Un
Sentiment


4.0
excellent

Review

by Atari STAFF
October 4th, 2018 | 86 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A massive, luxurious doom metal album done with style and grace.

Washington’s Un have crafted one of the strongest metal offerings of the year with Sentiment. The lush, yet foreboding atmosphere is stretched across just four tracks, the shortest barely under the twelve minute mark. Each song swells and builds with ease, utilizing tasty guitars and deep death metal growls. Despite the cavernous vocals though, Sentiment is more doom metal than anything else. If you dug last year’s efforts by Pallbearer or Elder (USA-MA), chances are you’ll eat this sh*t right up. Un don’t seem concerned with how fast and loud these songs are; they’re thoughtfully constructed with a sense of serenity and grace. It often has a gloomy, depressing sound -- the melancholic instrumentation just kind of trudges along -- and yet, there’s a sense of solitude throughout the album's landscape as well. Sentiment thrives on its atmospheric surroundings and consistency, making it difficult to pinpoint a favorite track. This thing’s a gorgeous beast, best heard in its entirety. I will say this, though: the closing track is the perfect conclusion to such a sprawling metal record. The album becomes simply enchanting during its last five minutes, with slight ambient touches and some of Un’s most meticulous guitar manipulation on display. There are many groove-oriented moments as well, which only add more depth to the elegant instrumentation at hand. With Sentiment, Un have formed an album of undeniable depth and beauty, through and through.



Recent reviews by this author
The Tallest Man on Earth I Love You. It's a Fever Dream.PUP Morbid Stuff
Free Throw What's Past Is PrologueJulia Jacklin Crushing
Downfall of Gaia Ethic of Radical FinitudeTiny Ruins Olympic Girls
user ratings (75)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Atari
Staff Reviewer
October 4th 2018


24689 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

https://unvibes.bandcamp.com/



last time I checked this had 3 votes. glad the hype's picking up a bit.



def one of the most impressive metal albums of the year for me



Digging: Telethon - Hard Pop

clavier
Staff Reviewer
October 4th 2018


940 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this sounds tasty, will give it a try

Digging: for your health/Shin Guard - Death of Spring

pjquinones747
October 4th 2018


3015 Comments


Commenting to check later.

Digging: State Faults - Clairvoyant

necropig
October 4th 2018


5502 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh yeah hell. Props for reviewing

Digging: Asphodelus - Stygian Dreams

DarkNoctus
October 4th 2018


10786 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

this album is so, so good

AdolfChrist
October 4th 2018


21484 Comments


That cover art is fucking gorgeous.

Atari, be a doll and review Black Wreath's A Pyre of Lost Dreams. Plz, baby.

Digging: Beastwars - IV

DungeonBoy
October 4th 2018


6206 Comments


Concise review dude. Gonna add this to the list.

"Atari, be a doll and review Black Wreath's A Pyre of Lost Dreams. Plz, baby."

Does it not have a review? crazy, i was jamming it yesterday. It's a classic

Digging: Andavald - Undir Skyggarhaldi

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
October 4th 2018


8370 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8 | Sound Off

Jamming this right now, great stuff.



I love the flow of the music and the seemless blending of different elements, namely funeral doom and post rock, in the namesake track.

Digging: Norman Shores - De L'Ombre Surgit La Lumire

theyperch
October 4th 2018


2 Comments


Great to see Un picking up hype as a local band - I just bought a guitar from Monte a couple months ago.

conesmoke
October 4th 2018


5993 Comments


That album art is beautiful.

Hawks
October 4th 2018


72270 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review, great album. m/

Digging: Janusz Jurga - Hypnowald

DarkNoctus
October 4th 2018


10786 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i expect to see ratings for this go up. this album sticks with you. i've been listening to the tracks that were streaming for weeks, i just couldn't get enough.

RogueNine
October 4th 2018


3962 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Sounds like something I gotta czech.

Hawks
October 4th 2018


72270 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah this album is massive in such a good way. Would be like a 4.2 if I could.

UnderTheNorthernScar
October 4th 2018


597 Comments


Can't find this thing on spotify, is it out yet officially?

Hawks
October 4th 2018


72270 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yep it is. I listened on YouTube.

BallsToTheWall
October 4th 2018


49683 Comments


Is this the Bed, Bath and Beyond of doom? The Lush of doom perhaps?

Digging: Dealer (AUS) - Soul Burn

Hawks
October 4th 2018


72270 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hmmm idk this is kinda dirty tbh.

BallsToTheWall
October 4th 2018


49683 Comments


Bath bomb material?

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
October 5th 2018


8370 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8 | Sound Off

i expect to see ratings for this go up. this album sticks with you. i've been listening to the tracks that were streaming for weeks, i just couldn't get enough.



Agreed, the album is a delight to listen to time and again.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy