Paramore
After Laughter


4.0
excellent

Review

by TheSpirit CONTRIBUTOR (151 Reviews)
July 19th, 2018 | 32 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: "“Sometimes it takes a good fall to really know where you stand"

“If we cry hard, we’re going to dance harder!” is the unofficial slogan for After Laughter, but my god could it be the motto for my late twentysomething self – and really, most twentysomethings I know. We have the luxury to come of age during a weird time in history. Caught between the stoic ideals of an older generation who mock vulnerability and trying to find where we belong in this messy world, sometimes the only thing to do is fake a smile. And that’s really what After Laughter is about: the glamour that covers up the grime. “Caught in the Middle” couldn’t be a better example. In any other context, a song that starts off with the lyrics “I can’t think of getting old / It only makes me want to die” would be kind of a bummer, but when Paramore dress it up – glitzy neon lights, funky bass, and bright jangly guitar – it’s an undeniable toe-tapper. After Laughter takes your daily dose of anxiety (“Hard Times”), self-deprecation (“Idle Worship”), an aching heart (“Pool”), then sets it to the soundtrack of an ’80s pop-rock disco. It’s a feel good album about feeling bad, and I must admit, there is something oddly cathartic about dancing the pain away



Recent reviews by this author
Ossuarium Living TombLord Snow SHADOWMARKS
Sinmara Hvísl StjarnannaMalfet The Snaking Path
Convulsing GrievousNihil Invocation Furthering the Depth of Lucid Madness
user ratings (703)
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
July 19th 2018


25946 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cheating Pt.2/nice sound-off, blah blah

Digging: Weeping Sores - False Confession

foxblood
July 19th 2018


10014 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

This album is absolutely terrible, All We Know Is Falling and Riot! are their only good ones imo. Nice short review still.

SowingSeason
Moderator
July 19th 2018


32073 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

my 2nd fave paramore

nice soundoff

Digging: Lana Del Rey - Norman Fucking Rockwell

luci
July 19th 2018


11641 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

nice soundoff [2]



this is an enduring record, will def make my decade list

SowingSeason
Moderator
July 19th 2018


32073 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

yet you have not rated it...fake news!

zaruyache
July 19th 2018


21287 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Go SIT in the CORNER and THINK about what you've DONE.

SteakByrnes
July 19th 2018


15713 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Dude nice

Digging: Speech Patterns - Without a Sound

Darius the Great
July 19th 2018


20834 Comments


nice soundoff [3]
bad album though

Doctuses
July 19th 2018


1916 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

my late twenty something slogan is more like ' you are a pussy if you like this band'

luci
July 19th 2018


11641 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

says more about you =)

MotokoKusanagi
July 19th 2018


2042 Comments


ur the pussy m8, All We Know is Falling rules

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
July 19th 2018


16739 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"my 2nd fave paramore"

stop

"this is an enduring record, will def make my decade list "

STOP

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
July 19th 2018


25946 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This has grown to be my second favorite Paramore record. Honestly, I probably enjoy this more today than I do my actual "favorite" (Riot!) because it's honestly a lot more relatable to me now, but Riot! has that nostalgic factor and 17 y.o. inside me is stubborn and won't let anything else be the favorite.

WatchItExplode
July 19th 2018


7092 Comments


I don't think I made it through this album twice. Not that it was bad, it just didn't grab me in any way.

Storm In A Teacup
July 19th 2018


26819 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

ace review, like button smashed, best Paramore album tied with self titled. so excited for what they do next and will always be excited about them

Groundking
July 19th 2018


1211 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I love this album, review relates so much.

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
July 19th 2018


25946 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thank you both for the kind words :]

SteakByrnes
July 19th 2018


15713 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I love you

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
July 19th 2018


25946 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

:D :D :D



i love you too

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
July 19th 2018


16739 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The review is well written but I fundamentally disagree with it

I've been putting off writing something for this for so long...



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy