Joey Purp
Quarterthing


4.0
excellent

Review

by Conmaniac CONTRIBUTOR (71 Reviews)
October 5th, 2018 | 19 replies


Release Date: 09/07/2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: selling what?

QUARTERTHING is a living juxtaposition; it’s the album where Joey Purp has realized his own fame yet is self-aware enough to combat against the idea “selling out”. And on the surface level, this album is selling out, at least in the same way Vince Staples’ Big Fish Theory sold out in it’s minimalistic, aesthetic-based production. Yet, comparatively Joey Purp’s effort is more invigoriting in the long run as it doesn’t simply bandwagon a production trend. In fact, it’s much more likely to parody the 2018 rap styles, as seen with tracks like ‘Elastic’ and ‘Fessional/Diamonds Dancing’. The former pokes fun at the out-of-place yet popular hit ‘Girls@’ found on his previous effort, featuring Chance the Rapper. At least, it does within the short, choppy verses melded with the striking yet minimal beat that backs Joey’s monotone flow. The latter is a drawling song, one I wouldn’t necessarily consider objectively good by any means as his faux-xan induded flow doesn’t come off too naturally and ends up falling short of being a convincing stand-alone track. However, this song is essential for the thesis of this album which, simply put, is Joey Purp’s consious effort at selling out; it's an intentional step into the trendy rap waters that leaves his other foot planted in the familiar grounds of lyrical aptitude.

The entertaining part of this album is deciding whether or not some of these lines are intentionally poking fun at the album’s own motif. On ‘Look at My Wrist’ Purp delivers some of his hardest lines on the entire release, backed by a sparkling trap beat that’s easily the most captivating song on first listen. However, right before the flashy, material-based chorus (“damn look at my wrists/bitch/crib/etc.”) Purp alerts the listener as to what the track is truly about. Although this is a critique of self-made rappers jumping the gun to brag about their riches, at times it seems as if Joey Purp is doing the exact same thing. On highlight single ‘Bag Talk’ the chorus consists of a, “she like how the car stops but the rims don’t” and while it’s enticingly fun to rap along to, it’s the exact same thing he was criticising just four songs ago. It seems as if Joey Purp is experimenting with this idea of cashing out, diving into different rap personalities and styles and exploring how each of these imaginary personas would act within this thematic context. Thusly, the entire album is a mish-mash of split-identities, all cohesive in the fact that each song is a piece of Joey Purp himself yet they all diverge into differing terretories, some unknown and some strangely familiar. Although the album’s arc is seemingly random in this regard, the opener is definitively the best-placed song on the album as it’s undoubtedly the real Joey Purp. On ‘24k Gold/Sanctified’ the all-too familiar brass-based beat greets the listener with a rare maximalist approach, much like any track on iiiDrops, a soulful endeavor that’s charming in its form and lyrics. The mantra is simple: “All we ask is trust, all they need is love / All we have is we, all we need is us” and while it’s all smiles in this regard, Joey Purp showcases his brilliant storytelling skills yet again, taking his listeners to the ruthless streets of Chicago where the same friends he bailed out are the ones fucking his baby momma right after the fact.

It’s truly fitting that the title track is Joey at his best, yet it’s also so far away from the Joey found on iiiDrops. In it he practically brags about everything, from his girl to his drug-induced lifestyle to even his absurd amount of cell phones. It’s almost comical when the line, “ain’t a damn thing changed” comes in during the chorus, yet that’s the point isn’t it? The entire album is an experiment into Joey’s peers and his own psyche, referencing Eazy E’s ‘Boyz-in-the-Hood’ while bragging about everything you’d see in a Migos song. The transition from this track to the centerpiece of ‘Paint Thinner’ is astonishing as it’s, again, the same Joey Purp found 2 years ago, referencing extremely personal things like how he hopes his own son won’t follow the same drug-dealing fate his father did. “Things change around shiny things” is basically a response to the capitalist-loving Purp on the previous track and the interplay between these personas is fascinating. If anything, this alone allows QUARTERTHINGS to be one of the most entertaining rap albums of this year, also showcasing features from GZA and RZA as well as some unknown local Chicago artists. In it you’ll find songs that you can enjoy for all the right reasons, as well as ones you can love for all the wrong ones. It’s self-aware in how invigorating the new rap trends are yet it still clings to a sense of identity, making it an absurd yet charming experimentation into the album’s uniting prompt: what if Joey Purp sold out?



Recent reviews by this author
Prince Daddy and The Hyena Cosmic Thrill SeekersSki Mask The Slump God Stokeley
Joji Ballads 1GHOSTEMANE N / O / I / S / E
Dad Thighs Easy ListeningPersh persh
user ratings (26)
3.4
great
recommended by reviewer
Vince Staples Big Fish Theory

Comments:Add a Comment 
Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
October 5th 2018


24950 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

woah Con's back sorry folks Florence has been p lit and busy and beautiful I can barely keep up on 2018 albums let alone reviewing em but here's one u all prob missed cuz it has 14 ratings on here like cmon Sput alright enough with the monologue

cc welcome, much love to everyone writing can be therapeutic

Evrimen
October 5th 2018


148 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

woah why are there so few ratings? This guy is one of the biggest rising stars rn

TheSpaceMan
October 5th 2018


12313 Comments


cant be famous if ive never heard of him

hows he got RZA and GZA in on this?

the question marks still dont work?

i feel like literal shit and cant stop coughing

pos

i cant even do that

JustJoe.
October 5th 2018


6899 Comments


Joey POS

Arcade
Staff Reviewer
October 6th 2018


142 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

"Karl Malone"

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
October 6th 2018


24950 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I feel like Karl Malone is literally stealing from a different rap song but I have no idea what song it annoys me at this point

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
October 6th 2018


16899 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Saw this guy at pitchfork last year and I loved him, excited to check this out

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
October 6th 2018


24950 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

he came to my college for a free show a couple years ago and he killed it, hope the best for him

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
October 7th 2018


3046 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oh man, nice work Connor. iiiDrops was fun, have to check this.

Digging: Lil Tracy - Anarchy

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
October 7th 2018


24950 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This fun too blush, much love

Also s/o to my boi Space he sick af rn and needs some love. Thanks for reading

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
October 7th 2018


3046 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Space is :* and :3 and :heart:.

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
October 7th 2018


24950 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ooh glad u dig blush, any standouts for ya?

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
October 7th 2018


3046 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Elastic or Fessional, funnily enough. Going to have to give this heaps more listens, though -- it goes down so easy.

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
October 7th 2018


24950 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah its such an easy listen. Have jammed this album the most in the past 2ish weeks

rabidfish
November 30th 2018


5437 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yo Con this one's pretty aight, cool for pointing this out to me

Digging: JP Bimeni And The Black Belts - Free Me

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
November 30th 2018


24950 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

oh damn u checked it, glad u dug it my dude it's p sweet

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
March 2nd 2019


16899 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Woah this is awesome

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
April 8th 2019


24950 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah it is way way underappreciated

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
May 8th 2019


24950 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ridin' spinners when the car stops, the rims don't

SHE LIKE HOW THE CAR STOPS BUT THE RIMS DONT



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy