Deicide
Overtures of Blasphemy


4.0
excellent

Review

by OverkillFanBoy1980 USER (2 Reviews)
September 16th, 2018 | 107 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: One of the best releases in 2018 so far.

This new Deicide album; (“Overtures of Blasphemy,”); is one of the best albums we’ve gotten so far in 2018, and It’s my favorite of the 2018 metal albums, the only ones that could challenge it in my opinion are Satan’s “Cruel Magic” and Skeletonwitch’s “Devouring Radiant Light.” It Also happens to be my favorite Deicide album. Upon giving this album five spins, I’ve come to the conclusion that this is Deicide’s best work since, well ever, as it’s their most solid album, even beating the debut, “Legion” and “Once Upon the Cross”. My previous favorite was “Once Upon the Cross,” but “Overtures of Blasphemy” simply blew it sky high out of first place.

My favorite thing that the band changed, is Glen Benton de(i)cided to not layer high growls and screams over his low growls. I really like that there isn’t two layers of vocals on this new album, because that sort of thing just doesn’t flow well with death metal.The vocals in the track "Seal the Tomb Below," remind me a lot of Corey Taylor from Slipknot.

I really like the guitar tone, and it works even better as most of the songs here are a bit faster than normal Deicide and it reminds me a lot of Skeletonwitch’s tone. The guitar work itself on the album is incredible, riffs are brutal solos are melodic, and there’s a lot of melodic interjections and interplay between in the songs. The drumming is quite enjoyable but on certain tracks like “All That Is Evil,” the drums kind of lay back when the vocals come in and it makes it sound a bit more flat in the mix, and the dynamics suffer.

Now the best part of the album, is that the playing and performance from everyone is absolutely outstanding, the energy, passion, and the drive to be better is what make this album so good. Everyone in the band feels like they’re giving it their all to make a brutal death metal album. But what’s even better, is that the album does not sound monotonous, and that’s why I feel this album is the strongest one the band has released in their entire career, because listening to it doesn’t bore me to the point where I want to find something else to listen to, like some of their other 2000’s material does. The energy coming out of this is unmatched except by “Seven Churches” by Possessed way back in 1985, at least in the realms of death metal.

As much as I’ve talked this album up, now I have to bring down the other boot.
The main thing you’ll notice is that there is a little bit of excessive use of blast beats and tremolo picking, far more than was necessary, but the tremolo picking works better than the blast beats as there’s a second guitar playing another riff or a solo over it so it's less noticeable than the abundance of blast beats. I find the use of tremolo picking and blast beats at the same time irritating, but that's just what I think. (and at first I thought some of the double bass drums were blast beats.) And another drawback is a lack of distinguishable bass on this album, but it’s by no means a lack of bass on the level of Metallica’s “...And Justice For All,” that has garnered a meme status in the metal community. But to come back from that tangent, it isn’t that there’s no bass, it’s just very hard to tell the bass apart from the guitars, but that’s mostly a fault of modern metal in general, as the only bands I’ve heard that have really noticeable bass on their newest release are Overkill and Megadeth, with “The grinding Wheel,” and “Dystopia” respectfully.

Best tracks:
Crawled from the Shadows
Seal the Tomb Below
Anointed in Blood
Destined to Blasphemy

I give this album a 4/5
And I hope that you Deicide that you like it too.


user ratings (169)
3.3
great
other reviews of this album
Robert Davis (3.5)
A fresher take on songwriting and commendable instrumental performance makes this album one of Deici...



Comments:Add a Comment 
Doctuses
September 16th 2018


1914 Comments


Ur gonna wanna fix the paragraph spacing, but pos’d.

OverkillFanBoy1980
September 16th 2018


496 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

How do I fix that??

I haven't figured it out

Deathconscious
September 16th 2018


27323 Comments


Review comes off as very amateurish. Also i highly doubt this is a 5, and the review doesnt really seem to justify that rating.

OverkillFanBoy1980
September 16th 2018


496 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Also i don't think I can edit reviews

zaruyache
September 16th 2018


27210 Comments


There don't seem to be that many blast beats on this album and you don't really explain why having lots of tremolo riffs is a bad thing, either. Agreed about the bass, though; it's mixed so low you have to consciously look for it.

zaruyache
September 16th 2018


27210 Comments


"Also i don't think I can edit reviews"

Go onto your profile, on the left side under your profile picture it says "Edit My Reviews/Albums". Click on that and it'll list all your revs and you can edit from there.

OverkillFanBoy1980
September 16th 2018


496 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Thank you for the actual feedback

Funeralopolis
September 16th 2018


14586 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

"Glen Benton de(i)cided to not layer high growls and screams over his low growls. I really like that there isn’t two layers of vocals on this new album, because that sort of thing just doesn’t flow well with death metal. "



Blasphemy that is one of the best parts about Deicide and what gives them their unique charm. Not gonna lie the flat vocals are really turning me off this album.

Deathconscious
September 16th 2018


27323 Comments


When you use "i" and "my" so much in a review, it sounds like a grade schooler's report on their favorite kind of pizza. Also you say stuff like "the drumming is quite enjoyable" but go into no detail on why. You might as well have just typed "dis album wuz gud" and then submitted it as a review. Another example of poor writing, instead of describing the tone, you just namedrop Skeletonwitch and expect everyone to know what youre talking about.

So theres some "actual" feedback i guess. There are too many problems with this review to count.

artiswar
September 16th 2018


12946 Comments


I like pepperoni because it tastes good.

tyman128
Staff Reviewer
September 16th 2018


4441 Comments


Decent review, but you could add some things to your future reviews to step it up.

When talking about albums, please the album in between this : [ I ] [ / I ] without spaces between like I typed it out This makes it a bit easier to differentiate between album titles and song titles.

Also, try to make the review less personally written. Try not to use phrases like “I feel” and “I think” and instead discuss the general sound of the album along with the pros and cons. Omit extra personal opinions (a few aren’t too bad) and instead replace it with an overview of what a listener might be able to get from the record.

Other than that, pretty good review, pos

OverkillFanBoy1980
September 16th 2018


496 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

@Funeralopolis

I understand completely, I just think that Glen didn't pull it off as good as other vocalists I've heard do it, and that turned me off from his vocals somewhat. I think that someone like Chance Garnette formerly of Skeletonwitch did a far cleaner job at that style. Although Glen sounded super evil with the layering.

OverkillFanBoy1980
September 16th 2018


496 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Thank you tyman128, I'll put your *constructive* criticism to use



Deathconscious
September 16th 2018


27323 Comments


Mine was constructive, i just didnt end it with "but gud review" so youre gonna be too mad to use it. Stay bad i guess.

tyman128
Staff Reviewer
September 16th 2018


4441 Comments


Overkill, take Adolf’s criticism because he isn’t wrong (that sounds so weird out of the context of this website). Those are some legit issues found in the review that could be worked on.

OverkillFanBoy1980
September 16th 2018


496 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

@AdolphChrist I don't find it constructive as you came off sounding like you were scolding me and not actually trying to be helpful.

RippingCorpse1986
September 16th 2018


3229 Comments


''One of the best release in 2018 so far.''

Sodom - Partisan bruh. EP of the year, guys...


Haha regarding the review, I'm not gonna neg it but it needs some tailoring, mate. Don't type text faces in your review (._.), it can make the reader to think that your review automatically sucks. Also:

Overkill and Megadeth, with “The grinding Wheel,” and “Dystopia” respectfully.


The word you're looking for is ''respectively'', not ''respectfully''.

Needless to say, take note of all the recommendations and feedback left to you by the other users here.

Cheers mate, keep reviewing and improving.

OverkillFanBoy1980
September 16th 2018


496 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Oh my how did i not notice such an obvious typo

Thx for the help

RippingCorpse1986
September 16th 2018


3229 Comments


There's a proofreading thread on the forums site, although I don't know if there's a user who still uses it and answers the posts. You can also ask someone through the shoutbox on their profiles to proofread your review, I guess...

Don't ask me though (English isn't my native language haha).

OverkillFanBoy1980
September 16th 2018


496 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

what's the shoutbox?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy