesis for me. Akroasis was a real snoozefest and this is faster and more technical, with better songwriting and riffs.

I don't really get the part where you talk about the vocals being computerized like it's out of place...that's kind of their thing

Hawks
October 11th 2018


64332 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don’t think this is as good as Cosmogenesis but it’s close. Pretty much agree with everything you just said though lol.

mindleviticus
October 11th 2018


9572 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Akroasis was their best album

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
October 11th 2018


9126 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Hopefully the new Beyond Creation will fill the tech death niche in my soul





Came out today (NA) giving it a few spins, easily better than this but still not blowing me away

Evok
October 12th 2018


7616 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Saw Beyond Creation with these guys a few weeks ago. BC was definitely the most bangin band in that live setting.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
October 12th 2018


9126 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Actually liking the new BC quite a bit, but god damn that mix is bass/snare heavy. Almost washes everything else away

Evok
October 12th 2018


7616 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The day I complain about BC's bass being mixed too loud is the day I check myself into the hospital. That dude is one sexy fretless specimen.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy