Colour Revolt
Colour Revolt


5.0
classic

Review

by SowingSeason STAFF
September 15th, 2018 | 19 replies


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Better late than never, come get your leftover classic.

Every now and then, I stumble across a piece of music that makes me wonder what in the hell I possibly could have possibly been doing – at any given time juncture – that was so important that I missed out on such a vital release. In this case, the year was 2005. Maybe I was spinning American Idiot for the ceremonial five hundredth time?The fact that this brilliant EP was re-released in 2006 via Tiny Evil, while the band was touring with fucking Brand New, does little to excuse my vast ignorance. So here I am, thirteen years later, finally finding what should have been an essential complement to my Brand New-Thrice-mewithoutYou holy trinity collection. Colour Revolt is an EP I should have known all along – packing an entire career’s worth of emotion into six stunning tracks.

Colour Revolt’s debut blended raw, gritty post-hardcore with shimmering indie-rock – it’s basically everything that made Thrice so popular at the exact same time, but with even more emotion burgeoning from some Lacey-like existentialism. My favorite moment on this record is, hands down, when frontman Jesse Coppenbarger screams “all you ever talk about is letting us down…well l if you ever see me dying, just put me in the ground”, which is followed up by this perfectly placed, emotional guitar solo. It sounds even better than it reads on paper, so I’d recommend that anyone with even a passing interest in mid-2000’s emo/alt-rock give ‘Mattresses Underwater’ his or her undivided attention. It’s a classic.

Colour Revolt’s other five tracks nearly live up to that moment of bliss. Both the opener ‘Blood In Your Mouth’ and the penultimate ‘Change Your Face or Change Your Name’ could pass for Dustin Kensrue singing Conor Oberst songs (there’s a hefty harmonica presence; and if Salutations taught me anything, it’s that Oberst loves harmonicas now). ‘A New Family’ is the most laid back and atmospheric song, sounding a little bit like something Modest Mouse would curate if they focused really hard on not being so goddamn damn quirky for one moment. On ‘Our Homes Are Graves’, they sound like Spoon’s ‘Do You’ gone hardcore – although I could be attributing just a little too much to the doo-doo-doo’s that wash over the chorus. The closer ‘Circus’ is shrill paranoia, and I love it - Jesse screams front start to finish about stepping in fear, questioning God, and pondering whether or not we even have a say about what happens to us in this world. It’s like the more panicked and urgent sibling of ‘Jesus’ from The Devil and God Are Raging Inside Me.

This band’s debut is one that should be cherished. The band achieved very little of consequence with their subsequent full-length LP’s, and they swiftly faded from both relevance and memory only years after bursting onto the scene. That lends Colour Revolt full gem/indie-cred status; it’s this flash in the pan of brilliance that probably should have led to much more widespread success and longevity than it ultimately did. Hopefully you got to experience this EP during the band’s heyday. If not, don’t put it off any longer or let it slip through your fingers. It’s one of those few albums that is well worth looking more than a decade in the rearview mirror for.




Recent reviews by this author
Vessel Queen of Golden DogsMolly Burch First Flower
Madeline Kenney Perfect ShapesAphex Twin Collapse
Frog Whatever We Probably Already Had ItWilliam Ryan Key Virtue
user ratings (72)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
kalkal50 (3.5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
SowingSeason
Moderator
September 15th 2018


28704 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

You can find all these songs on YouTube so don't delay.

Digging: Madeline Kenney - Perfect Shapes

GmemberKills
September 15th 2018


3683 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice to see this get some love after all this time. I was blown away the first time I heard it. Tracks like 'Blood in Your Mouth' & 'Mattresses Underwater' are still are some of my favorite songs period.



Its wild how classic most of these tracks are and yet still mostly unknown. I can only blame it on their failed attempts to follow this up. I remember being so disappointed checking out their other material. None of it was really "bad" just somewhat forgettable compared to this.









SowingSeason
Moderator
September 15th 2018


28704 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I've been listening to this off and on for a few years but finally bucked down and listened front-to-end for the first time last month, and I haven't been able to stop jamming it since. Mattresses Underwater and Circus are my absolute favorites but there's not a bad, or even average, track present here. I agree that everything after this was underwhelming though. It's just hard to listen to this and not have anything more in this same vein/style...

FreddieDelaney31
September 16th 2018


4915 Comments


Well fuck me this absolutely lives up to the hype

Digging: ITEM - Sad Light

SowingSeason
Moderator
September 16th 2018


28704 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Hell yeah Freddie

Favorite song? I'm assuming Mattresses Underwater, because it's a god tier track

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
September 16th 2018


24205 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

always been into a couple of their songs but have never jammed their full albums. they slay tho

FreddieDelaney31
September 16th 2018


4915 Comments


@Sowing insane track but nah, Circus all the way

SowingSeason
Moderator
September 17th 2018


28704 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I can respect that. Circus is a hell of a track.

SowingSeason
Moderator
September 18th 2018


28704 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Damn...was really hoping more people would check this. Oh well.

North0House2
September 18th 2018


6027 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I remember first listening to this while studying for my finals in the 9th grade. Where have y'all been? It's wonderful and still hits a pretty regular play rate in my library most days. A New Family is my personal favorite on here, right next to Our Homes are Graves. I loved Plunder, Beg, and Curse as well. These guys really never got the attention they deserved and it makes me sad.

SowingSeason
Moderator
September 18th 2018


28704 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I agree with what Gmember said a few posts up - the reason they never got the attention they deserve is because they did not once replicate anything close to this level of quality. An absolute shame though because this is incredible.

BroFro
September 19th 2018


485 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

this definitely holds up, one of the best ep's ever.



placing this alongside Brand New-Thrice-mwY is definitely accurate, i would throw early As Cities Burn in there as well

Digging: Oso Oso - The Yunahon Mixtape

SowingSeason
Moderator
September 19th 2018


28704 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I guess that's another band I'll have to investigate then

FreddieDelaney31
September 19th 2018


4915 Comments


ACB definitely belong in that group yeah

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
November 13th 2018


24205 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

jammin in full now my friend

SowingSeason
Moderator
November 13th 2018


28704 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

awesome

what do you think?

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
November 13th 2018


24205 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Really love it. Forgot how catchy the middle stretch is

SowingSeason
Moderator
November 13th 2018


28704 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

reminds me a lot of that band verdant just reviewed

love this style of music in general

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
November 13th 2018


24205 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah I agreed with ya, this seems less pop punk but sameeishhh idea



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy