Meg Myers
Take Me To The Disco


2.3
average

Review

by Rowan5215 STAFF
July 27th, 2018 | 66 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: burn down the disco, hang the DJ

The pitch change at the end of "Motel" is one of the rare moments in pop – fuck it, in music – I'd call perfect. I mean, everyone from Beyonce to your favourite indie singer-songwriter has used a pitch change, and they generally fall somewhere between 'I don't know how to end this song but people are getting bored of the chorus' to 'if Kate Bush can do it what's stopping me?' "Motel" was not either of those. Those of you lucky enough to hear Make a Shadow first already knew Myers was not the average popstar – the lung-busting screams at the end of "Heart Heart Head" are all the proof you need of that - but most of us came in with Sorry, those first few notes of "Motel" our introduction to one of the best pop records of the decade. Lyrically-focused listeners might have had an idea what was about to go down from lines like "you bleed, naked in a black room", but everyone else had their crash course with that perfect final "I wanna love, wanna live, wanna breathe, wanna give", a defiant and triumphant response to the implicit challenge in the bridge.

Take Me to the Disco doesn't have a transcendent moment like that. That's a tough standard to hold an album to, but it's the standard Sorry set nonetheless, and in comparison to that album Disco seems frivolous and vapid. It doesn't help that the music is deeply cloying, drowning Myers' great melodies in suffocating layers of clattering drums and 80s keys; there's not a "Parade" or "The Morning After" to be found where Myers trusts her own lyricism and charisma to carry an entire song. Worse, the subtext – or just outright text - of darkness running throughout her best songs is gone, replaced by weak wordplay (Jealous Sea = jealousy. Get it?) and wannabe-Lorde piano pop anthems. The worst of these, like "Some People" and "Funeral", are so geared towards top 40 play I'd have trouble identifying the artist if her name wasn't right there next to the song title.

This album isn't an outright failure, nor a painful listen; but in the wake of St. Vincent and Kimbra synthesising 80s influence into their music in inspired ways, it can't help but feel like a straggler, or a bigger/blander follow-up which drowns its star's talent under slathered-on layers of cheese and overproduction. At its best, say the genuinely thrilling "Tear Me to Pieces" or electric earworm "Done", Myers gets the lightning back inside the bottle for fleeting moments of inspiration. At the worst, like Myers adopting a stilted hip-hop delivery in the verses of "Tourniquet" or *checks notes* a reggae lilt in the truly awful "The Death of Me", Take Me to the Disco sounds for all the world closer to Eminem on Relapse, randomly adopting accents fumbling for the next big hit, than a confident pop star making a thrilling sophomore album.



Recent reviews by this author
Thom Yorke AnimaThe Dangerous Summer Mother Nature
Cave In Final TransmissionTyler, the Creator IGOR
The National I Am Easy to FindKevin Abstract ARIZONA BABY
user ratings (44)
Chart.
3
good
related reviews

Sorry
recommended by reviewer
Kimbra Primal Heart

Comments:Add a Comment 
Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
July 27th 2018


42191 Comments

Album Rating: 2.3

yeah what the hell happened Meg

Digging: Kyle Dixon and Michael Stein - Stranger Things 3

clavier
Staff Reviewer
July 27th 2018


948 Comments


idk what happened but nice review rowbro

Digging: for your health/Shin Guard - Death of Spring

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
July 27th 2018


16295 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

She has the voice to make it happen, and she was in the right track and I do enjoy some of the songs, but something's off on this one.



Digging: Lingua Ignota - Caligula

SteakByrnes
July 27th 2018


15139 Comments


I still gotta check Sorry out, good review row :]

Digging: Auras - Binary Garden

budgie
July 27th 2018


11369 Comments


well written review

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
July 27th 2018


42191 Comments

Album Rating: 2.3

agreed @dewi



she's definitely got the voice it's just totally lost in this album

wwf
July 27th 2018


6324 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

haven't even listened to this album but I agree with this review already based on the singles

Divaman
July 27th 2018


3794 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm glad you reviewed this. Good job.

Digging: Runa - Ten: The Errant Knight

RadicalEd
July 27th 2018


9546 Comments


Her music was always kinda boring.

budgie
July 27th 2018


11369 Comments


naw sorry bumps man

supremejelly
July 27th 2018


1098 Comments


Good review. Wonder how much the quality suffered from her splitting from her songwriting contributor Dr. Luke or whatever his name is. If you look at the credits for Sorry there are alott of other hands involved with the making of the album that this one doesn't have

SowingSeason
Moderator
July 27th 2018


31493 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The first half of this is almost good enough to make me reconsider my rating. I don't mind the change in style when it's as good as 'Tourniquet' or 'Jealous Sea.' It could also just be that I've been listening to too much Science Fiction, but I got strange deja vu in listening to 'Take Me to the Disco'/'Numb' that felt a little like 'Lit Me Up' into 'Can't Get It Out.' Even the production value is kind of similar. I'm probably crazy on that note. But regardless, the second half of this dropped off steeply for me and the overall approach to this album sacrificed most of what I loved about Sorry, and without an equal or better style to replace it. Her debut was the perfect blend of grit and melody, this is just too "mainstream radio."

Digging: Sum 41 - Order In Decline

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
July 27th 2018


42191 Comments

Album Rating: 2.3

agreed except Tourniquet is absolutely terrible yo



Done is the only reason to ever return to the second half here

danielcardoso
July 27th 2018


11770 Comments


Disappointed to see this is getting poor reception but great review Rowie - I'm gonna call you Rowie from now on if that's okay with you.

chaywa
July 27th 2018


75 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I've listened to the this a few times now and other than Jealous Sea there's nothing remotely memorable on here. Which is a shame because all of her previous work had me rushing back to listen to it every few days in the first few months following release. It strikes me a bit like the new Chvrches album, seemingly directionless in its production and a terrible late 90's early 00's album artwork to boot.

RunOfTheMill
July 27th 2018


3984 Comments


Excellent review, if anything changes this has incited me to check out her first album haha

honeybadgerwins
July 27th 2018


1 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Good write-up but I disagree with the rating. IMO this is either better or at least equally good as "Sorry". You're right - "Motel" will probably forever remain her best track but "Tear Me to Pieces" and "Numb" are just so intense on their own.



P.S. - If it's a bad wordplay, why do you have to explain it?

Gyromania
July 27th 2018


27953 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

2.3 eh? Sounds like I should pick this up

Digging: black midi - Schlagenheim

R6Rider
July 27th 2018


5218 Comments


Dammit Meg.

Still gonna check this out.

ThrashTillDeath94
July 27th 2018


784 Comments


Really hard to hear that this album may be a let down, considering how good Sorry was. Gonna have to check it still, but i'm a bit discouraged.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy