Goatmoon
Finnish Steel Storm


4.5
superb

Review

by Hawks USER (105 Reviews)
August 27th, 2018 | 42 replies


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Finnish black metal for the fucking win

First off shame on all of you for not reviewing this yet. Kidding friends. But seriously, Goatmoon is a one man black metal band from the deep and dark forests of Finland. Yes, the name of the band may be cheesy but the music is anything but that. BlackGoat Gravedesecrator (yes, that is the lone member’s name) plays an intense and very raw form of black metal mixed with some traditional folk. The reason why this album is so highly regarded to me is because the way he blends both genres seamlessly and beautifully while still keeping a “kvlt” sound at it’s core. Imagine mixing an album like Sargeist’s Satanic Black Devotion for it’s beautiful yet raw, hypnotic and melodic riffs with something like Ulver’s Bergtatt for it’s beautiful folk sections and that’s a good example of what you can expect from this. The vocals are pretty standard for black metal but are executed at a very high level which further adds to the appeal of Finnish Steel Storm. Production is raw, and maybe a bit rough for the amateur black metal listener but it fits perfectly with the music and is another plus.

I personally know raw black metal is a hard thing to get into, but Goatmoon are one of the best to do it. Finnish Steel Storm is a near classic in my opinion because it invokes every feeling that I feel black metal should. Intensity, beauty and a fantastic atmospheric, cold riff fest while adding folk elements about as well as you can do in the genre. Satan recommends it, I recommend it, so get on the Goatmoon bandwagon and embrace the evil. m/



Recent reviews by this author
Grouper Cover the Windows and the WallsNokturnal Funeral Creatures of the Night
Warmoon Lord Burning Banners of the Funereal WarQuercus Verferum
Pumpkin Witch Hovel of the Pumpkin WitchUada Cult of a Dying Sun
user ratings (21)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hawks
August 26th 2018


67496 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hawks review boiiiiii. It’s short but I’ve been wanting to do this for a while so fuck it. m/

Digging: Macabre Omen - Gods Of War - At War

Hawks
August 27th 2018


67496 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great thread guys.

FearThyEvil
August 27th 2018


16742 Comments


Lol doesn't seem like this band is too popular.

Hawks
August 27th 2018


67496 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Not at all but really should be.

FearThyEvil
August 27th 2018


16742 Comments


The last sentence is pretty funny. I'll probably download this tonight. I have such a huge backlog of bm albums now. Even if I never get to em all, at least what I've been listening to has been mad worth it.

Hawks
August 27th 2018


67496 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You’ll get to em all eventually, just might take years lol.

FearThyEvil
August 27th 2018


16742 Comments


True that, man. I also got a bunch of dm to get onto as well.

Hawks
August 27th 2018


67496 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Too much music and not enough time lol.

Marehelm
August 27th 2018


787 Comments


nice

Hawks
August 27th 2018


67496 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks brooooo!

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
August 27th 2018


11660 Comments


“BlackGoat Gravedesecrator”

Fuck me, I like cheesy stuff but this moniker might take the goddam cheesecake lol.

Will jam cuz you’ve never led me astray Hawks.

Digging: Windswept - The Onlooker

TheNotrap
August 27th 2018


9595 Comments


It's always cool to read a Hawks review.

Digging: Rotting Christ - The Heretics

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
August 27th 2018


24741 Comments


Hard POS. I'm not sure why I never checked this band out. They have reviews from Rasputin and now you, so I think I missing out. Will check.

Digging: wellspring - iris's room

SCREAM!
August 27th 2018


15755 Comments


Don't lie hawks you just like this cause he says the n word ;)

BandNewbac
August 27th 2018


2445 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

this is one of the best black metal albums ever tbh

Kaiwaz
August 27th 2018


8737 Comments


nice review Hawks. I'll have to check this out soon.

Digging: Slowdive - Souvlaki

Hawks
August 27th 2018


67496 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks bro.



And lmao Scream that’s an instant classic joke right there hahahaha.

Hawks
August 27th 2018


67496 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Also think I’m gonna start reviewing a lot like I used to. I feel I’ve gotten way better with age lol.

Papa Universe
August 27th 2018


19640 Comments


that's a metal cover alright

Digging: Two People - First Body

Papa Universe
August 27th 2018


19640 Comments


the review seems more like a soundoff really, but it reeks of utter enthusiasm, so pass for that.
finnish steel POS



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy