Counterparts
You're Not You Anymore


4.0
excellent

Review

by Quattro Bajeena CONTRIBUTOR (153 Reviews)
July 24th, 2018 | 16 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: God would break character if he could for a chance to spit in your face

It’s no easy feat to combine technicality with genuinely emotional promulgations – let alone do it for five albums straight – but Counterparts are just that good. Even without principal songwriter and lead guitarist Jesse Doreen who departed in 2016, You’re Not You Anymore is able to ply the line between late ’90s hardcore brutality and emo earnestness better than most. Newly minted guitar duo Adrian Lee and Blake Hardman are relentless in their craft, their riffs a melange of the metal and core genres. “Thieves”‘s brutish hardcore beatdowns pulverize bone to dust, while “Bouquet”‘s nuanced progression sees the guitars trading off harmonized licks left and right. Whether behind atmospheric swathes or in utter chaos vocalist Brendan Murphy remains steadfast and confident in his delivery. “Carry me forever in your heart,” he bellows in the breakdown of “Arms Like Teeth”, one of the shortest but most effecting passages on the album; his lyrics throughout You’re Not You Anymore all stand the test of genuity, but like any good hardcore album, his pre-breakdown call(s)-to-arms provide some of the best moments on the album. Counterparts clearly still have the magic, and though they may have lost a limb in Jesse, if You’re Not You Anymore is any indication, they haven’t lost their heart.



Recent reviews by this author
Bagg Tussa баґґтуссаHorrendous Idol
Ossuarium Living TombLord Snow SHADOWMARKS
Sinmara Hvísl StjarnannaMalfet The Snaking Path
user ratings (552)
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
Trebor. STAFF (4.1)
Still you, still special...

ian b. (4.5)
Counterparts rid the youthful melodramatic crutches of previous efforts and show their teeth in a gr...

iChuckles (4)
A reaffirmation of brilliance....

Kenneth Timper (3.5)
On their latest release, Counterparts skim the fat and use brevity to their advantage....


Comments:Add a Comment 
TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
July 24th 2018


26187 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is honestly, the last one :p

Digging: Sigh - Imaginary Sonicscape

JayEnder
July 24th 2018


5805 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Sweet lil review man you should review their new EP when it comes out! : ]

Digging: Counterparts - Nothing Left to Love

Hawks
July 24th 2018


73730 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Nice review as always brotha.

Digging: Cradle of Filth - Cruelty and the Beast - Re-Mistressed

SowingSeason
Moderator
July 24th 2018


32690 Comments


I like this style I think it suits you well. And with people's attention spans these days this might actually be the way to go. You just have to be able to pull it off which I think you do.

Digging: Low Roar - ross.

JayEnder
July 24th 2018


5805 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Also Fragile Limbs is becoming my all time favorite by them. Can’t fucking wait to hear new jams already

SteakByrnes
July 24th 2018


16060 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Dude Spirit nice :] Album owns, review is great

Digging: PVRIS - Hallucinations

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
July 24th 2018


26187 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hey thank you very much anyone :]

po0ty
July 25th 2018


616 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Lyrics in Arms Like Teeth are 'Carry me forever in your heart' not 'Keep me forever in heart'

JayEnder
July 25th 2018


5805 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

^ the one mistake I found too. Flawless otherwise, my dude.

AeonAscension
July 25th 2018


11 Comments


good review

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
July 25th 2018


26187 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Whoop, fixed, don’t know what happened there lol



And thanks everyone :]

Risodo
July 25th 2018


660 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Short reviews are more helpful. Good review of a great album

Hawks
July 25th 2018


73730 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Great review of a shitty album agreed.

Observer
Staff Reviewer
July 25th 2018


7236 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

hell yeah, adam thomas style

Digging: Armchairpolitician - Seven Segment Decoder

Themaxwell23
July 25th 2018


121 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

My album of the year last year . Shit slays , wastes no time no filler ( besides intro track ) just straight to the point , brutal and beautiful.

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
July 25th 2018


26187 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks ya'll



also yeah Jared, definitely channeling my inner redskyformiles haha



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy