Boris
Phenomenons Drive


4.0
excellent

Review

by Jeff USER (9 Reviews)
August 14th, 2018 | 18 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A teaser to kick off Boris' US tour, and a ghostly addition to their already monstrous catalog

Boris' 2017 release Dear left a lot of people confused. Unless you were a long time fan of Boris since their Absolutego days, their brand of Drone Doom was likely to leave you frustrated and pondering whether or not they are for real. This release is bound to have the same polarizing effect. You definitely don't get your standard metally riffs and choruses here. What Boris does create is a massive atmosphere that overtakes you and builds a savory tension as it draws you ever deeper. Predictably, you can expect heavily down-tuned guitar and bass creating a shifting wall of sound.

When Boris recorded Dear, it left them with a significant amount of extra material (~3 albums worth) that would be released slowly over time. This is the first release and its also a very droning release. The first track is a 14 minute medley that takes up the whole first side of the record and contains only waves of guitar drone and some real spacey soloing, eventually collapsing into guitar feedback and atonal entropy. Its the highlight and fans of Introduction on Akuma No Uta will definitely enjoy.

The second side starts with a cover from japanese band Katsurei which brings vocals and drums into the mix for a melancholy serenade. This track especially has a minimalism that gives a distinct sense of isolation, and an echo that wanders out to infinity. The last track is another Boris original with atmospheric guitar and drums that end the record on a more hopeful note.

One can complain that the songs meander by for longer than they should but it also allows for a distinct identity to form. So many bands are quickies in that they are forgettable and formulaic, and that by the time the first play through is over you don't remember any of it and don't want to. While this isn't a capital letter Boris release here on display, it is a memorable set of tracks and if you give it the chance you will find it drawing you back and perhaps even warming up to you.



Recent reviews by this author
Theatre Brook I Am the Space, You Are the SunAquaria Luxaeterna
Labyrinth Return to Heaven Denied Pt. II: A Midnight AutumnBarque of Dante Alchemist
Labyrinth Architecture Of A GodLabyrinth Sons of Thunder
user ratings (6)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Meridiu5
August 14th 2018


2005 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

album stream here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dn4UweLuaaE

Digging: Sir Lord Baltimore - Kingdom Come

Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
August 14th 2018


18586 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

this was











okay

Digging: The Residents - B.S.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
August 14th 2018


15444 Comments


Great review man, but I think I am gonna pass on this one.

Digging: Ioanna Gika - Thalassa

Tunaboy45
August 14th 2018


16734 Comments


I'll check it when I've got nothing else I want to listen to, great review

Digging: PUP - Morbid Stuff

Meridiu5
August 14th 2018


2005 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks dudes

all hail boris

coma2rium
August 14th 2018


84 Comments


all hail indeed. got my vinyl yesterday. it's thunderous.

FadedSun
August 15th 2018


1908 Comments


This is a great release. Feels like a classic boris album.

RunOfTheMill
August 15th 2018


3949 Comments


I've been mildly intersted in Boris for a while and when I saw your review, I decided to check this EP out. While quite relaxing and meditative, it has the same issue I have with all drone: completely forgettable. Am I missing something? Do these guys have more engaging releases/songs?

Meridiu5
August 15th 2018


2005 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this guide will definitely help: http://i.imgur.com/EWVyB.jpg

& if you're not jamming their drone releases on high volume with a subwoofer, you're not getting the full experience so i recommend that

Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
August 15th 2018


18586 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

why the American version of Smile though?



the JP version curbstomps it

Meridiu5
August 15th 2018


2005 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

have to agree there

list is also missing dear and noise, two of their really good ones

Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
August 15th 2018


18586 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

must be an older chart in that case, then

Meridiu5
August 16th 2018


2005 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

OMG. Tour setlist is OP

https://s15.postimg.cc/fxq24lgu3/EF4_D68_A2-6_ECD-45_F9-9_F46-_E685478_B0_B2_A.png

FadedSun
August 16th 2018


1908 Comments


Feedbacker AND Flood?!

Meridiu5
August 21st 2018


2005 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Show this friday is gunna be so lit I can't wait

Meridiu5
August 25th 2018


2005 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

they played feedbacker AND flood with shortened intros. show was unreal. millions died. wata played pokemon go

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jF-1i6-rvXU

Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
August 26th 2018


18586 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

based

Meridiu5
January 3rd 2019


2005 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

They just put more of these up for sale

http://inoxia-rec.com/shop/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=103_909&products_id=1307



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy