System of a Down
Toxicity


4.5
superb

Review

by DropTune USER (65 Reviews)
September 19th, 2018 | 22 replies


Release Date: 2001 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Far ahead of its time

“How do you own disorder,” has yet to be answered. 17 years after the release of Toxicity, we revisit the very line that defined Toxicity. System of a Down welcome us to a world of tapeworms, chop suey, and aerials. Screams of war, genocide, and the invisible hand are all that’s left in the rubble of a free world.

Many wouldn’t expect Toxicity to be a triple platinum chart topping masterpiece. In fact, fans rioted for 6 hours the day before its release. Crowds piled on top of each other when System joined Slipknot on their Iowa tour the same year.

“Eating seeds as a pastime activity,” is an example of the kooky songwriting that trademarked System of a Down. “I don’t know what it means, but I know how it makes me feel,” Rick Rubin comments on System of a Down’s perplexing lyrics. “And it goes from that wackiness of the verse to the epic sadness of the chorus.”

Daron Malakian, System of a Down’s lead guitarist, reinvented his playing style. “I knew what I wanted to do with the guitars to make it more furious.” Malakian comments to MTV. “On the last record, there were two tracks of guitars. On this record, there’s 12 tracks on each song.” The infamous intro to “Chop Suey” and “Aerials” are notable examples of the experimental layers from Malakian’s work.

Even if Toxicity’s 14 tracks run a tad too long, there’s no question as to how powerful the album is. It’s arguably one of System’s best records and earns its legendary status. Bold innovation, striking relevancy, and malicious instrumentation combine to form a towering force. It leaves many to wonder what System of a Down could produce in this day and age.

Standout Tracks
ATWA
Forest
Toxicity
Deer Dance



Recent reviews by this author
William Ryan Key VirtueSlipknot .5: The Gray Chapter
Nine Inch Nails Bad WitchMike Shinoda Post Traumatic
Senses Fail If There Is Light, It Will Find YouSnail Mail Lush
user ratings (5502)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
PsychicChris
September 19th 2018


315 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is the only album of theirs I'm that attached to but I'll never deny its status as a 2000s classic.

butcherboy
Contributing Reviewer
September 19th 2018


9441 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

The toxicity of my titties.. yet to be answered..

Digging: A.R. and Machines - Die Grune Reise

JoeTex
September 19th 2018


637 Comments


smoke em if ya got em

SpeachImpediment
September 19th 2018


105 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Seeing them in San Bernardino next month. So stoked.

tyman128
September 19th 2018


1224 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

honestly, the review isn’t that great. It simply discusses what the album is and not what it sounds like. Rather than talk about what happened due to the album, explain what is good about the album including the musicianship. More description would definitely improve this review

still gonna pos it because it’s still good for what it was going for

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
September 19th 2018


56349 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

1 damn

Larkinhill
September 19th 2018


1262 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I toggle between this and their first album (s/t) as their best.

Source
September 19th 2018


8675 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Can't bring myself to listen to this band anymore

Digging: Scanner - Hypertrace

artiswar
September 19th 2018


6473 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

S/T is better but this is close. Prison Song and Needles go so hard.

tyman128
September 19th 2018


1224 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

They’re trying to build a prison...

JoeTex
September 19th 2018


637 Comments


aereolas in the sky

Larkinhill
September 19th 2018


1262 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah artiswar those are two of my favs off here. Also, Deer Dance And ATWA.

DropTune
September 19th 2018


1290 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

>honestly, the review isn’t that great. It simply discusses what the album is and not what it sounds like. Rather than talk about what happened due to the album, explain what is good about the album including the musicianship. More description would definitely improve this review



still gonna pos it because it’s still good for what it was going for



Thanks for the feedback. I wrote this in a different style than my normal reviews. I wanted to see how readers would react to a review formatted closer to AP than a standard essay style review.

tyman128
September 19th 2018


1224 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

no problem, makes sense with the style you were going for

RippingCorpse1986
September 19th 2018


3015 Comments


S/T is better but this is close. [2]

Forest is still a hard jam though. Definitely one of my favorite songs here.

I wonder how my sixth grader self would've reacted to Scars on Broadway's latest shit...

bloc
September 19th 2018


54444 Comments


Is eating seeds still their past time activity?

Digging: Yeah Yeah Yeahs - Is Is

artiswar
September 19th 2018


6473 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah Deer Dance, ATWA and Forest are also top picks.

butcherboy
Contributing Reviewer
September 19th 2018


9441 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

@bloc - guy eats more seeds than a drunk canary..

DropTune
September 20th 2018


1290 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

>no problem, makes sense with the style you were going for



Essay style reviews -- at least in my opinion -- contain way too much information. In my previous review "Bad Witch," had 4 huge paragraphs reviewing the album. It will take the reader a few minutes to get through that article. I want to find a format that relays the necessary information in the least amount of time. Information overload is the worst thing to have when reviewing. This review scratches the surface of "Toxicity" and points out the layering and linguistic changes of System of a Down. It's not really in-depth.

tyman128
September 20th 2018


1224 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah, makes sense. I’ve been straying from the in-depth style and just pointing out the key elements of the albums lately... seems to be working out for now



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy