Trophy Eyes
The American Dream


3.5
great

Review

by chris. USER (51 Reviews)
August 3rd, 2018 | 19 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Don't let no sad songs rot your brain

Chemical Miracle was an unrealistic expectation for me. I mean, you don’t just wake up one day, say to yourself “Hmm, I wanna make a genre-defining piece of music”, and just go do it. It’s a natural process. Trophy Eyes were just making a kind of art that resonated with them at the time. The American Dream is nothing like Chemical Miracle. For the worst, it means the rawness that permeated throughout the latter is missing and the catharsis I got from listening to Chemical Miracle on repeat no longer appears. They abandon multiple elements of their past releases for something else altogether, alienating large swathes of fans. I was lying to myself when I heard the two first singles, and felt a little confused listening to “Friday Forever”, considering it was the first true taste of the new sound the band was gunning for. I was lying to myself because I wanted that second Chemical Miracle. I’m sure everyone did. But this realization brings me towards a different point, one a little more positive.

For the better, The American Dream is nothing like Chemical Miracle. It’s upbeat, it’s poppy, and it’s nearly devoid of any harsh vocals. All the lyrics are about finding your individual answer in life and who you want to be as a person. It’s a little preachy and too close to 30 Seconds to Mars sounding for comfort. But what brings out the beauty of this album is accepting it as a piece of someone’s life on display. John Floreani has driven home time after time that he’s faced many a hardship and that large parts of his life just suck. So The American Dream, with it’s poppy sound and upbeat lyrics, represents someone moving on with their life and actively trying to be happier. I think it’s always been the mission statement with this album. To bring it to life though, Trophy Eyes had to change their sound. As much as I wanted another Chemical Miracle, The American Dream excels in its attempts to be a joyful hurrah for living your life.

John’s clean vocals control this album, front to back. His singing over the years has improved immensely, and it shows. Just about every track showcases a beautiful, catchy vocal melody. The choruses are grandiose, though sometimes a little over the top. The true shining stars of the album are the three slowest tracks, “A Cotton Candy Sky”, “Tip Toe”, and “A Symphony of Crickets”. These three tracks show off the most atmospheric and emotional performances on the entire album, with a lot of ambient backgrounds and soft but poignant instrumentation with pianos and strings. The instrumentation on other tracks shows a much more poppier approach than ever taken by Trophy Eyes, with riffs that once again beg the 30 Seconds To Mars comparisons. However, they never go too sugary or disingenuous sounding. With John’s aforementioned vocals, the whole meshes together better than you’d expect.

I’d be lying if I said I was not disappointed at all. When you’ve heard what Trophy Eyes is capable of, seeing this being put out is a little underwhelming. However, for what it is and what the band wants it to be, it’s a catchy, grandiose, and sometimes beautiful album about just letting yourself be happy in your search for your identity in the universe.



Recent reviews by this author
AJJ Good Luck EverybodyPrince Daddy and The Hyena Cosmic Thrill Seekers
Malibu Ken Malibu KenForests Spending Eternity In A Japanese Convenience Store
Greta Van Fleet Anthem of the Peaceful ArmyKero Kero Bonito Time 'n' Place
user ratings (121)
3
good
other reviews of this album
Slex CONTRIBUTOR (2)
More like you, less like me....

Channing Freeman STAFF (4)
a song in my head for all the places i've known...


Comments:Add a Comment 
McTime50
August 3rd 2018


1000 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I tried extremely hard to put my thoughts into words, and I'm still not sure I even transcribed them correctly. Doesn't help that there's still some parts about it I'm still formulating thoughts for.



This is gonna be a bit of polarizing album for sure. It's disappointing but it's something I also welcome with open arms.

Digging: Spanish Love Songs - Brave Faces Everyone

McTime50
August 3rd 2018


1000 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

it's like getting a mint oreo when you were really hoping for double stuff.

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
August 3rd 2018


9226 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Good review friend, tho I obviously disagree I'm happy to see a counterpoint. I will totally agree that dude is a seriously talented vocalist

Digging: King Krule - Man Alive!

McTime50
August 3rd 2018


1000 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah his vocals are really good, the next Little Brother is gonna be pretty cool. I also don't blame a single person for not liking this or finding it boring. It is not up to snuff with the band's already shown potential and feels a little confused in what it wants to do.



I feel like they didn't jump the shark enough and tried to stick some parts of their old sounds into this, when I feel like it would've been better to just go the whole way with the poppy and grand sound. Maybe then, it'd sound even more confident and put together.

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
August 3rd 2018


9226 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Completely agree, hurts the impact of album a lot that they shoehorn in their old sound randomly into songs were it just doesn't fit

Dedicated1
August 3rd 2018


125 Comments


I adore absolutely everything about this record aside from 'I put all the money that you spent right up my nose' (I mean... that's the worst lyric i've ever heard).
But, this has some of the most memorable songs i've heard from this style of music in a long time, and the vocal melodies are insane. Every song has been stuck in my head at least once over the past 4 days. Musically it's beautifully written and the balance between fast/hard and soft is perfect.
Not going to rate it yet because quite often I pull the trigger too early, but this is probably the best album i've heard all year. It's nice to see talent and passion combine like this. I reckon they absolutely nailed it.
PS. I also loved Chemical Miracle. This was the obvious progression of that sound and i'm surprised to see a lot of people didn't see it coming.

KenboSlice
August 3rd 2018


3358 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Why the fuck does every song have the same vocal melodies and gang vocals

keza
August 3rd 2018


488 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Yeah it seems clear they really didn't wanna make another record like Chemical Miracle, and this is reflected except for the awkward hardcore vox here and there. It just seems like they couldn't commit to the idea they were going for and it makes a bad album even worse. But that's just my opinion - good review anyhow!

JayEnder
August 3rd 2018


6410 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Good to see some nice things about the record c: well written man!

McTime50
August 3rd 2018


1000 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, this album has disappointed a lot of people, but I don't think it's completely awful/forgettable.

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
August 3rd 2018


26385 Comments


if i've never heard a song by these guys before, would i like this

Digging: Carved Cross - Severance of Disparity in Absolute Acrimony

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
August 3rd 2018


9226 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

No, check something off of Chemical Miracle

Atari
Staff Reviewer
August 3rd 2018


25413 Comments

Album Rating: 2.7

honestly their "Everything Goes Away" EP kicks ass too



Spirit I could see you digging them, but def check their other stuff first ;)

Digging: Latterman - No Matter Where We Go...!

McTime50
August 3rd 2018


1000 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Definitely go listen to Chemical Miracle first, that album is a masterpiece.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
August 3rd 2018


25413 Comments

Album Rating: 2.7

I mean I agree that's their best, but their earlier stuff is pretty damn great and keeps getting overlooked

iglu
August 3rd 2018


1687 Comments


hey it's that one band I always say I'm gonna listen to but never do

JayEnder
August 4th 2018


6410 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I unironically like Friday Forever. Cheesiest fucking song ever but they did it right somehow?

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
August 4th 2018


9226 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

It has a great chorus tbh

Storm In A Teacup
August 4th 2018


27067 Comments


The only trophy i want is the one that has scars 🔥🔥🔥😡😡😡



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy