Judas Iscariot
An Ancient Starry Sky


4.5
superb

Review

by Hawks USER (117 Reviews)
August 30th, 2018 | 35 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Oh Satan I love thee....

Let me just start off by saying this, Judas Iscariot has never gotten the love that he (one man band) deserves. Lone member Akhenaten formed the band in 1992 making Judas Iscariot one of the earliest and pioneering bands in the USBM scene along with bands like Leviathan and Xasthur and some others. That being said, he has never gotten the acclaim of a band like Leviathan and has always flown under the radar. Of course, the band hasn’t put out any new music in over a decade, until now.

Technically this isn’t really a new album. An Ancient Starry Sky was originally recorded in 1998 but was shelved for reasons that I’m honestly not quite sure of. Whatever the case may be, it’s here now and let me warn you now this album is not for the faint of heart. Judas Iscariot is a raw black metal band. Their production will hurt your ears. Those are facts. But if you’re a seasoned black metal fan this album is everything you could hope for. The buzzsaw riffs are hypnotic, melodic and trance inducing. They weave in an out in between the fuzzy yet perfect production. The drumming is relentless 98% of the time with ice cold blasts from the depths of hell as if Satan himself was behind the kit.

Akhenaten has released several albums under the Judas Iscariot moniker but this album is starting to stand above the others. I don’t know if it’s the appeal of it being unearthed after 20 years or if it’s just the fact that this is the most relentlessly evil that he’s ever sounded. Maybe it’s a combination of both. Either way, An Ancient Starry Sky is a top tier black metal album of 2018 because it epitomizes everything that this genre should be about. If that doesn’t make you want to grab a beer and jam out then I don’t know what will.



Recent reviews by this author
Akasha Canticles of the Sepulchral DeitySerpent Of Gnosis As I Drink from the Infinite Well of Inebriation
Cradle of Filth ThornographyJanusz Jurga Hypnowald
AngelMaker AngelMakerMisthyrming Algleymi
user ratings (14)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hawks
August 30th 2018


73056 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think the shorter reviews work well for me. Everyone needs to check this hard. m/



Also just realized I have the only other Judas Iscariot review on the site too lol.

Digging: Dead Can Dance - The Serpent's Egg

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
August 30th 2018


25741 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Nice. I love this album. I think it stands with his best.



I'm always floored by the lack of recognition Judas Iscariot gets, they're one of if not the most important band in USBM history.

Digging: Unholy Vampyric Slaughter Sect - Order of the Rose Cross

Hawks
August 30th 2018


73056 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Seriously bro I love this band. He’s never put out a bad album.

necropig
August 30th 2018


5620 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Nice hawks m/

Digging: Purification - Destruction Of The Wicked

Hawks
August 30th 2018


73056 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks brotha!

Papa Universe
August 30th 2018


22361 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

not doin it for me

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
August 30th 2018


25741 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

j e e z

Hawks
August 30th 2018


73056 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Damn.....

necropig
August 30th 2018


5620 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

You may like my dig hawkyboy

Hawks
August 30th 2018


73056 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Will czech bro.

necropig
August 30th 2018


5620 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Coo



https://ascensionmonumentsmedia.bandcamp.com/?filter_band=581212693



Lots of Judas stuff going atm

Hawks
August 30th 2018


73056 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Gonna jam that now. m/

necropig
August 30th 2018


5620 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

It deaths m/



Is the 2% of non relentless drumming when he balls up the blasts :3

Hawks
August 30th 2018


73056 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hahahahaha of course. ;]

necropig
August 30th 2018


5620 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Knew it :] I've corpses playing atm while cooking some chicken. Kvlt

Hawks
August 30th 2018


73056 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

That one rules hard too. m/

Hawks
August 30th 2018


73056 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Necro your dig slays hard confirmed. m/

necropig
August 30th 2018


5620 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Yes lad. I've to credit that to RYM, I find music a lot easier through them but the rates go fucking nuts at times

Hawks
August 30th 2018


73056 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I haven’t been on RYM in years, I never really dug it but some of the lists on there were fucking mint.

necropig
August 30th 2018


5620 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I don't read lists there, only go through the top and esoteric charts of each year every so often in case I've missed something that sput hasn't brought to my attention



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy