Cuntz
Here Come the Real Boys...Live in the USA


4.0
excellent

Review

by house cat STAFF
July 28th, 2018 | 27 replies


Release Date: 08/01/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: future employers please look elsewhere, turn back, nothing to see here,

At this point it's not a stretch to conclude that the word, right up there on the box, mocking my good Christian upbringing, is an aggressively Australian articulation. The word is so deeply woven into the fabric of working class Australian culture that hearing it uttered in public here is about as shocking as spotting a junkie in North Richmond. Which, I guess, is why I'm surprised Cuntz ever made it out of the country to begin with.

Here Come the Real Boys, a haphazard collection of songs performed across the US in 2013, is hilariously Antipodean. There's a song called Hoonin', paying homage to the distinctly bogan pastime of speeding recklessly around suburban streets (modified exhausts mimicking gunshots at 2am), and there's a song called Bin Day, which is prefaced by a healthy dose of snark: "this song's called Bin Day. I dunno if you have bins in America".

All this to say that the band seem delightfully self-aware. By touring the states, the good cuntz in Cuntz make a point of forcing a spotlight on the most unpalatable aspects of working class Australia just to make a foreigner or two squirm. In the context of these recordings, the word itself feels like a distillation, an unflinching taboo intentionally used to drive a wedge between the obnoxiously Australian """"musicians"""", and their American audience.

But only upon initial inspection. Noise and punk and indeed noise-punk are often dark, macabre, self-serious disciplines; vituperative and slipshod in order to make some sort of anarchist statement, or otherwise reject social norms. With this record, it's the inverse: Cuntz take pride in the stereotype, somehow playing off these gnarled and atonal punk guitars as humorous. The lyrics are, typically, wailed and shouted, but there's a touch of irony imbued in the delivery, as though vocalist Ben Mackie (if his mates don't call him 'Benno' I'll give away my Highway to Hell vinyls) is having the time of his life mocking the customs that shaped him -- being the snotty reprobate and derelict punk that he is. The stage banter, too ("this one's called Never Felt Better and it's about babiezzzz") contributes to this drunken portrait of carelessness, and when the droning feedback shatters the frame for the 100th time, i assume that whichever audience they're playing to finally has a grasp on Australian traditions, colloquialisms, behavioural patterns. Basically what I'm getting at is that it's educational.

...Educational in the same way walking in on your parents as a kid is educational; it's weird/repugnant, you didn't ask for it and you'd rather forget about it as soon as possible, but now at least you know how they get things done.



Recent reviews by this author
Horror My Friend Home LifeMitski Be the Cowboy
Nostrum Grocers Nostrum GrocersDJ Healer Nothing 2 Loose
LUMP (UK) LUMPDJ Koze knock knock
user ratings (3)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Winesburgohio
Contributing Reviewer
July 28th 2018


2339 Comments


review rules so, so, so hard and this is how i feel about
*takes out shoehorn and brandishes it*
Benny T and Tricky Mac

Digging: Daughters - You Won't Get What You Want

verdant
Staff Reviewer
July 28th 2018


2261 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

reminds me of stick men with ray guns in a way i think,,



AH i need to get on that Benny T/T Mac joint A S A P thank you Uncle Winesburg

SowingSeason
Moderator
July 28th 2018


28120 Comments


Didn't read the review yet but hate the band name
Like of all the things you can call yourself why that

verdant
Staff Reviewer
July 28th 2018


2261 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

read the review for my take sowbrother

Winesburgohio
Contributing Reviewer
July 28th 2018


2339 Comments


yeah it's a Just Antipodes Things :3

verdant
Staff Reviewer
July 28th 2018


2261 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

when u tour in america and yr show gets cancelled because the venue was offended by yr name #JustAntipodesThings

clavier
Contributing Reviewer
July 28th 2018


799 Comments


another stellar piece from verdant, whose experience is indeed the opposite of green,

Digging: They Grieve - I Made My Sacrifice Accordingly

SowingSeason
Moderator
July 28th 2018


28120 Comments


You do a fair job of representing the band's intentions and explaining the name. And I'm totally against the culture of getting offended and forcing others to change as a result. With that said it still strikes me as kind of stupid. Like what if it was another more offensive word, like a racial slur. Would it still be able to be played off like, "well, that's just how people talk in Australia" / "plus they're being ironic so it's okay"? I dunno maybe I'm just taking everything too literally.

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
July 28th 2018


23717 Comments


yeah i think it’s very engrained in culture, as the review speaks to, in america the word has a much different connotation so I can see what you’re getting at Sowing. it’s a dumb band name either way but this rev has me intrigued about the actual MUSIC which i think is more important (:

Chambered79
July 28th 2018


142 Comments


Hey it's a free cuntry

verdant
Staff Reviewer
July 28th 2018


2261 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i think the term is offensive in an all-inclusive way. if the band were to use a racial slur as their name i'd be more inclined to agree because not only are they trying to provoke a reaction, but in doing so they're singling out a minority group and placing their audience on uneven footing. also are they not making fun of themselves with the name more than anyone? if you take the name and the music as a single entity, does it not suggest that the name "Cuntz" is making a mockery of the culture that they represent?

verdant
Staff Reviewer
July 28th 2018


2261 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

anyway wrt: names i also think "because we fucken can" is a fine enough reason for naming the band that way

BlushfulHippocrene
Contributing Reviewer
July 28th 2018


2565 Comments


Incredible review.

Digging: Novo Amor - Birthplace

verdant
Staff Reviewer
July 29th 2018


2261 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

no u

Winesburgohio
Contributing Reviewer
July 29th 2018


2339 Comments


i think it's funny that the review points out that a word has a vastly different usage between cultures and all of us are still clamouring, in a way, for cultural ownership of it and how it should be deployed -- i staunchly defend the band name for reasons Verdant articulated and i just can't get offended by it, not really -- but even so we're discussing something that's rarely broached: how the taboo shifts, however subtlety, between even similar cultures. thats some sacred and profane shit dawg

i will also humbly, sir, posit, sir, that cunt is in no ways analogous to the n-word. obviously it has been used a slur against women, but it has other uses, some of them even literary, while the n-word really can mean one horrid thing only. and the n-word has far, far more cultural baggage and harm associated with it, even in America.

verdant
Staff Reviewer
July 29th 2018


2261 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yasssss cunt beautifully and eloquently put

neekafat
July 29th 2018


12544 Comments


"i think the term is offensive in an all-inclusive way."
lmao that's beautiful, great way of looking at insults honestly

Chambered79
July 29th 2018


142 Comments


I wish verdant had a diary and I could read it

verdant
Staff Reviewer
July 29th 2018


2261 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

no you don't, it would basically consist of "tired today", "i'd quite like to disappear forever" and "years later and i'm still wondering how long it would take for a postman to travel around the world"

hal1ax
July 29th 2018


11429 Comments


ay good band. i fck with Aloha



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy