Paramore
After Laughter


4.0
excellent

Review

by TheSpirit CONTRIBUTOR (146 Reviews)
July 19th, 2018 | 32 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: "“Sometimes it takes a good fall to really know where you stand"

“If we cry hard, we’re going to dance harder!” is the unofficial slogan for After Laughter, but my god could it be the motto for my late twentysomething self – and really, most twentysomethings I know. We have the luxury to come of age during a weird time in history. Caught between the stoic ideals of an older generation who mock vulnerability and trying to find where we belong in this messy world, sometimes the only thing to do is fake a smile. And that’s really what After Laughter is about: the glamour that covers up the grime. “Caught in the Middle” couldn’t be a better example. In any other context, a song that starts off with the lyrics “I can’t think of getting old / It only makes me want to die” would be kind of a bummer, but when Paramore dress it up – glitzy neon lights, funky bass, and bright jangly guitar – it’s an undeniable toe-tapper. After Laughter takes your daily dose of anxiety (“Hard Times”), self-deprecation (“Idle Worship”), an aching heart (“Pool”), then sets it to the soundtrack of an ’80s pop-rock disco. It’s a feel good album about feeling bad, and I must admit, there is something oddly cathartic about dancing the pain away



Recent reviews by this author
Nihil Invocation Furthering the Depth of Lucid MadnessUlver The Assassination of Julius Caesar
Counterparts You're Not You AnymoreBlood Incantation Starspawn
Converge The Dusk in UsDrowning the Light The Vampire Cipher
user ratings (651)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
July 19th 2018


24763 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cheating Pt.2/nice sound-off, blah blah

Digging: wellspring - iris's room

foxblood
July 19th 2018


9486 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

This album is absolutely terrible, All We Know Is Falling and Riot! are their only good ones imo. Nice short review still.

SowingSeason
Moderator
July 19th 2018


29561 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

my 2nd fave paramore

nice soundoff

Digging: Copeland - Blushing

luci
July 19th 2018


10559 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

nice soundoff [2]



this is an enduring record, will def make my decade list

SowingSeason
Moderator
July 19th 2018


29561 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

yet you have not rated it...fake news!

zaruyache
July 19th 2018


20379 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Go SIT in the CORNER and THINK about what you've DONE.

Digging: Forest - Like a Blaze Above the Ashes

SteakByrnes
July 19th 2018


14307 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Dude nice

Digging: Ithaca - The Language of Injury

Darius the Great
July 19th 2018


19745 Comments


nice soundoff [3]
bad album though

Doctuses
July 19th 2018


1879 Comments


my late twenty something slogan is more like ' you are a pussy if you like this band'

luci
July 19th 2018


10559 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

says more about you =)

MotokoKusanagi
July 19th 2018


1706 Comments


ur the pussy m8, All We Know is Falling rules

Digging: DJ Central - Li'ud

neekafat
July 19th 2018


14302 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"my 2nd fave paramore"

stop

"this is an enduring record, will def make my decade list "

STOP

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
July 19th 2018


24763 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This has grown to be my second favorite Paramore record. Honestly, I probably enjoy this more today than I do my actual "favorite" (Riot!) because it's honestly a lot more relatable to me now, but Riot! has that nostalgic factor and 17 y.o. inside me is stubborn and won't let anything else be the favorite.

WatchItExplode
July 19th 2018


6347 Comments


I don't think I made it through this album twice. Not that it was bad, it just didn't grab me in any way.

Storm In A Teacup
July 19th 2018


26202 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

ace review, like button smashed, best Paramore album tied with self titled. so excited for what they do next and will always be excited about them

Groundking
July 19th 2018


1050 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I love this album, review relates so much.

Digging: Ithaca - The Language of Injury

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
July 19th 2018


24763 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thank you both for the kind words :]

SteakByrnes
July 19th 2018


14307 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I love you

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
July 19th 2018


24763 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

:D :D :D



i love you too

neekafat
July 19th 2018


14302 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The review is well written but I fundamentally disagree with it

I've been putting off writing something for this for so long...



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy