Boysetsfire
Boysetsfire


3.5
great

Review

by Kurai USER (8 Reviews)
July 27th, 2018 | 27 replies


Release Date: 2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Boysetsfire play down the aggression with mixed results, but still manage to craft an album which is an enjoyable listen for the most part.

Boysetsfire aren't one of the most well known or talked about bands in the world. In spite of briefly being on a major label for an album (and having a song featured on the soundtrack album for the 2003 Daredevil film), they never quite managed to achieve mainstream success. However, in spite of this, they do have a devoted fanbase (particularly in Germany), and they have had a small part to play in influencing the current crop of Hardcore/Post Hardcore bands with Matt Davies-Kreye of Funeral for a Friend fame in particular citing Boysetsfire as an influence, and Frank Turner included their debut album in a list of his favourite Hardcore albums of all time back in 2014 around the time he was releasing Mongol Horde's debut.

With this album, their sixth overall and second since their return in 2010 after their three year split, Boysetsfire largely dial back on the aggression with the more melodic aspects of their sound coming more to the forefront. The end result is a slightly mixed bag of songs that have some truly great additions to the Boysetsfire back catalogue as well as a few duds that don't work quite as well as the other songs.

On the positive side, vocalist Nathan Gray's more melodic vocals sound as great as they always have. This album gives him plenty of moments to shine such as the fast, punky single One Match and the slow and sombre Ordinary Lives. For the most part, the more melodic side of the album is the strongest part, with the more Punk orientated tracks like the aforementioned One Match and Heaven Knows being particular highlights. The other members of the band all do their part well, all contributing to making the songs what they are.

The heavier side of the album is where things to fall a bit flat. The heavier songs aren't particularly bad (the closing two tracks Breathe In Bleed Out and Bled Dry are easily some of the best songs on offer here), but they seem to mostly be lacking the bite that previous of the band have had in spades (see After the Eulogy and Release the Dogs). It's hard to explain, but while it's clear that the band are giving it all that they have, there is definitely something missing when it comes to most of the heavier tracks on display here. Likewise, Fall From Grace, one of the more melodic tracks, feels a lot weaker compared to other songs on the album as well as other songs from the bands discography.

All flaws aside, this album is an enjoyable listen overall with some great energetic Punk songs and some slightly slower anthems, and even the slightly weaker tracks have their moments here and there.

Highlights:
Cutting Room Floor
Ordinary Lives
One Match
Heaven Knows
Breathe In, Bleed Out



Recent reviews by this author
Touche Amore Dead Horse XPetrol Girls Cut and Stitch
Antiguo JoyCasey Love Is Not Enough
More Than Life What's Left of MeCasey Where I Go When I Am Sleeping
user ratings (42)
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Kurai
July 27th 2018


417 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I know this album's been out for a while, but I felt it needed a review up.

DungeonBoy
July 27th 2018


8008 Comments


Boysetsfire released an album in 2015? I remember buying After the Eulogy at Best Buy when it came out with some money from watching my neighbor's cat

Kurai
July 27th 2018


417 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, it didn't really get much attention. I saw them on tour around the time it came out with Silverstein and Great Collapse, they were great live even if Nathan was ill so had to get Shane from Silverstein to do most the screaming for him.

DungeonBoy
July 27th 2018


8008 Comments


huh. also good review man! Pos'd. I'm actually checking it out now, it's interesting. The only BSF album I ever listened to was After the Eulogy, and there are definitely a lot of things still in common with that album. Some of the choruses are a bit too radio friendly for me on this, but I think you hit the nail on the head with:

"The end result is a slightly mixed bag of songs that have some truly great additions to the Boysetsfire back catalogue as well as a few duds that don't work quite as well as the other songs."

Kurai
July 27th 2018


417 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks man, I haven't reviewed for a while and wasn't sure how well this would go down haha. You should check out their albums 'Misery Index: Notes From The Plague Years' and 'Tomorrow Come Today', those are their best after ATE.

Kurai
July 27th 2018


417 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks man, I haven't reviewed for a while and wasn't sure how well this would go down haha. You should check out their albums 'Misery Index: Notes From The Plague Years' and 'Tomorrow Come Today', those are their best after ATE.

botb
July 27th 2018


14148 Comments


I had no idea this existed. Nathan is one of the nicest dudes I’ve ever had the pleasure of meeting from any band.

SteakByrnes
July 27th 2018


21680 Comments


Great review for a criminally underrated band, I still have to check this one out

Digging: Coletta - Idealism

Observer
Emeritus
September 23rd 2019


8687 Comments


Ordinary lives is a great song

Digging: Inanna - Converging Ages

Storm In A Teacup
September 26th 2019


30802 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Can't remember this one

Observer
Emeritus
September 28th 2019


8687 Comments


This is cool, think I like it a bit more than While A Nation Sleeps honestly.

Storm In A Teacup
September 28th 2019


30802 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Have your heard their song Bled Dry? From this era but not on an LP I believe. Probably their best song around this time



karpatfalvi
April 19th 2020


55 Comments


Slept on this. What an incredible record, its m go to music during corona. Just what I needed plus the earlier albums

Storm In A Teacup
April 19th 2020


30802 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

If any post-hardcore band was ever underrated it was this band.

Pikazilla
April 19th 2020


13365 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Definitely. Misery Index is v v good

Storm In A Teacup
April 19th 2020


30802 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

that is the album that was coming out when I first discovered them. it's an all time classic album to me. the kind you scream along to and jump on the couch to lol

Pikazilla
April 19th 2020


13365 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I actually hadn't discovered them until Nation Sleeps came out. Oh boy was I missing out.

Storm In A Teacup
April 19th 2020


30802 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Man there are some legendary EPs from their early days I hope you checked

Pikazilla
April 19th 2020


13365 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I have not ):

Storm In A Teacup
April 19th 2020


30802 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zVIV3EoTWIE



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy