Deafheaven
Ordinary Corrupt Human Love


3.0
good

Review

by GooGooGajoob USER (12 Reviews)
July 19th, 2018 | 43 replies


Release Date: 2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Hi. You may remember me from such things as 2013's Sunbather or 2015's New Bermuda.

Deafheaven. You know them. You probably know them best for their 2013 break-through Sunbather. You probably consider it a pretty important album for the band and for the decade. It’s when post-rock got a kick of revival through ever so slight influences of heavier areas of music, particularly black metal. It’s also the sort of band Black Metal avid’s roll their eyes at the mention of. I honestly fit that category. For many, the release was a gateway - to what, I don’t know. Certainly not Black Metal though because if it was, you’d be listening to Teethed Glory & Injury by Altar of Plagues who actually took Black Metal and threw a shooting star of a record that actually took the eclectic genre above and beyond. Deafheaven though, I’m sure many want to believe they’re really doing a lot.
Well, they were…

Predictions about being a one trick pony really haven’t gone away, and they certainly don’t attempt to prove it wrong. Deafheaven certainly quickly realised they couldn’t do Black Metal with the seriously lacklustre and just uneventful New Bermuda. But Ordinary Corrupt Human Love" Now it’s just post-rock, which to be fair is their strength. But of course, they have to try prove they can do more than long post-rock passages and backwards reverb guitar interludes literally no different than those on Sunbather. So what’s the experiment this time" Piano…the wonder of the 88 keys! God Damn Piano Rock!

Take Night People with guest Chelsea Wolfe, the most washed out bland experiment that sounds like an unusable movie credits soundtrack. The opener You Without End uses piano to thought provoke with a radio-broadcast spoken word passage with high-school grade level poetry along with some very unfortunate clean sung vocals.

The record sounds its best when its familiar territory, and from what I gather, that’s enough for the fans. More post-rock goodness, that’ll do. But something has to be said about the way some of these professional reviewers can 5 something like Ordinary Corrupt Human Love. I’m sure this is what it was like when Be Here Now was given glowing reviews. A real head scratcher. This is Deafheaven at their safest, and by no means is this record adding anything new to their sound or artistic progression unless you really think a piano and clean-sung vocals are worth glowing praise. Yes, I am writing this review in reaction to the current existing reviews for this release.

It has to be said that this record is only half listened to and praised because of its similarity to Sunbather’s material and existence. There is legitmately no reason to listen to Ordinary Corrupt Human Love other than to deep-dive further into Deafheaven. This is not a second gateway record, this isn’t even remotely a consistent record. This is Deafheaven holding close to their trophy, and all the power to them. I suppose we just won’t be seeing or hearing much of them in the next decade unless they are able to brave the uncharted territory they once did when Kerry McCoy and George Clark wrote and blueprinted Sunbather amidst financial difficulty and looming rent debt - because truth be told, Deafheaven can be great. But to dish out fan service only 5 years after your breakout release…the fuse is very short.

Best Tracks: Honeycomb and Glint



Recent reviews by this author
Death Grips Year of the SnitchToo Birds I'm Going to Die
Too Birds Where My JacketBlur The Magic Whip
Dead Vandals MOON UNITLucid Planet Lucid Planet
user ratings (559)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
Chamberbelain CONTRIBUTOR (4)
Looking at ordinary life through rose-tinted glasses....

Thompson D. Gerhart STAFF (5)
Subverting expectations to bring you closer to emotional reality: pain and beauty are one in the sam...

Daisy99 (4.5)
Celebrating life that the previous record wanted to end...

SherlockChris9021 (4.5)
Ordinariness-Free Heavy Metal Sonic Artwork....


Comments:Add a Comment 
GooGooGajoob
July 19th 2018


172 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Sputnik Review really doesn't like question marks still hey... ?"?"?"?"

GooGooGajoob
July 19th 2018


172 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Wow, even Sunbather is charting #8 on Trending albums. I think that honestly says a lot in regards to my finishing statement...



This is rushed too so neg' and I'll feel you, but it had to be said.

mindleviticus
July 19th 2018


9543 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Uh why did you give this a 3/5 and then trash it all the way through? Even though I agree with most of the points, I think you should've spent a little more time fleshing out your thoughts and NOT say it's a result of past positive reviews; it becomes incredibly obvious you did this out of spite.

SomeGuyDude
July 19th 2018


356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

LMAO this is such a salty review. Like you got so pissing angry at people for loving the album you just had to complain about it.



I prefer this to Sunbather, and I'm very much a "black metal and corpse paint" kinda guy.

Frivolous
July 19th 2018


823 Comments


this is hilarious

Digging: Mid-Air Thief - Crumbling

Doctuses
July 19th 2018


1815 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

angry old heads negging this, ill pos tho because its the one review that sets you bitches straight

mindleviticus
July 19th 2018


9543 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

maybe it was negged because it's a terribly written review that doesn't know how to properly argue that the album isn't that great.

NOTINTHEFACE
July 19th 2018


1694 Comments


Was waiting for the obligatory gatekeeping review.

I honestly think that people with opinions like this define quality by an insanely narrow set of parameters while imagining themselves to be diverse connoisseurs of genres. It's like someone pounding down bottles of 5 dollar california savignon blanc and then ridiculing and deriding people who like 10 dollar bordeaux for having cheap and conformist taste. "You're not sophisticated enough for a dry wine" and "you're beholden to an old and cliched style" are things you can easily hear someone like that saying.

It's fine if you don't like Deafheaven my dude. But this sort of sneering elitism is just something I find nauseating. It would help if critics of the band at least acknowledged the role of their own subjectivity, but things like this are always presented as if the music fails to meet some rigorous, objectively agreed-upon set of standards and that that should be obvious to everyone. Smh.

Doctuses
July 19th 2018


1815 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

philosophy major alert

NOTINTHEFACE
July 19th 2018


1694 Comments


My bad should have just said "fuck you" and neg-ed

TheBarber
July 19th 2018


3720 Comments


"savignon blanc"

IT'S SAUVIGNON YOU FUCKFACE

Digging: Infant Island - Infant Island

TheBarber
July 19th 2018


3720 Comments


On a sidenote, refreshing review, an above-average rosé

GooGooGajoob
July 19th 2018


172 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I didn't think the review was salty or spiteful and I still don't read that. Its a safe record that's getting the hype train based on nostalgia. I don't see how that opinion is elitist. Had I not mentioned any BM background, what's the next critique for the review?

NOTINTHEFACE
July 19th 2018


1694 Comments


""savignon blanc"

IT'S SAUVIGNON YOU FUCKFACE"

I guess that outs me as not a philosophy major.

Doctuses
July 19th 2018


1815 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off



"My bad should have just said "fuck you" and neg-ed" i got a good laugh outta that, do that next time.

GooGooGajoob
July 20th 2018


172 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I feel bad, I thought it was a decent quick review. Oh well,

JS19
July 20th 2018


6790 Comments


How young are you dude? Review just sounds a bit immature and the writing style is similarly lacking experience

Digging: Leech - For Better or For Worse

GooGooGajoob
July 20th 2018


172 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Why the hell do you need to know my age?



I'm pretty sure I've got a review for Year of the Snitch that comes up first on Sputnik so I can't be that terrible thanks.

JS19
July 20th 2018


6790 Comments


nail on the head lol

NOTINTHEFACE
July 20th 2018


1694 Comments


lmao



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy