As It Is
The Great Depression


2.0
poor

Review

by McTime50 USER (40 Reviews)
August 10th, 2018 | 36 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I’m the poet and the problem.

I wasn’t on board with As It Is’ image and style change from the very start, simply because I didn’t believe they had it in them to pull it off convincingly. I mean, for sure you have to commend the band for having the ambition to try and pull off a concept album about dealing with mental health and depression etc etc. However, As It Is don’t really fit into the role that they’re trying to play. The ‘My Chemical Romance circa 2006’ aesthetic they’ve cultivated is cheesy as all hell and the way the band talked about the album came across as trying much too hard to be edgy. Going from a bright and poppy look to dark and edgy in just a year is too sudden a change to ignore. It makes the whole thing feel not genuine.

This feeling continues to be reflected by the music itself as well. Not only did they lift the 2006 Hot Topic look, they bring a pop-punk/emo sound reminiscent of bands in that era as well. The closest comparison is once again a My Chemical Romance one; envision an album similar to The Black Parade, just not as well written or performed. The instrumentation holds its own well enough, but does not do enough to excite or be more than just be a backing track to the vocals. Which is a damn shame, as the vocals miss many more times than they hit. Patty’s voice does not suit the dark and edgy vibe and his attempts at screaming come across more like a child shrieking to their parents during a tantrum. The lyrics are too shallow and too cheesy to ever hope to redeem the rest of the album. Sure, they fit within the concept, but lines like “Jet black hearts and abandoned souls” are just too laughable to be taken seriously.

Once again, I have to give the band props for trying to create a concept album promoting mental health. It’s a serious issue, and the more we talk about it the more good can be done. However, just focusing on the album, it’s a rather poor project. As It Is are very obviously trying to be something they’re not, to the detriment of the music.



Recent reviews by this author
Trophy Eyes The American DreamTrash Boat Crown Shyness
Real Friends ComposureRetirement Party Somewhat Literate
State Champs Living ProofDollar Signs Yikes
user ratings (25)
Chart.
2.7
average
related reviews

Never Happy, Ever After
recommended by reviewer
My Chemical Romance The Black Parade

Comments:Add a Comment 
McTime50
August 10th 2018


400 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I don’t write enough negative reviews.

Digging: Foxing - Nearer My God

Darius
August 10th 2018


17131 Comments


cover art and songs are cringe

McTime50
August 10th 2018


400 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

that’s the gist of the review, yeah

onionbubs
August 10th 2018


9204 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

lead singles had me prepared to 1 this but after the opening stretch this fucks idk



aaron’s guest spot fucking sucks tho despite tracks 6-8 being the albums best stretch

Digging: Alkaline Trio - Good Mourning

Ebola
August 10th 2018


3217 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Album is boring and lame

Digging: Leprous - Malina

onionbubs
August 10th 2018


9204 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

ya kinda its like a 2.7-2.8 but im feelin generous

McTime50
August 11th 2018


400 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yeah I’m starting to think 2 is a bit too harsh of a rating. This album is definitely still listenable, by no means repulsive.

Ebola
August 11th 2018


3217 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Their last album obliterates this

NeurOHMancer
August 11th 2018


41 Comments


Y SHUD I STIK ARO-UNDDD?!

BlackMalachite
August 11th 2018


3712 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

This shits on literally everything else this band has ever done. Good review but holy shit; I'm about five seconds away from reviewing this.

Digging: As It Is - The Great Depression

McTime50
August 11th 2018


400 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

thanks, but this is definitely not better than okay.

BlackMalachite
August 11th 2018


3712 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Honestly; this album was needed. Lately the pop punk / alt rock scene has devolved into a series of vapid, uninteresting hipster nonsense. This sudden change in tone feels natural and while it'll piss off a lot of the people who want to forget 2006-2012 happened, I think that'll be needed.

McTime50
August 11th 2018


400 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I’m pissed off because the change of tone feels super unnatural. 2017 As It Is and what they’re trying to do right now are worlds apart, so much so that this whole thing feels like a gimmick instead of a heartfelt artistic expression.

Ebola
August 11th 2018


3217 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I appreciate the change in tone. That’s not my issue. My issue is that the lyrics are largely surface-level and vapid, the hooks generally fall flat, and most of it sounds half-baked and uninspired. There’s more of an edge to many of these tracks, sure, but that doesn’t mean a whole lot when the songs themselves simply aren’t there. “Okay” was inoffensive and safe, but it was at least a collection of catchy, enjoyable pop tunes. This is mostly just a drab slog.

McTime50
August 11th 2018


400 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

That was much better than I put it.

onionbubs
August 11th 2018


9204 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

ngl the question the answer is a stunner no matter how generic it is

BlackMalachite
August 11th 2018


3712 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I have "The End" stuck in my head, such an addictive chorus.

onionbubs
August 11th 2018


9204 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

i kinda cant remember anything after track 7 so ima revisit tonight just to see both if the first half was as bad as i thought and if the second half was actually good enough to make it not that bad an album

BlackMalachite
August 12th 2018


3712 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

This album is definitely backloaded but I love the first half too

mattymetbril
August 12th 2018


1 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

2006: the album. Enjoyed it more than i thought i would.

Digging: Denzel Curry - TA13OO



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy