Milo
Budding Ornithologists Are Weary Of Tired Analogie


4.0
excellent

Review

by Cryptkeeper USER (4 Reviews)
October 3rd, 2018 | 24 replies


Release Date: 09/21/2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: ‘I’m just floating, gliding, tipping, hoping I ain’t slipping’

Milo made a name for himself after his debut and follow-up compilation album ‘Thing That Happen at Day/Night’ as the one of the funniest, most sincere and intelligent indie hip-hop artists to grace the scene, throwing internet culture references together with ideological theory and the generation defining self-doubt with brag-rap conventions and commentary on both himself, his peers and the genre he inhabits in general. His follow-up ‘so the flies don’t come’ continued his creative process, using his earlier references to philosophy as templates to compare his life with, more occupied with his personal experiences than anything. He showcased a much more energetic, angry delivery juxtaposed with his trademark jazzy beats, more driven and stylistically mature, and 2017’s ‘Who Told You to Think?’ was a major collaboration with a major lyrical focus on his personal life and commentary on hip-hop as a genre and its culture.

However, on ‘Budding Ornithologists…’ Milo stops attempting to subvert expectations or impress listeners with grand ideas, themes or philosophy, instead adopting the free-form flowing jazzy attitude toward songwriting he more deeply explored on Nostrum Grocers to a very interesting extent. No longer does he rely on his political and social references as the backbone of an album, instead utilizing them as opportunities for a listener reconnect with individual tracks after experimental jazz instrumentals and switches in production style to create a huge, unpredictable soundscape for Milo to fade out and into.

Interestingly, his attitude in not trying to please fans or reinvent himself creates an atmosphere of laidback creativity and disregard for convention he has preached from the very beginning. Another large change is the lessened use of features, ensuring the focus stays more with Milo, instead using more samples to create contrast or context for his experiences and emotions. And for a rapper who has spent most of his career trying to speak on both huge societal and tiny personal issues, trying not to speak any objective truth, worldview or opinion beyond his own, is not only refreshing but perhaps the only way to remain, in lack of a better term, Milo.

On his Bandcamp page, Milo comments on the album saying ‘[it] doesn’t have an arc or a point or a moral to preach’, more of an exercise in expression than the well calculated artistic step forward he has come to be known for. He leaves more room for the listener to interpret the album themselves and takes a step back in trying to convince or inform, instead creating an unpredictable piece of art freed from the conventions previously placed on him.


user ratings (61)
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
October 3rd 2018


3097 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Not a bad review, though it could've used some fleshing out considering this is likely the end of Milo. Would've been interesting to see each of Milo's "eras" / boundary-pushes assigned to each of his major releases, a lot of which you skip in the intro: I Wish My Brother Rob Was Here, Cavalcade and A Toothpaste Suburb were extremely important in his development, as were the various EPs and side-projects being put out alongside them. (The start and end of Hellfyre Club was super important, too.)

Digging: Keaton Henson - Six Lethargies

guitarded_chuck
October 4th 2018


18035 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"However, on ‘Budding Ornithologists…’ Milo stops attempting to subvert expectations or impress listeners with grand ideas, themes or philosophy"



have to disagree here, he doubles down with each album imo and even though hes a pleasant listen and i dig the beats hard the acts growing old on me



its still audibly pleasing enough for me to forgo it and give it a decent rating though



also pos'd

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
October 4th 2018


25015 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

RIP Milo hard ugh

guitarded_chuck
October 4th 2018


18035 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

?



edit oh he said hes done

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
October 4th 2018


25015 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah...this album had its peaks but some p wtf moments too...also that porn beat was rly unexpected from him aha. anyways a light 4 but def adore some songs on here as much as Who Told You...which is def his masterpiece imo

Sniff
October 4th 2018


5893 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Quantum N*****ish

dbizzles
October 4th 2018


13614 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Slaps. I might bump.

Digging: Maquinas - O Co de Toda Noite

Veldin
October 5th 2018


3888 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Need to listen to this more. I was burnt out by Nostrum Grocers and his last Scallops Hotel LP by the time I heard this, so I need to give this more time to sink in

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
October 5th 2018


25015 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

scallops felt like the weird bsides to this album...i still dug but not as great. Stet is one of his best singles

North0House2
October 11th 2018


6054 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

This might be my AOTY. It's a huge grower.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
November 22nd 2018


16959 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I am jamming this now, but why is this the end of Milo?

Digging: The Stargazer Lilies - Occabot

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
November 22nd 2018


25015 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

idk he's done with rap i guess....rly sad he became one of my fav rappers

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
December 2nd 2018


25015 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

'deposition regarding the green horse for rap' is so cool

theNateman
May 7th 2019


3803 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Wait so hes like done for good done?

Lord(e)Po)))ts
May 7th 2019


47253 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I have mixed feelings about that because as an artist he is great but as a person he is a fucking princess

Digging: Lapalux - Amnioverse

Veldin
May 7th 2019


3888 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hope he doesn't finish on this one >_>

theNateman
May 7th 2019


3803 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

He'd need to do something drastic to evolve his sound. All of his albums are pretty much interchangeable in style.

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
May 7th 2019


25015 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Irl he seems a tiny bit triggered but idk never heard of any awful things

Would be sad if he ended on this yeah but at least we got WTYTT??!!??!!

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
May 7th 2019


25015 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh god I remember reading some article about him like getting into some beef with a grocery store lemme try to find it

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
May 7th 2019


25015 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

https://newsone.com/3812453/racist-manager-grocery-store-maine/



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy