Black Fast
Spectre of Ruin


4.0
excellent

Review

by Dewinged CONTRIBUTOR (58 Reviews)
July 14th, 2018 | 143 replies


Release Date: 07/13/2018 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The darker they are, the deeper they cut.

I am sure you have heard the expression Jack of all trades, master of none. The blackened thrash enforcers from Missouri surely take that statement to heart with this Spectre of Ruin. The progressive technicality of their debut Starving Out The Light runs thinner on Spectre of Ruin, where the band has exchanged the complexity of their first albums for concentrated, decimating power. Instead of trying to distill all their influences in an extended medley of thrash metal classics, Black Fast has turned one more page and focused all their efforts on creating a more uniform and consistent album.

Spectre of Ruin still retains some of the early Thrash influences that were also present in their sophomore and successful 2015 output, Terms of Surrender, but it also incorporates new elements like the decaying feel of Black Metal minced into the mix. At first the production feels very muddy compared to the band’s previous works, but further into the album this translates as the consequent blackening of their sound, where the song “Mist of Ruin” makes up for a good example. The relentless rhythm section governed by Ryan Thompson on bass and Ross Burnett on drums allows Trevor Johanson and Aaron Akin’s guitars to shine in different ways, from the spectacular solo of “Scarecrow and Spectre” to the organic riffs of highlights “Famine Angel” and “Husk”. The steady mood of every track in Spectre of Ruin comes at a price though. The poised speed of almost every track could give the impression of being a monotonous mess during the first trek through the album. Sure, delving further with repeated listen helps to unfold the different layers and intentions that lie beneath, specially because there is one thing that Black Fast has vastly improved in this last release, and that is atmosphere crafting.

Spectre of Ruin is shrouded by a darker and colder mantle than any of Black Fast’s previous albums, with Aaron Akin’s voice cracking and snarling with utter fury over the symphonic maelstrom happening in the background. It’s an album of enthralled beauty that doesn’t fool around with intros or interludes. First single “Cloak of Lies” just blasts the door open like a battering ram, and from there it’s just Blackened Thrash road downhill with no brakes. Black Fast honour their name with Spectre of Ruin, showing evolution and growth with an album that represents a turning point for the band and probably a step forward in the right direction.



Recent reviews by this author
Mizmor CairnFire! Orchestra Arrival
Full of Hell Weeping Choirオオハシ (Ohashi) 波のはじまり (Nami no Hajimari)
Secret Chiefs 3 Book MIoanna Gika Thalassa
user ratings (57)
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
July 14th 2018


16803 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Rrrrrrrips.



Here's a taste: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kdiSmKMYPFs



Hope you guys enjoy it.

Digging: Chelsea Wolfe - Birth of Violence

bloc
July 14th 2018


57896 Comments


Super hyped to hear this one

Digging: Orange Juice - You Can't Hide Your Love Forever

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
July 14th 2018


16803 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The last 3 tracks melt my face.

RippingCorpse1986
July 14th 2018


3226 Comments


Well written and informative review man, have a pos.

So far this is a solid/very good album. Not a huge fan of these guys but I think I enjoyed this more than their previous release.

Silhouette Usurper, Mist of Ruin and Scarecrow and Spectre are the songs that stood out for me during this first listen. Solo in Crescent Aberration is very good too.

Need to listen to this more to decide how to rate it.

Ebola
July 14th 2018


3660 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

really good stuff

Storm In A Teacup
July 14th 2018


26906 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

just started the album and my reaction thirty seconds in is, "fuck yeah!! time to get a noise complaint!"

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
July 14th 2018


8458 Comments


Good review, pos.

Glad their sorted their shit out on this one, I liked their previous album, but, as you point out in your text Dewi, it kind of felt all over the place.

Is there a stream for the album?

Digging: Dead Shed Jokers - All The Seasons

Storm In A Teacup
July 14th 2018


26906 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Cloak of Lies is so damn metal



i've got it on google play

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
July 14th 2018


16803 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Unfortunately no Voivod, just scattered tracks on youtube. I jammed it on Apple Music.



Nice you digging this Storm m/

Storm In A Teacup
July 14th 2018


26906 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

First three songs are all kick ass. Instant gratification all over the place

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
July 14th 2018


8458 Comments


Ok, there's a full stream on open.spotify.com, it's settled.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
July 14th 2018


16803 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

There you go, let me know what you think man.

Hawks
July 14th 2018


73696 Comments


Guess I need this.

Storm In A Teacup
July 14th 2018


26906 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Phantom I Am does not bang hard like the first three. Kind of excited about getting to those final three tracks that are supposed to be great.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
July 14th 2018


16803 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oh my dear Hawks, I expect you flood this thread with mighty m/(s), no less.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
July 14th 2018


16803 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The main riff of Famine Angel is insane Storm, you'll see. And Husk breaks things down on a slower heavier tempo, much different from the rest of the tracks.

Storm In A Teacup
July 14th 2018


26906 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I really enjoy the switch in atmosphere on Mist of Ruin. Love the more demented and murkier feeling without sacrificing clean production.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
July 14th 2018


16803 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I feel the production is more dirty in general on this album, like swarmed by middle tones, it takes some seconds to get used to it but once it clicks you can see what they went for. It suits their music perfectly.

Storm In A Teacup
July 14th 2018


26906 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I probably feel that way about this cuz I'm coming off of listening to that awful Imperial Triumphant album. but anyway, Famine Angel is fantastic and seems like an interesting grower.

Storm In A Teacup
July 14th 2018


26906 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

and Husk is blowing my mind now. what a great year for music.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy