Jesus Piece
Only Self


4.0
excellent

Review

by Kenneth Timper USER (13 Reviews)
August 31st, 2018 | 49 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Only Self is a brooding and engaging experience and an emphatic slam dunk for Philadelphia hardcore.

Listeners would be hard pressed to find a band as tough as Jesus Piece. Throughout the course of their short career, they have refined their vicious approach to beatdown hardcore to a violent extreme. While the band briefly flirts with experimentation on their new record, it contains more than enough firepower suitable for mosh pits across the continent. Only Self is a brooding and ferocious revelation of the band’s vision and a standout effort in a saturated genre.

Devastating rhythms and burly basslines dominate the record’s brief run-time. The album opens with “Lucid” and “Workhorse,” both of which are no-nonsense ragers that aim for the throat. Lead single “Curse of the Serpent” is a punchy, groovy exercise in unrestraint. “Dog No Longer” courses with sinister death metal-inspired riffs alongside violent chants of “Lay waste to your pasture/feed on your despair!” Only Self is riddled with gritty mid-tempo masterpieces that would make even the mildest hardcore fan mosh in their living room.

Moments of experimentation are sparse, occurring mostly in the form of subtle effects and mangled transitions. Strange and noisy samples like the ones found at the beginning of “Adamant” and the transition between “Punish” and “Curse of the Serpent” help keep the album suspenseful. Centerpiece “In the Silence” is a bass-driven brooder that creeps with slow, twangy guitars only to ambush its victim later.

The album closes with sister tracks “I” and “II,” which are undeniably the band’s most experimental works yet and simultaneously the weakest point of Only Self. Both songs succeed in creating a somber and melancholic atmosphere; subtly layering haunting chants and distant vocalizing with strings and the occasional piano. Taken out of context, they would function beautifully as interludes on a different project, but on Only Self, they feel out of place and offer an unsatisfying and anti-climactic finish to one of the most intimidating albums of the year.

On their Southern Lord debut, Jesus Piece has crafted an album that is both gritty and mature. Only Self is jam-packed with menacing and memorable moments that showcase the band’s growth. It offers just enough experimentation to keep things fresh and dynamic without compromising any of the heaviness their former releases possessed. Only Self is a brooding and engrossing experience and an emphatic slam dunk for Philadelphia hardcore.



Recent reviews by this author
Invoke (NC) No Law BeyondVein Errorzone
MouthBreather (MA) DollmeatLeft Behind Blessed by the Burn
All Pigs Must Die Hostage AnimalEmployed to Serve The Warmth Of A Dying Sun
user ratings (109)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Ninjahague
August 30th 2018


1058 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Love to see these guys gettin' some love, good review my main man

ktjammin
August 30th 2018


176 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Glad you dig it, been jamming this a lot lately. They killed when I saw them with Knocked Loose and Terror.

Digging: Bring Me The Horizon - Amo

SteakByrnes
August 31st 2018


14339 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Dude nice review, this album fucking owns

Digging: Ithaca - The Language of Injury

KenboSlice
August 31st 2018


2848 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album slaps.

dbizzles
August 31st 2018


12854 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fuck yeah

Digging: Archgoat - Whore of Bethlehem

suppatime
August 31st 2018


1350 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

curse of the serpent is the only decent (and rhythmically interesting) song on here and the last two songs are so pointless

suppatime
August 31st 2018


1350 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

hell yeah baby

ktjammin
August 31st 2018


176 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Curse of the Serpent is the best yeah, but the whole album is nasty. I thought the placement of the last two songs was really weird

frozencarl
August 31st 2018


566 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

i feel like i listened to a different album than yall cuz this shit was boring

Digging: Deserted Fear - Drowned by Humanity

botb
August 31st 2018


12486 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This kind of sounds exactly like the acacia strain- continent but it’s still fun

dbizzles
August 31st 2018


12854 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is fun as fuck. Don't take it so seriously and just fucking groove to it when you need something rowdy. It hits the spot.

suppatime
August 31st 2018


1350 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

idk i can get down to some ignorant shit but this does nothing for me. there's a lot of other heavy shit that's come out this year like invoke and sanction and shit that's just more fun imo.

dbizzles
August 31st 2018


12854 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'll have to check them out, but I really did enjoy this a lot. Brings those 90's mxc vibes that I don't see done very well very often.

ktjammin
August 31st 2018


176 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Jesus Piece are so fun live too. I enjoyed that Sanction EP quite a bit, but I’d give this the edge over that. Haven’t listened to Invoke yet

suppatime
August 31st 2018


1350 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

they do seem really fun live. idk i just wish they'd riff more and mix it up a bit. they def have potential.



and yeah idk if they're in the database, might have to add them but they're pretty sick.



https://invokehc.bandcamp.com/album/no-law-beyond

bigguytoo9
August 31st 2018


547 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Not really a fan of this one tbh. I dont mind this group though.

zaruyache
September 2nd 2018


20387 Comments


I AM ANGRY I YELL LOUD GROOORROROORROOOROROOOR ~ this album



Digging: Forest - Like a Blaze Above the Ashes

Hawks
September 2nd 2018


67796 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Saw something about this band on Facebook the other day. Will check this hard.

Digging: Wicca Phase Springs Eternal - Suffer On

FearThyEvil
September 2nd 2018


16749 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's pretty cool to know they're from Philly.

zaruyache
September 2nd 2018


20387 Comments


philly more like phhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhftilly



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy