The Amity Affliction
Misery


1.5
very poor

Review

by Sebastian USER (76 Reviews)
August 28th, 2018 | 253 replies


Release Date: 08/24/2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Experimentation in the form of conformity.

The Amity Affliction once had that something a lot of Australian ‘scene’ bands lacked. And it’s a shame it never stuck, because they were once the equally fantastic alternative to Parkway Drive. But just as their counterparts have, they’ve forgone what little originality they possessed and progressed through regression. Parkway Drive tried, and failed, to do what bands like Bring Me The Horizon have (surprisingly) successfully done; provide a sound that was far more accessible, despite already breaking the boundaries of their genre. It’s only natural, then, that The Amity Affliction try the same approach. Their sound had grown stale, culminating in the awful This Could Be Heartbreak. Thus, Misery is new ground for the band, but far from progression in terms of sound. Dull, watered-down, and lacking anything different that a band like BMTH doesn’t already possess, Misery is experimentation in the form of conformity.

Though Misery rarely shines, the much-improved vocals of Ahren Stringer certainly tries their hardest to sell the listener on the album. The previous outing for Amity contained some awful auto-tuned vocal melodies, but here they sound far more varied and natural. Though he’s never been one of the genre’s best, songs like ‘Holier Than Heaven’ prove he still has what it takes after a period of mediocrity. It’s a shame, then, that it’s wasted on terrible one-liners and lacklustre choruses. On follow-up track ‘Burn Alive’, easily one of the worst tracks on the album, we’re greeted with the opener I’ll burn alive for you/Burn alive, it’s true, followed by Joel Birch’s coarse vocal delivery that sounds incredibly forced; Let’s start a fire, I’m terrified, I’m terrified.

The vocals, however, are but a minor trash fire in an already-raging full-scale blaze. Just like their contemporaries, Amity look to incorporate new sounds by rehashing what many have done before them. Keys and synths are aplenty throughout Misery and not once do they feel natural or meaningful. They typically act as a replacement for any noticeable contribution from the other instrumentals, even acting as the hook for the chorus in ‘Feels Like I’m Dying’. It’s tacky, and combined with the empty instrumentals, it results in a genuinely painful listening experience. Percussion sounds like paper, guitars are weirdly low in a mix that is already quiet, and bass? Hardly know her. Tracks very rarely deviate from the most basic of song structures, with tracks like ‘Kick Roots’, ‘Set Me Free’, and ‘The Gifthorse’ all opening slow and ‘meaningful’ but never actually achieving anything. Stringer’s vocals lack the capabilities in both range and tone to be given such a forefronted placement in the mix, and the instrumentals suffer, even if the performance is already lacking to begin with.

And so, perhaps this is the end of The Amity Affliction. In a world of Northlane and Polaris, bands who have continually pushed their sound instead of pandering, Amity have continually refused to move past old habits. And although past habits are somewhat erased with Misery, it’s in no way an erosion anyone wanted. It’s Amity struggling to find their feet in a scene that has long lost the ability to give them the light of day. It’s a shame, but they did it to themselves. We don’t want another BMTH. We just want the old Amity back.



Recent reviews by this author
Bring Me the Horizon AmoJames Blake Assume Form
Noname Room 25Foxing Nearer My God
Dwellings Lavender TownDeath Cab for Cutie Plans
user ratings (108)
2.6
average

Comments:Add a Comment 
Drubbi
August 28th 2018


298 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Maybe finally Amity can stop complaining about not getting ARIA awards for best metal act since they don't fit the mold anymore.

Danred97
August 28th 2018


2472 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm not sure how I feel about this album yet. Some good standouts, but there are definite low points. Still, a 1.5 seems harsh, but I can see how someone could hate this album, maybe I just have a high tolerance for this style.

TooManyFriends
August 28th 2018


3189 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

had the unfortunate experience of seeing this band live last month. they were truly terrible and somehow, their music is even worse

BallsToTheWall
August 28th 2018


49868 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is 2.8!to me. Other than one song and the lyrics I enjoy this.

Digging: Guild Of Lore - Autumn Macabre

SteakByrnes
August 28th 2018


16231 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yea I liked this a lot tbh

Drubbi
August 28th 2018


298 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I swear there isn't a single scene album you don't like Steak.

KenboSlice
August 28th 2018


3306 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

This album is bad.

JayEnder
August 28th 2018


6011 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Seriously? A 1.5? This sure doesn’t read like it. Album is way better than This Could Be Heartbreak and you gave that a 2.

JayEnder
August 28th 2018


6011 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

“This album is bad” astounding point. Thanks for sharing.

SteakByrnes
August 28th 2018


16231 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"I swear there isn't a single scene album you don't like Steak."



If that isn't the most ignorant statement

JayEnder
August 28th 2018


6011 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ignorant comment from an ignorant reviewer how fitting.

Lucman
August 28th 2018


3595 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

Nice review, Right score too. This is among the very worst of the year for me.

Digging: Brian Fallon - Painkillers

Danred97
August 28th 2018


2472 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The review is well written, I just don't agree that this album is that bad, or bad at all imo. It's a huge step up from TCBH, and the back half of this album is solid as hell.

JayEnder
August 28th 2018


6011 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Drag the Lake and Set Me Free alone make this unworthy of all these 1’s. Tragic.

KenboSlice
August 28th 2018


3306 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Burn Alive is legit one of the worst songs I've ever heard

Lucman
August 28th 2018


3595 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

This is the first AA record I've heard in its entirety so I can't say they're a bad group but this is indescribable. The opening was bland as hell but tolerable and it went downhill from there. When D.I.E. came on I couldn't help but burst into a fit of laughter. I'm sorry guys, but this rivals FFDP for worst heavy album of the year. In fact, Mania has new competition as well.

Danred97
August 28th 2018


2472 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Dude, Set Me Free is easily my favorite song on the album. Drag The Lake is also great. Really, the only songs that I'm not feeling so far are: Burn Alive, which I just hate, and Kick Rocks and Gifthouse, which are just kinda meh. The rest is great.

JayEnder
August 28th 2018


6011 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oh HELL no, this is not worse than new Fall Out Boy! Come on dude.

SteakByrnes
August 28th 2018


16231 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't get the rabid hatred for this at all. They finally did something different, and they pulled it off well

JayEnder
August 28th 2018


6011 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Luc, I recommend listening to Chasing Ghosts and Youngbloods, two much better records than this one. (As much as I liked this album)



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy