Kero Kero Bonito
Time 'n' Place


4.5
superb

Review

by chris. USER (49 Reviews)
October 1st, 2018 | 34 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: drifting; everybody gets the blues sometimes

I had a bit of a hard time believing that it was actually Kero Kero Bonito I was listening to here. Sure, the unique vocals of Sarah Perry can be identified easily from oceans away and the quirkiness of some of the instrumentation and synths is only something I’ve seen Kero Kero Bonito pull off so well. It’s just that, Time ‘n’ Place is without a doubt the darkest thing the band has ever done, musically and thematically. Where Bonito Generation felt like all sugar and cotton candy, Time ‘n’ Place is the cracking and tearing down that happiness. It’s an illusion that’s slowly deteriorating before your very ears. Majority of the record is filled more with indie rock guitar riffs than it is synths and the lyrics are decidedly a much more darker affair than previously.

“But I heard all the years’ll leave you hurt
Everyone you love disappears and nothing works
Please don't say you hate the world
I hope that I won't”


All things considered, it works. Hell, to me, it works even better than Bonito Generation did at some parts. Sarah’s vocals are perfect throughout the entirety of the record and each song bleeds into another like they’re being dissolved and cut away to show the next thing. It’s such a novel contrast from their earlier work. “Only Acting” breaks down at the end to reverse singing and sudden screeches, a moment that could easily give anyone listening chills, especially as it somehow effortlessly leads into the next track. The synths haven’t all left, and it shows everywhere, but the melody throughout the track “Visiting Hours” sticks out the most to me.

Heavier would be an awkward way to describe how Kero Kero Bonito incorporates more elements of rock and experimental into their formula, so I keep finding myself falling back onto ‘darker’. The band have darkened both their image and their music in a bid to evolve their sound further, in which it is apparent that they have nailed it 100% and beyond. When the indie rock riffs I mentioned earlier pop up, it’s utter ear candy. Sarah’s vocals melt your focus, drifting you through each song. The synths ebb and flow easier than ever before. Improvement may not be the best word, considering how top notch Kero Kero Bonito have always been, but the band has evolved into something different while retaining the qualities that made them so unique and interesting to listen to in the first place.



Recent reviews by this author
Malibu Ken Malibu KenForests Spending Eternity In A Japanese Convenience Store
Greta Van Fleet Anthem of the Peaceful ArmyLil Wayne Tha Carter V
Joyce Manor Million Dollars To Kill MeThe Story So Far Proper Dose
user ratings (200)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
gryndstone (4)
just a little unwell...


Comments:Add a Comment 
McTime50
October 1st 2018


885 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it's out boyssssssss



we EATIN

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
October 1st 2018


56896 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

how u do this so fast

McTime50
October 1st 2018


885 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

idk. same thing happened with Jeff Rosenstock.



just type fast lmao.

McTime50
October 1st 2018


885 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

but the issue is definitely i dont think my writing has as much depth as a contrib or staff review. i write on albums that don't emotionally have a large enough effect for me to elaborate on, or I just don't take enough to time to let them.



if i wrote reviews on albums i listen to all the time and relate to, i'd probably take more time to flesh out and really dig into how i feel. planning on reviewing my favorite album of all time for 50 reviews. which is coming up surprisingly fast.



whats funny is i aspired to write one review a week at the start of the year but dropped it at feburary. but i still got so much done this year its crazy

SandwichBubble
October 1st 2018


10001 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Sick of you people not adding album art

I don't want to contrib to this shit 😤

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
October 1st 2018


56896 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It takes me a week to write one sentence



yeah y'all need to take responsibility. If you add the album add fuckin all the details

McTime50
October 1st 2018


885 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

don't look at me, i'm just the dude that writes shit, i think whoever added this album did it months ago

McTime50
October 1st 2018


885 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

but, with all that out of the way.



this album kicks BUTT.

SandwichBubble
October 1st 2018


10001 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

If this is similar to their last one, I'd disagree

McTime50
October 1st 2018


885 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it couldn't be more different.



they still got that kkb vibe of uniqueness, but holy. its a big switch up, check it out!!!

McTime50
October 1st 2018


885 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

that was a lie, it could be more different.



it could've been them covering tha carter v in the style of lupe fiasco.

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
October 1st 2018


56896 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

They've completely dropped the Japanese aesthetic



platnum
October 1st 2018


921 Comments


Hopes are low

McTime50
October 1st 2018


885 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

they shouldnt be

SandwichBubble
October 1st 2018


10001 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Review has me interested, so I'll check

rabidfish
October 1st 2018


5266 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This a grower yo, clicked after 2nd listen. Some underwhelming material here, but its mostly good

Mr. Pain
October 1st 2018


17338 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Lol



gryndstone
October 1st 2018


1334 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Rest Stop wild

McTime50
October 1st 2018


885 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Whole album wild

Aberf
October 1st 2018


2440 Comments


is this a Death Grip's B-sides?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy