Noname
Room 25


4.5
superb

Review

by Sebastian USER (75 Reviews)
September 15th, 2018 | 50 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: "I pray my momma don't forget about me."

Room 25 is what hip-hop sorely needs from an artist right now; expansive and not afraid to try something different. Noname, ever the lyricist, sounds nothing like her compatriots, male or female alike. She opens the album rapping about her pussy teaching 9th grade English and ends the album having covered self-worth, religion, her legacy and the mark she hopes to leave behind. It’s done with an incredible smile and an even more incredible delivery; almost spoken-word eqsue, it ebbs and flows sporadically, very rarely letting up in how soothing it is, such as on the laid-back ‘Window’. The fast-paced lyrics are matched by an equally fast-paced instrumental combination that acts as almost a counter to her flow. It’s consistently off-time, and almost jazz-esque in its presentation. The live drums on a large chunk of the album add an incredible layer to each track, such as the fantastic ‘Blaxploitation’; ”I’m struggling to simmer down, maybe I’m an insomnia-black”; and harken back to jazz-inspired hip-hop albums of the past without sounding tacky. The guests she brings along are no slouches either. ‘Ace’, a severe standout, contains Saba’s best ever verse; it’s rapidfire, contemplating his last few years of success, and it’s kept together by a slow, methodical beat that lets the artists breathe and let rip. Elsewhere, solo-track ‘Don’t Forget About Me’ is easily Noname’s most emotional track; ”I know my body's fragile, know it's made from clay/But if I have to go, I pray my soul is still eternal””. Room 25 is near-perfect on all fronts, proving that Noname is not just the female voice for hip-hop, but the voice for hip-hop. She just hopes you can hear it too. And closer ‘no name’ perfectly ties it all together; ”Don’t let it pass you by.”

4.4/5

Recommended Tracks: Self, Blaxploitation, Don’t Forget About Me, Ace, no name



Recent reviews by this author
James Blake Assume FormThe Amity Affliction Misery
Foxing Nearer My GodDwellings Lavender Town
Death Cab for Cutie PlansThe Rubens LO LA RU
user ratings (169)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
related reviews

Telefone

Comments:Add a Comment 
Drubbi
September 15th 2018


295 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

This is easily one of the best hip-hop projects this year. Please go listen to it.

Arcade
Staff Reviewer
September 15th 2018


120 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

wish she'd flow a bit more instead of just.. talking.

Digging: James Blake - Assume Form

Drubbi
September 15th 2018


295 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I definitely noticed that with this album, I dug it a ton though. Can see why others wouldn't so much.

neekafat
September 15th 2018


13939 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

She did the same thing on her mixtape, thought he style was much more pronounced here

also, chicago repreSENT

MagicMike1
September 15th 2018


3 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This is amazing. Less funky female Kendrick, she has great flow and doesnt rap about her genetalia like other female rappers

luci
September 15th 2018


10559 Comments


^ "My pussy teaching ninth-grade English / My pussy wrote a thesis on colonialism"

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
September 15th 2018


16596 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ragging (ha) on women rappers for rapping about “genitalia” is dumb in itself IMO but it also definitely indicates that you’re not seeking out very many women rappers



Also what lucid “said” lol

Drubbi
September 15th 2018


295 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Yeah wtf it’s even one of the first lines in my review.

FreddieDelaney31
September 15th 2018


5181 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah that's dumb lol

Anyways this is easily rap AOTY for me

Digging: Hodera - First Things First

neekafat
September 15th 2018


13939 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I mean she didnt talk about her pussy much on Telefone but also she hadnt had sex yet

rabidfish
September 16th 2018


4616 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

she raps like the kid she's babysitting is sleeping in the other room lol

Digging: Aunt Mary - ...A Lot More Than Just an Ordinary Ping Pong Ball

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
September 17th 2018


16596 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The first song on this is so good

wwf
September 17th 2018


6198 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

oo she released an album? exciting

wwf
September 17th 2018


6198 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

god this shit is fire the whole way through

plane
Staff Reviewer
September 17th 2018


7449 Comments


Fucking love this

johnnyblaze
September 17th 2018


3170 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

ya this rules. lots of variety. i also get kendrick vibes at times.

kmagnum1x
September 18th 2018


418 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

oh this is tasty

THVRTVVN
September 18th 2018


459 Comments


this is unnecessarily boring

kmagnum1x
September 18th 2018


418 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

sorry about your music taste

TheGooseTavern
September 18th 2018


95 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This is like to pimp a butterfly part 2, but female stylings (Sputnik on that jazzy hip-hop train HARD lol). I only enjoyed the last track and ace, not a fan of her flow or the subject material, but the beats are pretty sweet. Nice review too!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy