Blood Incantation
Starspawn


4.5
superb

Review

by TheSpirit CONTRIBUTOR (146 Reviews)
July 21st, 2018 | 20 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: These beings are hiding outside of time...

Given the prevalence of the OSDM revival in the last decade, it’s refreshing to see a band like Blood Incantation abandon the caverncore cavemen aesthetic for more upward-facing death metal inspiration. Rightly hailed throughout the underground as a modern classic, Starspawn’s miasmatic blend of celestial atmosphere, technicality, and jugular-shredding death metal vehemence makes Blood Incantation’s Immo-tating peers look almost pedestrian in comparison. Their instrumental prowess would make even Necrophagist blush, but it never gets in the way of a killer riff or a drop into more tranquil, quasi-melodic territory. While extreme metal has a tendency to prioritize sheer aggression above songwriting, Blood Incantation crafted an extremely dynamic record that borrows, deconstructs, and then reassembles elements from every end of the death metal spectrum, displaying them in awe-inspiring fashion. Bolstered by a production that is warm and spacious without sacrificing any of the trademark filth we death metal fans are accustomed to, Starspawn feels like a death metal classic, while also letting it explore uncharted territory. I hate to end it this way, but Blood Incantation’s Starspawn is out of this world.



Recent reviews by this author
Nihil Invocation Furthering the Depth of Lucid MadnessUlver The Assassination of Julius Caesar
Counterparts You're Not You AnymoreParamore After Laughter
Converge The Dusk in UsDrowning the Light The Vampire Cipher
user ratings (354)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
Jacquibim STAFF (4.3)
A captivating journey into the cosmic abyss....


Comments:Add a Comment 
TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
July 21st 2018


24794 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

My last short review for awhile, the next one will be back to the usual 3-4 paragraphs.

These are a lot fun to do and are inspired by “non-featured” reviews in Metal Hammer, Decibel, or really any music magazine. They’re concise but still (hopefully) have enough juice to entice people to check something out.

Digging: wellspring - iris's room

calmrose
July 21st 2018


4505 Comments


nice review, I personally much prefer the short 1-2 paragraph reviews

Digging: Cult Of The Damned - Part Deux: Brick Pelican Posse Crew Gang Syndicate

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
July 21st 2018


24794 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I was just talking to someone else about this and I feel the same. Obviously some albums I’ll have more to say/will be more important to me and I’ll write more, but I prefer writing shorter reviews. They can be punchy, informative, and just easier to digest. When I read longer reviews nowadays, it’s sometimes a struggle to finish. That may say more about me than the review(s) lol, but I find smaller reviews can get the job done the same, if not better in some cases.

Hawks
July 21st 2018


67739 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Agreed with both of you and sweet review bro.

Digging: Wicca Phase Springs Eternal - Suffer On

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
July 21st 2018


24794 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Thank you both :]

bloc
July 21st 2018


54453 Comments


One of my fav dm albums

Digging: Yeah Yeah Yeahs - Is Is

Bloon
Contributing Reviewer
July 21st 2018


2443 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

key difference is youre better at writing than those big metal publications 💖

Digging: Melvins - Stoner Witch

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
July 21st 2018


24794 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

bloon ... I love you 😘

ZippaThaRippa
July 21st 2018


10471 Comments


One paragraph reviews are high art

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
July 21st 2018


24794 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Oh yes... none of that pleb multi paragraph garbage from me, no way

BigPleb
July 21st 2018


57073 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Probably gonna have to bump.



Easily one of the best/most enjoyable DM albums of the last decade.

sonictheplumber
July 22nd 2018


10076 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

sup man props to makr for gettin me to check this

sonictheplumber
July 22nd 2018


10076 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

amazing live act

sonictheplumber
July 22nd 2018


10076 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

and that dickhead singer who looks like the guy from coroner just mumbles between songs its pretty funny

Astral Abortis
July 22nd 2018


6745 Comments


"key difference is youre better at writing than those big metal publications"

Forreal tho those reviewers are so bad

MoosechriS
July 22nd 2018


6352 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cool review dude as always, enjoying the short style of your last couple. Album is as they say, the tits.

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
July 22nd 2018


24794 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Thanks moose and snox ( I think!)



Sonic it’s nice too see you around and digging this

Azog
July 22nd 2018


111 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Awesome band, album is a masterpiece.

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
July 23rd 2018


24794 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I’m inclined to agree with you

RexKwonDoCarrey
August 4th 2018


28 Comments


this rocks for sure,



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy