Shannen Moser
I'll Sing


4.6
superb

Review

by Atari STAFF
September 8th, 2018 | 44 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Let love through the darkness

Throughout I’ll Sing, Shannen Moser reveals a strong understanding of relationships – not only the influence they have on us but also the inner turmoil they create. “Haircut Song” is a deeply poignant, often haunting portrayal of the power this human connection has over us. Recalling a relationship, she presents us with a different kind of love song: You said I’m doomed to love you, and that’s the truth/It’s a sort of ***ed up way to say it, but I loved you too. As the song progresses, she lays bare her desperation when things go sour: A Broken heart will convince itself of many things/I will silence my own beating heart, that’s the sh*t you don’t want to hear/I would sell myself out for a lifetime of "I love you, love you, my dear". The song is beautiful, sarcastic and heartbreaking all at once. It hits all the right receptors in the brain, leaving you wanting more; this is ok, because the rest of I’ll Sing delivers the goods.

Although Moser’s lyrics are her greatest asset - giving I’ll Sing an extra bite through witty storytelling - there’s no denying her skill as a musician. Effortlessly blending folk, blues and country, there’s a good deal of variety throughout her songwriting. Sometimes, we get nothing but the dialed-down plucking of a guitar, but “Hallelujah” busts out the banjos and enters borderline ho-down mode as it progresses. Whichever method she employs, all the songs are given an extra jolt of life by her soaring vocals and relatable themes of love and friendship. “One For Mama” is a real tear-jerker, with bluesy guitars and strings making way for the croon of Momma, I’m never too old for your love. And as she closes with the Americana-tinged title-track, she makes it apparent she plans on making the best of life – pressing on and “singing” even in its most vicious moments. It’s one hell of a way to conclude such a powerful album; the slower pace allows her voice to really capture the moment in perhaps her most alluring performance here. If any of the tracks could be called soulful, this is it. It’s only one piece of the gorgeous puzzle, though. In its entirety, I’ll Sing is overwhelmingly affective – one of those albums that connects with you on a personal level. There are other notable songwriters this year, but few of them, if any, have as much to say as Shannen Moser does on her gripping sophomore effort.



Recent reviews by this author
Elise Davis CactusSpanish Love Songs Schmaltz
Natalie Hemby PuxicoWinterfylleth The Hallowing of Heirdom
Runaway Brother New PocketAlela Diane Cusp
user ratings (18)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Atari
Staff Reviewer
September 8th 2018


23745 Comments

Album Rating: 4.6 | Sound Off

https://shannenmoser.bandcamp.com



album makes me feel things and stuff

Digging: Elise Davis - Cactus

Gyromania
September 8th 2018


25798 Comments


Oh rly?

Atari
Staff Reviewer
September 8th 2018


23745 Comments

Album Rating: 4.6 | Sound Off

How often do I steer you wrong, Gyro? ;)

neekafat
September 9th 2018


12159 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Haircut Song is so good ow my heart

neekafat
September 9th 2018


12159 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Almost a guaranteed 4.5 on first listen

BlushfulHippocrene
Contributing Reviewer
September 9th 2018


2526 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Listened to her last album(?) and oh my, what a good find, Atari. Great review, listening now.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
September 9th 2018


11224 Comments


This is lovely, thanks for the review.

Digging: Ice Sword - Dragon Magic

Atari
Staff Reviewer
September 9th 2018


23745 Comments

Album Rating: 4.6 | Sound Off

Hell yeah! Cheers, glad y’all seem to like this so far.



Also, her voice definitely reminds me of someone but I’m not sure exactly who and it’s been driving me crazy lol

BlushfulHippocrene
Contributing Reviewer
September 9th 2018


2526 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Reminds me a lot of Frances Quinlan, mixed with like... Kississippi and someone else.

Thrust!
September 9th 2018


5009 Comments


Nice review. I'm going to have to check this out soon. Thanks for the rec Neekz

Digging: Devin Townsend Project - Deconstruction

neekafat
September 9th 2018


12159 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hell yeah dude (;

Lucid
September 9th 2018


9997 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

seconding the quinlan comparison. nice find!

Atari
Staff Reviewer
September 9th 2018


23745 Comments

Album Rating: 4.6 | Sound Off

Hop Along is a great comparison but idk there’s someone else she reminds me of as well and I just can’t quite pinpoint it



She’s unique enough in her own way though!

neekafat
September 9th 2018


12159 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Still gotta check Hop Along

BlushfulHippocrene
Contributing Reviewer
September 9th 2018


2526 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Listening again, I get a little Joanna Newsom.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
September 9th 2018


23745 Comments

Album Rating: 4.6 | Sound Off

sometimes I think her inflection actually reminds me of Sara McLachlan or Alanis Morissette haha



but I love just about everything here: her voice, the lyrics and the arrangements :]

neekafat
September 9th 2018


12159 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I was gonna say this was like Alanis Morisette meets the Dixie Chicks sometimes lol, especially on "Haircut Song"

Thrust!
September 9th 2018


5009 Comments


Haircut Song is so good

BlushfulHippocrene
Contributing Reviewer
September 9th 2018


2526 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ooo, those are all good comparisons. Yeah, though: regardless, this is impressive. It's worth checking what she has up on bandcamp, too; all of it is super short, and almost as sweet as this. You get the sense that her song-writing abilities were honed a long while ago, but that she's only now received the (somewhat limited) attention that's allowed her the time and means to create something this well-fleshed out. She's a talent, man.

Seriously, nice find Atari.

ramon.
Contributing Reviewer
September 10th 2018


2491 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this was cute!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy