Tash Sultana
Flow State


4.5
superb

Review

by Josh F. USER (10 Reviews)
September 4th, 2018 | 44 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: To plant a seed...

An emerging glow from the sun brought rise from the soil a warm, gentle and sweeping guitar melody, a seed. The seed’s growth escalated and with it a soulful vocal embrace which is sure to dazzle and tantalize the ears of those who follow its invitation. As Flow State breezes by, it bleeds in shades of velvety, rich and engrossing melodies that envelop from its loamy soil. A soil enriched with mesmerizing instrumentals which come from a variety of outlets that illicit a pellucid sense of direction while showcasing a level of ascendancy beyond what one would expect of someone at the mere age of 23. Tash Sultana has sprouted from a seed and grown with the wisdom of an oak tree in the short 2 years since her Notions EP.

Brazenly emerging over the horizon comes a blend of sounds ranging from psychedelia infused indie, reggae, soul and pop. Tash single-handedly embellishes her abilities into each new texture or soundscape presented on the album, providing a lush garden with a plethora of blooming arrangements. The arrangements change not only in the form of melodies but also in the form of instrumental selections from which Tash plucks from including guitar, piano, trumpet, drums, pan flute, mandolin, saxophone, synth and harp. However, the clear mastery of guitar is the shining element which sprouts throughout the album’s entirety. Tash’s aptitude for the guitar comes from a lifetime, having played since the age of three when her grandfather first gave her a guitar.

The Melbourne raised Aussie blossoms with not only a mastery of instrumentals, but an uncanny vocal ability which washes over like a soft drizzle atop the lush production, for which she is also given full credit for. The vocals having such power and range is also surprising due to the fact this album release was much delayed due to health issues, one of which was laryngitis. One would never guess the struggle that went into this album’s creation as it flawlessly interpolates multiple soundscapes and vocals here change style and pitch with ease.

Beyond the melodic adroitness, Flow State provides an expansive bouquet of surprises along its hour long ride. The blaring guitar solos (Big Smoke), the lightspeed riffage (Cigarettes), the opulent harp playing with moody piano trills (Seven), the groovy bass rhythms (Free Mind) and the blistering mandolin strumming (Blackbird) all provide examples of how wildly vast Tash’s abilities range from.

So as the sun sets and the day comes to an end, as does Flow State. Many who choose to open the shades and let in it’s warm and expansive rays of brilliance are sure to be impressed. Waiting for the sun to rise again with it more of the splendid doses of eclectic musicianship and vocal prowess that beckons from the efforts of Tash Sultana.



Recent reviews by this author
Jangling Sparrows 140 NickelsStaring Into Nothing Power
Henry Metal War In HeavenOddnote Oddnote
Delta-s CovenNightfear Cryptasm
user ratings (20)
Chart.
3.3
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
ZombieToyDuck
September 4th 2018


7074 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

so yeah this definitely deserved a review, feedback much appreciated as always!

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
September 4th 2018


14748 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Amazing review man, absolutely loved the imagery you used here!

This sounds incredible too, just did a little skipping around and it sounds so beautifully all over the place that I'm going to have to check it. Hope this gets a feature!

ZombieToyDuck
September 4th 2018


7074 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thank you good sir, I really appreciate that!

It's definitely worth your time bud, I think you'd appreciate it.

Papa Universe
September 4th 2018


20136 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

so it's an indie reggae soul that goes on for an hour and relies on melodies. I suppose I'll jam a song or two. POSh sultana





also, "that washes over likes a soft..." *like

Digging: Pedigree - New Freak

ZombieToyDuck
September 4th 2018


7074 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

nice catch Papa will fix!



I'd recommend Seven and Blackbird to you Papa

ksoflas
September 4th 2018


1266 Comments


Excellent review such us the album. Pos'd.

ZombieToyDuck
September 4th 2018


7074 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thanks man!

Papa Universe
September 4th 2018


20136 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

oh, I tried those two songs and I don't think I'll be returning. sorry

ZombieToyDuck
September 4th 2018


7074 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It was a 50/50 with you Papa I'm not too surprised tbh

DinosaurJones
September 4th 2018


10036 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I absolutely adored Notions, so I'll be checking this for sure.

DinosaurJones
September 4th 2018


10036 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yes, I love this as well. I would have been disappointed if I didn't.

SteakByrnes
September 5th 2018


14479 Comments


Nice review man :]

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
September 5th 2018


2809 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Nice review man. The frame (which: pretty, btw) could've woven itself a bit more consistently through the piece, but well-written nonetheless. Did you like Notion? Very sceptical about this -- not my thing, but willing to give it a go.

Digging: Angel Du$t - Pretty Buff

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
September 5th 2018


15112 Comments


Nice to see you jumped on this one Josh, great write up.

Digging: Deafkids - Metaprogramao

ZombieToyDuck
September 5th 2018


7074 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks Dino glad you dug it!



Thanks Steak!



Thanks Dewinged!



And Blush I appreciate the feedback! I'd admittedly probably work on this draft a bit more but was anxious to get this out there. I'd say most definitely check it though it's definitely lives up to it and this LP is marvelous journey.

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
September 5th 2018


14748 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Papa try Pink Moon and Cigarettes

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
September 5th 2018


14748 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Blush Pink Moon would make you swoon

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
September 5th 2018


14748 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is like Lorde meets Julien Baker meets Tame Impala with guitar solos

ZombieToyDuck
September 5th 2018


7074 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I take it you're diggin' this neeka? haha

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
September 5th 2018


14748 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is def pushin' into 4.5 territory right now



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy