Un
Sentiment


4.0
excellent

Review

by Atari STAFF
October 4th, 2018 | 90 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A massive, luxurious doom metal album done with style and grace.

Washington’s Un have crafted one of the strongest metal offerings of the year with Sentiment. The lush, yet foreboding atmosphere is stretched across just four tracks, the shortest barely under the twelve minute mark. Each song swells and builds with ease, utilizing tasty guitars and deep death metal growls. Despite the cavernous vocals though, Sentiment is more doom metal than anything else. If you dug last year’s efforts by Pallbearer or Elder (USA-MA), chances are you’ll eat this sh*t right up. Un don’t seem concerned with how fast and loud these songs are; they’re thoughtfully constructed with a sense of serenity and grace. It often has a gloomy, depressing sound -- the melancholic instrumentation just kind of trudges along -- and yet, there’s a sense of solitude throughout the album's landscape as well. Sentiment thrives on its atmospheric surroundings and consistency, making it difficult to pinpoint a favorite track. This thing’s a gorgeous beast, best heard in its entirety. I will say this, though: the closing track is the perfect conclusion to such a sprawling metal record. The album becomes simply enchanting during its last five minutes, with slight ambient touches and some of Un’s most meticulous guitar manipulation on display. There are many groove-oriented moments as well, which only add more depth to the elegant instrumentation at hand. With Sentiment, Un have formed an album of undeniable depth and beauty, through and through.



Recent reviews by this author
Musk Ox Inheritance Lucy Dacus Home Video
The Raging Nathans Waste My HeartNecrot Mortal
Faceless Burial SpeciationPaysage d'Hiver Im Wald
user ratings (78)
3.8
excellent


Comments:Add a Comment 
Atari
Staff Reviewer
October 4th 2018


26676 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

https://unvibes.bandcamp.com/



last time I checked this had 3 votes. glad the hype's picking up a bit.



def one of the most impressive metal albums of the year for me



clavier
Staff Reviewer
October 4th 2018


1106 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this sounds tasty, will give it a try

pjquinones747
October 4th 2018


3235 Comments


Commenting to check later.

Digging: Yves Tumor - Heaven To A Tortured Mind

necropig
October 4th 2018


6255 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh yeah hell. Props for reviewing

Digging: Scythelord - Earth Boiling Dystopia

DarkNoctus
October 4th 2018


11540 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

this album is so, so good

Deathconscious
October 4th 2018


26352 Comments


That cover art is fucking gorgeous.

Atari, be a doll and review Black Wreath's A Pyre of Lost Dreams. Plz, baby.

DungeonBoy
October 4th 2018


8325 Comments


Concise review dude. Gonna add this to the list.

"Atari, be a doll and review Black Wreath's A Pyre of Lost Dreams. Plz, baby."

Does it not have a review? crazy, i was jamming it yesterday. It's a classic

Digging: Musk Ox - Inheritance

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
October 4th 2018


9179 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8 | Sound Off

Jamming this right now, great stuff.



I love the flow of the music and the seemless blending of different elements, namely funeral doom and post rock, in the namesake track.

Digging: Unmother - Lay Down the Sun

theyperch
October 4th 2018


2 Comments


Great to see Un picking up hype as a local band - I just bought a guitar from Monte a couple months ago.

conesmoke
October 4th 2018


6807 Comments


That album art is beautiful.

Hawks
October 4th 2018


75353 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review, great album. m/

Digging: Judas Priest - Stained Class

DarkNoctus
October 4th 2018


11540 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i expect to see ratings for this go up. this album sticks with you. i've been listening to the tracks that were streaming for weeks, i just couldn't get enough.

RogueNine
October 4th 2018


4759 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Sounds like something I gotta czech.

Hawks
October 4th 2018


75353 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah this album is massive in such a good way. Would be like a 4.2 if I could.

UnderTheNorthernScar
October 5th 2018


604 Comments


Can't find this thing on spotify, is it out yet officially?

Hawks
October 5th 2018


75353 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yep it is. I listened on YouTube.

BallsToTheWall
October 5th 2018


50427 Comments


Is this the Bed, Bath and Beyond of doom? The Lush of doom perhaps?

Hawks
October 5th 2018


75353 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hmmm idk this is kinda dirty tbh.

BallsToTheWall
October 5th 2018


50427 Comments


Bath bomb material?

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
October 5th 2018


9179 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8 | Sound Off

i expect to see ratings for this go up. this album sticks with you. i've been listening to the tracks that were streaming for weeks, i just couldn't get enough.



Agreed, the album is a delight to listen to time and again.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy