DJ Krush
Cosmic Yard


4.0
excellent

Review

by Trifolium USER (24 Reviews)
September 3rd, 2018 | 37 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A successful return to form for Japanese instrumental hip hop producer DJ Krush

After his 2017 trip into the land of rap, Japanese beat maestro DJ Krush returns to his more well-known style of beat and sample heavy instrumental hip hop with his latest effort, Cosmic Yard. A welcome return to form, since the album is one of his best and consistent in fifteen years.

For most fans of instrumental hip hop, DJ Krush’s history is no unknown tale. The Tokyo based musician joined the jakuza, before dropping out after receiving an envelope containing the severed finger of a friend. He decided to leave the underworld and express himself through his music. His debut Krush (1994) and, later that year, the excellent follow up Strictly Turntablized (1994) both feature a blend of hip hop with jazz and original Japanese influences and expertly crafted beats. These albums mark the beginning of a prolific decade for Krush, releasing an album every other year between 1994 and 2004. However, after 2004’s Jaku his Krush moniker disappeared from view for 11 years, surfacing again with 2015’s somewhat disappointing Butterfly Effect.

Cosmic Yard features less rapping and a heavier focus on hip hop than his last two records. Tracks are spacious, with a brooding and dark atmosphere and sharp and beautifully produced beats. In the interludes Krush most strongly sounds like his earliest work. In the other tracks, flutes, strings, processed vocals and Japanese instruments spice up the spare compositions. An example would be Divine Protection with the acoustic guitar playing of Yukihiro Atsumi, or the lazy saxophone and double bass of Emission Nebula.

A notable collaboration on this album would be the inclusion of trumpet player and composer Toshinori Kondo, with whom DJ Krush released Ki-Oku (1996) to critical acclaim. He features on both Law Of Harmony and album closer Sporadic Meteor, creating the illusion you’re floating through the cosmos and are utterly alone, but at peace.

With Cosmic Yard, DJ Krush has further cemented his position as an icon of instrumental hip hop. He has delivered an album to get lost in almost 25 years into his career. The anxiety can sometimes be overburdening, but the contrast with all those samples and acoustic instruments ultimately make for a rewarding listen.



Recent reviews by this author
Nneka Love SupremeGoncalo Almeida and Dirk Serries Live at OZO LAND
Clara Malaterre Points CardinauxMeat Beat Manifesto 99%
Joana Serrat Hardcore from the HeartMonolake Hong Kong
user ratings (6)
3.8
excellent


Comments:Add a Comment 
Trifolium
September 3rd 2018


32364 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This guy is slept upon here, even though hip hop has been popular for a time now. Check him out, cool stuff!

MotokoKusanagi
September 4th 2018


4290 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

glad to see Ki-Oku in the recommended section, easily my favorite Krush project



spinning this now

Trifolium
September 4th 2018


32364 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, agreed. It's so cool. I think I prefer Kakusei a little bit, but it's certainly up there.

Trifolium
September 6th 2018


32364 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

What do you think of this Motoko? Interested to see what others feel about his recent output.

He's one of my faves for sure. Delicious beats.

Trifolium
September 25th 2018


32364 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

La Luna Rouge is so delicious! Like most of Krush's work, this thing's a blast.

Trifolium
November 15th 2018


32364 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I would like to bump all KRUSH because the guy deserves it.



But there are no reviews :-(



So I'll bump my own!

Demon of the Fall
November 15th 2018


24931 Comments


I'll check this just for you Trifo, it sounds interesting. Never heard any of this guy's stuff before.

Digging: Nujabes - Luv(sic) Hexalogy

Trifolium
November 15th 2018


32364 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Aaaaaaye! Demon! You make me so happy!

Let me know what you think man!

Probably try his first two (Krush and Strictly Turntablized) first, they're really trip-hoppy too in a sense.

Demon of the Fall
November 15th 2018


24931 Comments


Trip-hoppy? SOLD. No problem. Nice review by the way.

Trifolium
November 15th 2018


32364 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Haha, I had a feeling that might work!

Thanks!

Trifolium
January 8th 2019


32364 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Bump time for Krush.

Bump.

Hawks
January 8th 2019


75358 Comments


Cosmenc Yard

Trifolium
January 8th 2019


32364 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hahaha, should have known this would happen!

Hawks
January 8th 2019


75358 Comments


;]]]]]]]]]]]

Trifolium
February 14th 2019


32364 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This dude has been growing into one of my fave musicians ever.

Trifolium
February 21st 2019


32364 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'll bump this all day every day. The guy's a genious. All his recs are great.

I'll do it alone if need be.

Just so you know!

MotokoKusanagi
February 21st 2019


4290 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

didn't realize i never rated this. i don't listen too often but i'm with you my d00d, his discog is remarkably consistent

also 'Divine Protection' is the fkin jam

Saros
February 21st 2019


409 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm pretty hit or miss with Krush. There's some stuff of his I like, some not so much. I found this one enjoyable.

Trifolium
February 21st 2019


32364 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeeah Motoko!

And Saros, what's your fave?

Saros
February 21st 2019


409 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

If I had to pick I'd probably say Meiso. His collab album with Toshinori Kondo is also pretty good. That actually got me to check this since I saw he was also featured here, so I figured it'd be worth a shot.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy