Eminem
Kamikaze


1.5
very poor

Review

by Will R. STAFF
September 19th, 2018 | 56 replies


Release Date: 08/31/2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: with apologies to Alan Moore

Heard joke once. Man goes to doctor. Says he’s depressed. Says he has trouble finding anything to get him through the days. Says music once saved him but no longer does he understand what it means. Says nothing speaks to him anymore. Says he’s angry that nothing is what he once knew. Says he feels alone in a threatening world where what lies in the present is alien and unfamiliar. Says he fears future in which generations will move even further away from the present. Says he is worried that what once meant so much to him is now dead. Asks doctor for advice or consolation. Wants to know if meaningful art still exists. Wants to know if he should give up hope.

Doctor says, “Treatment is simple. Great clown Eminem is in town tonight. Clown believes Joyner Lucas and J. Cole are future of hip-hop. Clown believes comparing his critics to gay men is clever insult. Clown believes describing his lyrics as “raping the alphabet” is clever boast. Clown hears good music but yells at it instead of listening. Go and see him. Listen to him complain about current generation. Listen to members of current generation he complains about. You will hear them reimagine hip-hop in beautiful new ways. You will experience evolution of this genre. You will understand that no art should ever stay still, that stubbornly clutching tenets of music from twenty years ago is nowhere near as exciting as letting music grow. You will understand that it is much sadder to complain about a face tattoo than it is to get a face tattoo. You will understand that hip-hop of 2018 is very different than hip-hop of 1998, and you will understand that this is a good thing. That should pick you up.”

Man bursts into tears. Says, “But Doctor...I cannot go! I already bought tickets to see Pagliacci tonight!”



Recent reviews by this author
Carly Rae Jepsen DedicatedShyun and Cruk See It Our Way
The 1975 A Brief Inquiry into Online RelationshipsAriana Grande Sweetener
Diplo CaliforniaJulia Michaels Nervous System
user ratings (595)
2.9
good
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Brostep
Staff Reviewer
September 19th 2018


4484 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

only reason this scored as high as it did is bc of the features and you know you're in a bad place when fucking Joyner Lucas is bringing your rating up

TheMrAlexK
September 19th 2018


11152 Comments


Lmaooo damn

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
September 19th 2018


17189 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This is a way better diss than anything MGK could think up

SymbolicInTime
September 20th 2018


4835 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Joyner Lucas is great, why the slight on him???

Digging: Hot Mulligan - Pilot

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
September 20th 2018


4484 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

when half your biggest hits are based almost exclusively around complaining about the new generation of rappers (especially if that's, uh, your generation of rappers) that's a no from me

guitarded_chuck
September 20th 2018


18042 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

damn this was harsh but you explained where ur coming from well respek

SymbolicInTime
September 20th 2018


4835 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I mean why is THAT solely an automatic no? If he was doing the same thing ad them and complaining st the same time, sure, but...

Calc
Contributing Reviewer
September 20th 2018


16371 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

complaining about the current generation is what we old folk do.

Digging: Crimeapple - Viridi Panem

platnum
September 20th 2018


921 Comments


I COULD BE A LUCKY STAR

YOUR EVERLASTING LOVE , HEY , HEY

YOU COULD BE MY SUPERSTAR

I COULDNT GET ENOUGH OF YOUR LOVE

platnum
September 20th 2018


921 Comments


Nice review

Wildcardbitchesss
September 20th 2018


3698 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

get off my lawn mumble rappers

SomeGuyDude
September 20th 2018


374 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Middle aged man complains about teenagers and gets called a genius for it.

SymbolicInTime
September 20th 2018


4835 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I’m just nitpicking for the sake of it but wasn’t the only teen he dissed lil pump



And dude is still an adult

Source
September 20th 2018


14767 Comments


Also no one is calling eminem a genius for this album as far as I know

Eons
September 20th 2018


2432 Comments


Decent record better than his last album.

platnum
September 20th 2018


921 Comments


The brain doesn't stop developing till 25, pump is still a kid.



Typhoon24
September 20th 2018


2195 Comments


that one skit where his lawyer said this album is a vicious cycle of mudslinging was spot on...

the rap skills were good tho

RogueNine
September 20th 2018


4085 Comments


Well then.

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
September 20th 2018


8802 Comments


Hahaha this is amazing

Digging: Vi Som Alskade Varandra Sa Mycket - Det Onda. Det Goda. Det Vackra. Det Fula.

Wildcardbitchesss
September 20th 2018


3698 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Platnum are you fuckin kidding me right now



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy