Deaf Havana
Rituals


3.5
great

Review

by JesperL USER (14 Reviews)
August 7th, 2018 | 51 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: This time it's pop.

Rituals’ announcement came as a bit of a surprise. Barely a year after the incredible All These Countless Nights, an album that combined the bands’ previous two efforts into something that felt a bit like the ‘definitive’ Deaf Havana album, the British rockers released ‘Sinner’. Showcasing new territory for the band, the new album’s lead single boasts a massive chorus and is unapologetically ‘pop’. While bands softening their sound and adopting more radio-friendly styles rarely results in enjoyable albums, Rituals is both convincing and experimental enough to be a worthy addition to the Deaf Havana discography. Capturing an eerie atmosphere due to the addition of often well-placed synthesizers, the record is surprisingly adventurous for what is, at its core, a pop album. ‘Hell’ solely consists of synthesizers, drums and vocals and ‘Saviour’ tries its hand at country, both succeeding at being captivating songs. Sadly, this subtle genre-blending does not always work, with soul-tinged ‘Evil’ failing to do anything interesting. Overall, Rituals does not come close to being Deaf Havana’s best work, but even in the context of the band’s outstanding discography the album simply ‘holds up’. It’s a summery pop record for borderline alcoholics, give it a shot.



Recent reviews by this author
Free Throw What's Past Is PrologueBasement Beside Myself
Tancred NightstandCHVRCHES Love Is Dead
William Ryan Key ThirteenJohan Pull Up
user ratings (51)
Chart.
2.8
good
other reviews of this album
Josh (3)
A loss of substance, but not all hope is gone....


Comments:Add a Comment 
JesperL
August 7th 2018


396 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

First attempt at a one paragraph rev, please let me know if it's absolute garbage thx.

AngryJohnny
August 7th 2018


915 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Not a bad review

expecting this to be a bad album though

Mutantsnowstorm
August 8th 2018


504 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ever since discovering this band a year ago I was surprised at how well they can fit into these different genre molds over their career, and this album is no exception. I liked the single "Sinner" and thought it was catchy but was worried that it would be one of the only highlights because I didn't care for Hell all that much.



I definitely like this, I don't know if I'll keep it at a 4 though. It's got its high and low points like most albums do, but the highs are really stellar; The only songs I'm not really digging are Hell, Fear, Saint, and Epiphany.

NorwichScene
August 8th 2018


2864 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I don’t mind Fear and Pure and the closer lyrics are good, that’s about it. Overall I’m dissapointed

LoLifant
August 8th 2018


1534 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

While I may agree with the rating (not sure yet), the lyrics really make the album for me and there is no mention of them.

JesperL
August 8th 2018


396 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I've always liked James' lyrics, but here they feel a bit rehashed. it's all well written stuff, though he's been writing about the exact same things for a long time now and there's no 'saved' or 'like a ghost' here.

Poxy
August 8th 2018


158 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Decent review, short and sweet. I'm digging this at the moment, not sure how well it will stand the test of time, but for now it's good

LoLifant
August 8th 2018


1534 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I think the lyrics here are some of the strongest and darkest he ever wrote, with Hell being one of my favourites. Epiphany also has a really emotional punch to it. But now that you stole my fame I'm not motivated enough to finish my review lol

zakalwe
August 8th 2018


27703 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

You dig this then you’ve sold yourself out to the capitulated, gentrified, corporate sheen of rock music.

You are the antithesis of rock n rolls core.

You strive against nothing, have no purposeful ideals and are a simple malleable tool controlled by the mindless to do nothing but consume.



You’ve been lied to your entire life and you look for this to answer the unanswerable?

The first answer is provided by seeing this for what it is. What it truly is.



A whopping great pile of cunt.







JesperL
August 8th 2018


396 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

yeah agreed loliphant, epiphany is def a lyrical highlight. do finish your review tho, would love to read it n this is really only an extended sound off (and not exactly one of my best reviews lmao)

Mutantsnowstorm
August 8th 2018


504 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lmao calm the fuck down zak



people on this site need to realize you can enjoy music without needing some deeper meaning behind it

zakalwe
August 8th 2018


27703 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

Reading, writing, listening. Things that you should never consume.

Risodo
August 8th 2018


654 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Wow, this band is dead

LoLifant
August 8th 2018


1534 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Band never claimed this to be rock, they even stated being scared of alienating old fans with this album because it's so poppy.



@ JesperL



So far I only wrote the intro where I state what defines this bands sound for me, nothing specifically on the album itself anyway. But major points of my review would have been the dark and authentic lyrics (prime example "Epiphany" because these are cravings many can relate to when getting older, but can never achieve), how they managed to make a pop song sound so uniquely moody like "Hell" (one of my favourites) or "Evil" and basically the overall listening experience that feels honest and fun but also very insightful and thought provoking. Negative aspects would have been that some tracks are kept rather simple and even remind me of something I've already heard in the past but can't remember (that synth sounds on "Fear" sound so familiar?!), while others are actually fun but kinda feel restrained where they could have gone a little bit further (end of "Worship"). Biggest downside is the overuse of studio effects where they feel unnecessary, making the album feeling overproduced at times. That's what bothers me the most, especially since it detracts from James vocal skills.

JesperL
August 8th 2018


396 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I remember James tweeting about having nervous breakdowns before Sinner's release. I respect the fact that they don't pretend to be anything they're not a lot and didn't call this record something along the lines of 'save rock and roll'.



lolifant, ah okay! fully agree on hell, love that track. some tracks could definitely have been cut and I think it sounds familiar because every damn band uses the type of synths this one utilises quite a bit.. for me it's mainly evil that's too safe/familiar and just pure (lol) filler

LoLifant
August 8th 2018


1534 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I think Pure is okay but Heaven sounds quite weird and a bit too churchy lol

JesperL
August 8th 2018


396 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

not sure what happened here but see my response.. above lmao.

LoLifant
August 8th 2018


1534 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah nevermind haha

DoofDoof
August 8th 2018


3871 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Is this supposed to sound like piss weak pop punk crossed with Maroon 5?



And if so why is that?

LoLifant
August 8th 2018


1534 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

people giving this a 1 never have heard a 1 album or even a 1.5



but it's not death metal so fuck it



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy